Notice of Intention to Assign Place Names by the New Zealand $Geographic\ Board$

Department of Lands and Survey,
Wellington, 12th December, 1947.

PURSUANT to section 12 of the New Zealand Geographic
Board Act, 1946, notice is hereby given of the intention of
the New Zealand Geographic Board to assign the names set out in
the first column of the Schedule hereto to the respective places and
features set out and described opposite those names in the second
and third columns of the said Schedule.

Pursuant to section 13 of the said Act, any person objecting
to any such proposed name may at any time within the period of
three months from the date of publication of this notice in the
Gazette give to the Secretary of the Board, care of the Lands and
Survey Department, P.O. Box 3, Government Buildings, Wellington,
notice in writing of his objection, setting out the grounds of the
objection.

If no objection is received by the Board within the aforesaid
period of three months the Board's decision as to any of the said
proposed names will be final.

SCHEDULE

Name.	Legerintion	1 (1:11: 1 *** *	
	Description.	Situation and Remarks.	
	North Auckland	LAND DISTRICT	
Bledisloe	Hill	Block IV, Kawakawa Survey District.	
Cape Brett	Telephone office	Block XIIA, Bay of Islands Survey District.	
Haumi	River	Block VIII, Kawakawa Survey District. Not "Humai."	
Hobson	Hill	Block IV, Kawakawa Survey District.	
Horeke	Locality	Block XI, Mangamuka Survey District. Not "Horocke."	
Paua	Telephone office	Block III, Muriwhenua Survey District. Replaces Parenga.	
Purewa	Railway-station	On the Tamaki Deviation near the Oraki Basin, Auckland City. This name is trans- ferred to new station 40	
Ruthe	Passage	chains west of previous position. Block VIII, Waiheke Survey District. Between Rotoroa	
Stony Batter	Trig	and Ponui Islands. Block IV, Waiheke Survey District. Not "Stony Batten."	
AUCKLAND LAND DISTRICT			
Mangakino	Post-office	District.	
Maniakaroa	Post-office	Block XI, Hurakia Survey District.	
Waiehuehu	Stream	Block I, Newcastle Survey District.	
HAWKES BAY LAND DISTRICT			
Otope	Stream	Block X, Tahoraiti Survey District. Not "Otopae."	
Taranaki Land District			
Stratford Moun- tain House	Telephone office	Block XV, Egmont Survey District. Replaces Potaema as postal description.	
WELLINGTON LAND DISTRICT			
Cape Palliser	*	District.	
Castlepoint	Post-office and locality	District.	
Mangatarere Mokopuna	Stream Island	Tiffen Survey District. North of Somes Island, Port Nicholson. Replaces Leper.	
	Marlborough L	AND DISTRICT	
Brothers	Telegraph office	On The Brothers, Block XXII, Gore Survey District.	
Toenga	Hill	Block X, Gore Survey District. Prominent bush-clad hill on which Trig. H is situated.	
	Nelson Lani	DISTRICT	
Faerie Queene	Peak and trig.	Block XII, Una Survey Dis- trict. In the Spenser Moun- tains on the boundary between Nelson and Canter- bury Land Districts.	
Sabine	Hydro-electric power station	Block XI, Rotoroa Survey District. At the head of	
Stephens Island	Telegraph office	Lake Rotoroa. Block I, D'Urville Island Survey District.	

Name.	Description.	Situation and Remarks.
	CANTERBURY LA	
*Avoca	Mountain	Wilberforce Survey District On the Birdwood Range The first definite peak south of Mount Greenlaw on the
*Bruce	Saddle	Greenlaw Massif. Harper Survey District. Or the Black Range between the Bruce River and a tributary
*Cass	Saddle	of the Avoca River. Harper Survey District. On the Craigieburn Range north-
East Horn	Peak	west of Hamilton Peak. Block XIII, Whitcombe Survey District. In the Arrowsmith Group at the head of
*Echo	Saddle	Douglas Glacier. Wilberforce Survey District On the Black Range east of Mount Gizeh.
Endeavour	Col	Cook and Mueller Survey Districts. Between Nazomi Peak and the third peak of Mount Cook.
*Fitzwilliam	Mountain	Harper Survey District. Isolated peak north of Lake
Gargarus	Saddle	Wilberforce Survey District. Between Mount Gargarus and the Birdwood Range.
Grey	Range	Harper Survey District. An offshoot of the Black Range between Avoca and Harper Rivers.
*Jordan	Saddle	Harper Survey District. On the Black Range near the boundary between Harper and Wilberforce Survey Dis-
Lagmhor	Locality	tricts. Block XI, Westerfield Survey District. Not "Laghmor."
*Lagoon	Saddle	Harper Survey District. On the Black Range at the head of the Harper River, approxi- mately one mile west of Mount Bruce.
Pito	Peak	Block IV, Clyde Survey District. On the Arrowsmith Range south of South Peak.
*Thesis	Peak	Harper Survey District. A peak approximately 6,000 ft. about two miles south-west from Bruce Saddle on the Black Range, and situated on a range between the Avoca River and a large left bank tributary of the Avoca.
Franz Josef	Westland Land Glacier	ND DISTRICT Block XV, Waiho Survey District.
Franz Josef	Post-office	Block XI, Waiho Survey District.
Rapahoe	Range	Cobden Survey District. Be- tween Cobden and Point Elizabeth. Alternative name
Twelve Apostles	Range	for Twelve Apostles Range. Cobden Survey District. Between Cobden and Point Elizabeth.
Taiaroa	OTAGO LAND Telephone office	DISTRICT Portobello Bay Survey District. At Taiaroa Head Lighthouse.
*47	SOUTHLAND LA	
*Grave	Creek	Milford Sound Survey Dis- trict. A tributary of the Harrison River. Drains northern face of Mount
*Grave	Glacier	Grave. Milford Sound Survey District. On Tutoko face of
*Grave	Mountain	Mount Grave. Milford Sound Survey District. On the Barrier Range. 7,520 ft.
*Hau, Te	Mountain	Milford Sound Survey Dis- trict. On dividing range between headwaters of Har- rison and John o' Groats
*Mitis	Peak	Rivers. 5,334 ft. Milford Sound Survey District. A small rocky outcrop at the head of the Bowen
# A s	proved subject to five	Valley.

R. G. DICK, Surveyor General, Chairman, New Zealand Geographic Board.