2. The members of the Board shall at their first meeting, and thereafter at the annual meeting hereinafter mentioned, elect one of themselves to be Chairman, who may join in the discussion, and shall have an original as well as a casting vote. The Chairman shall hold office until the election of his successor.

3. Special meetings may be convened by the Chairman, provided that two days' notice of such meeting is given to each member, specifying the business to be transacted at such special meeting; and no other business than that so specified shall be transacted at such specific.

such meeting.
4. Any five members of the Board shall form a quorum. Any

meeting may be adjourned from time to time.

5. All questions shall be determined by the majority of votes of

5. All questions shall be determined by the majority of votes of the members of the Board present at the meeting.

6. If at any meeting the Chairman is not present at the time appointed for holding the same, the members present shall choose one of their number to be Chairman for such meeting.

7. If by resignation, death, incapacity, or otherwise the seat of any member shall be or become vacant, or if any member absents himself without reasonable cause from three consecutive meetings of the Board, the Governor-General shall have power to appoint any other person to be a member of the Board in his stead.

8. The Board shall prepare and submit at an annual meeting to be held in the month of April in each year a report of the proceedings of the Board for the previous year ending on the thirty-first day of

of the Board for the previous year ending on the thirty-first day of March, together with a statement of the receipts and expenditure of the Board for such year. A copy of every such report and statement, certified by the Chairman to be correct, shall be sent to the Minister in Charge of Scenery Preservation as soon as possible after each

annual meeting.

9. The Board shall control the said reserves in accordance with the provisions of the said Act and of the regulations made hereunder.

### SCHEDULE

OTAGO LAND DISTRICT.—POUNAWEA SCENIC RESERVES SECTION 82, Block VI, Glenomaru Survey District: Area, 4 acres

O roods 17 perches, more or less.

Also Section 94, Block VI, Glenomaru Survey District: Area, 51 acres 3 roods, more or less.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, this 17th day of March, 1948.

F. HACKETT,

For the Minister in Charge of Scenery Preservation. (L. and S. 4/87.)

Portion of Lichfield Domain set apart as a Site for a Public Hall

# B. C. FREYBERG, Governor-General

IN pursuance and exercise of the power and authority conferred upon me by section forty-two of the Public Reserves, Domains, and National Parks Act, 1928, I, Lieutenant-General Sir Bernard Cyril Freyberg, the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, do hereby declare that that portion of the Lichfield Domain, described in the Schedule hereto, shall, from and after the first day of April, one thousand nine hundred and forty-eight, be set apart as a site for a public hall.

## SCHEDULE

# AUCKLAND LAND DISTRICT

SECTION 6, Block VI, Lichfield Village, Block XVI, Patetere North Survey District: Area, 2 roods, more or less.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, this 17th day of March, 1948.

F. HACKETT For the Minister of Lands.

(L. and S. 1/260.)

Officers authorized to take and receive Statutory Declarations

# B. C. FREYBERG, Governor-General

DURSUANT to the authority conferred upon me by the three-hundred-and-first section of the Justices of the Peace Act, 1927, I, Lieutenant-General Sir Bernard Cyril Freyberg, the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, do hereby notify and declare that the persons whose names are set out in the Schedule hereto, being officers in the service of the Crown holding the offices stated opposite their names respectively in the said Schedule, are authorized to take and receive statutory declarations under the three-hundred-and-first section of the Justices of the Peace Act. 1927. the Peace Act, 1927.

## SCHEDULE

Treavor Thomas Carey Humphrey, Postmaster, Kawhia. Ernest Harold Roberts, Postmaster, Opoutere. Francis Albert Dunstall, Postmaster, Stratford

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, this 20th day of March, 1948.

H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice.

 $Appointment\ of\ Member\ of\ Board\ of\ Health\ under\ the\ Health\ Act,\\ 1920$ 

### B. C. FREYBERG, Governor-General

N pursuance and exercise of the powers and authorities conferred upon me by the Health Act, 1920, I, Lieutenant-General Sir Bernard Cyril Freyberg, the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, do hereby appoint

Theodore Grant Gray, C.M.G., M.B., Ch.B.,

to be a member of the Board of Health for a period of three years.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, this 17th day of March, 1948.

M. B. HOWARD, Minister of Health.

Promotions, Relinquishment of Temporary Rank, Relinquishment of Commission, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Military Forces

Army Department, Wellington, 17th March, 1948.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following promotions, relinquishment of temporary rank, relinquishment of commission, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Military Forces :-

### REGULAR FORCE

### ROYAL N.Z. ARTILLERY

Lieutenant E. J. Manders to be temp. Captain. Dated 28th January, 1948.

#### N.Z. REGIMENT

Captain (temp. Major) N. R. Ingle relinquishes the appointment of Deputy Assistant Quartermaster-General, Northern Military District, Auckland, and the temporary rank of Major, and is attached to Headquarters, Area 3, Whangarei. Dated 14th February, 1948.

## THE ROYAL N.Z. ARMY ORDNANCE CORPS

Captain H. J. Mockridge to be temp. Major. Dated 4th February, 1948.

#### TERRITORIAL FORCE

#### N.Z. ARMY NURSING SERVICE

Sister (temp. Charge Sister) R. Bremner is posted to the Retired List with the rank of Charge Sister. Dated 7th February, 1948.

## RESERVE OF OFFICERS

The undermentioned officers are posted to the Retired List:-Colonel M. B. M. Tweed, E.D., L.M.S.S.A., M.R.C.S. (Eng.), L.R.C.P. (Lond.).

Lieutenant-Colonels—
R. Stout, E.D., M.D., F.R.C.S. (Edin.), L.R.C.P. (Lond.).
Sir James S. Elliott, Kt., V.D., M.D.
H. L. Gould, M.B., Ch.B.

Majors—
R. McK. Gunn, M.D.
D. Wilson, M.B., Ch.B.
F. Cameron, D.S.O., M.B., Ch.B.
H. Short, O.B.E., M.B., Ch.B., with the rank of LieutenantColonel. Colonel.
D. F. Myers, M.B., Ch.B.,
W. S. Robertson, M.B., Ch.B.
G. W. Harty, M.B., Ch.B., F.R.C.S. (Edin.).
R. C. Begg, M.C., M.D., F.R.C.S. (Edin.), L.R.C.P. (Lond.).

Captains-

J. Danskin, M.R.C.V.S.
W. Watt, M.B., Ch.B.
W. R. Lawrence, M.B., Ch.B.
T. A. Milroy, F.R.C.S. (Edin.), L.R.C.P. (Lond.).
G. Walker, M.B.E., M.B.

Captains—
D. D. W. Martin, M.B., Ch.B.
H. E. Webb, M.B., Ch.B.
D. S. Milne, M.B., Ch.B.
F. W. Lumsden, M.C., M.B., Ch.B.
E. C. Barnett, M.R.C.S. (Eng.), L.R.C.P. (Lond.).
T. C. Fraser, M.B., Ch.B.
J. Reid, M.B., Ch.B.
J. J. Wass.

H. Paterson, M.B., Ch.B.
W. M. Webster, E.D., M.R.C.V.S., with the rank of Major.
E. J. Lukey, B.V.Sc. (Melb.).

Lieutenants-

D. H. Le Souef, with the rank of Captain. F. Matheson, M.B., Ch.B.

Dated 26th February, 1948.

D. Macaulay, Chaplain, 4th Class. Dated 2nd March, 1948. Major J. Connor, M.C., M.B., Ch.B.

D. MacD. Wilson, M.C., M.B., Ch.B. G. P. Fitzgerald, M.B., Ch.B. W. J. Feltham, M.D.

Dated 5th March, 1948.