Captains R. H. Baxter, M.C., M.B., Ch.B., M.R.C.P., with the R. H. Baxter, M.C., M.B., Ch.B., M.R.C.S. (Eng.), L.R.C.P. (Lond.).
D. H. Bett, M.B., Ch.B., M.R.C.S. (Eng.), L.R.C.P. (Lond.).
F. A. Scannell, M.B., Ch.B.
R. B. Watson, M.B., Ch.B.
J. A. Jenkins, M.B., Ch.B.
E. K. Edie, M.B., Ch.B.
F. O. MacGibbon, M.R.C.S. (Eng.), L.R.C.P. (Lond.). A. S. Moody, M.D. Dated 8th March, 1948 Lieutenant-Colonelsttenant-Colonels—
R. A. H. Fulton, M.B., Ch.B.
R. N. Guthrie, M.C., M.B., Ch.B.
C. T. H. Newton, D.S.O., M.D., F.R.C.S.
D. S. Chisholm, V.D.
J. H. G. Robertson, C.B.E., V.D., M.D., F.R.C.S. (Edin.). R. L. Withers, M.B., Ch.B. W. Aitken, M.C., M.D. Captains C. Raymond, M.B., B.Chir., M.R.C.S. (Eng.), L.R.C.P. (Lond.). J. P. S. Jamieson, M.D. T. Gilray, M.B., Ch.B. P. D. Cameron, M.D. R. C. Brewster, M.C., F.R.C.S. (Edin.), with the rank of Major.
H. L. Widdowson, M.B., Ch.B.
J. S. J. Stenhouse, L.R.C.P., L.R.C.S. F. L. Scott, M.D. G. W. Dempsey.
B. E. Wright, M.B., Ch.B.
W. G. Scannell, M.B., Ch.B.
L. Levy, M.B., Ch.B.
R. W. Edgar, M.B., Ch.B. R. W. Edgar, M.B., Ch.B.

Captains—
W. H. Will, M.B., Ch.B.
W. H. Young, M.B., Ch.B.
C. A. R. Davies, M.B., Ch.B.
W. R. Wade, M.B., Ch.B., M.R.C.S., L.R.C.P.
M. McK. McRae, M.B., Ch.B., F.R.C.S.
G. H. Mirams, M.B., Ch.B., F.R.C.S.
G. H. Mirams, M.B., Ch.B.
A. D. Nelson, M.C., M.B., Ch.B., with the rank of Major.
W. T. Simmons, M.B., Ch.B.
D. Steven, M.D., F.R.C.S. (Edin.), F.R.F.P.S. (Glasg.).
A. C. Thomson, M.B., Ch.B.
M. H. Watt, C.B.E., M.D., D.P.H.
J. A. Pottinger, M.B., Ch.B., F.R.C.S. (Edin.).
T. N. Watt, M.R.C.S. (Eng.), L.R.C.P. (Lond.).
M. M. Earle, M.R.C.S. (Eng.), L.R.C.P. (Lond.).
A. D. S. Whyte, M.C., M.B., Ch.B., D.P.H., M.R.C.P.
(Lond.), F.R.A.C.P.
T. N. Usher, L.R.C.S. (Edin.).
T. G. Gray, C.M.G., M.B., Ch.B.
A. Kidd, M.B., Ch.B.
R. Copeland.
D. N. Japone M. R. F.

RETIRED LIST

R. Copeland. D. N. Isaacs, M.B.È.

Major R. J. Stanford relinquishes his commission. Dated 18th February, 1948.

SCHOOL CADET UNITS

Takapuna Grammar School Cadets, Area 1

Lieutenant N. Poutney to be temp. Captain. Dated 1st January, 1948

OFFICER STRUCK OFF THE STRENGTH OF THE 2ND NEW ZEALAND EXPEDITIONARY FORCE

Major K. I. Armour, and is posted to the Retired List. Dated 19th February, 1948.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Dated 9th March, 1948.

Vice-Consul of Denmark at Palmerston North appointed

Ministry of External Affairs, Wellington, 17th March, 1948.

Wenington, 17th March, 1948.

T is hereby notified for public information that the appointment of

George Conrad Petersen, Esquire,

as Vice-Consul of Denmark at Palmerston North has been recognized. P. FRASER, Minister of External Affairs.

Probation Officer appointed

Prisons Department, Wellington, 17th March, 1948.

ITIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint appoint

Larner Jones

to be Probation Officer under the Offenders Probation Act, 1920, and the Crimes Amendment Act, 1910, for the Borough of Whangarei, as from the 18th March, 1948.

H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice.

Coroner appointed

Department of Justice Wellington, 23rd March, 1948.

IT IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint appoint

Robert Hugh Hughson, Esquire, J.P.,

of Opunake, to be a Coroner for the Dominion of New Zealand.

H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice,

Inspector of Clubs appointed

Department of Internal Affairs, Wellington, 17th March, 1948.

TT is hereby notified that-

Patrick Kearney

has been appointed under the Licensing Act, 1908, to be an Inspector of Clubs for the purpose of inspecting and reporting upon chartered clubs as defined by the said Licensing Act, 1908.

W. E. PARRY, Minister of Internal Affairs.

Members of the North Shore Fire Board appointed and Date of First Meeting

> Department of Internal Affairs, Wellington, 24th March, 1948.

THE undermentioned persons have been appointed or elected as members of the North Shore Fire Board, constituted under the Fire Brigades Act, 1926:—

Appointed by the Governor-General-

C. Clark.

Elected by the fire-insurance companies-

S. H. Head. A. B. Hudson.

L. G. Wilson. Elected by the Devonport Borough Council-

J. R. Miller.

Elected by the Takapuna Borough Council-

W. H. Henderson.

Elected to represent the Birkenhead and Northcote Borough

Councils-

E. J. Osborne.

In accordance with the provisions of subsection (1) of section 53 of the Fire Brigade Act, 1926, it is hereby notified that the first meeting of the Board will be held in the Council Chambers, Devonport, at 7.30 o'clock on Thursday, the 1st day of April, 1948.

W. E. PARRY, Minister of Internal Affairs.

(I.A. 76/31/13.)

Appointment of Honorary Officers

IN pursuance and exercise of the power and authority conferred upon me by section 29 of the Statutes Amendment Act, 1946, I, Frederick Hackett, Minister of Marine, do hereby appoint the persons named in the following Schedule to be Honorary Officers for the acclimatization district shown in such Schedule for the purposes of Part II of the Fisheries Act, 1908, such persons to hold office until the 31st March, 1950.

Dated at Wellington, this 19th day of March, 1948.

SCHEDULE

ASHBURTON ACCLIMATIZATION DISTRICT

Ernest Swan Baxter. David Brook. Alan Murdoch Bruce. Samuel Murray Anderson Chaffey. Leonard Allan Colville. Ernest Retalic Easterbrook. Peter Charles Ensor. Percy Fry.
John Hutton Grigg.
Thomas Solomon Harrison. George Kelly. Herbert George Kemp. Francis Hugh McIntosh. Alfred John Millichamp. John Bracken Nicoll. Leslie Lawrence Richards.
Joseph Robert Todhunter.

Robert Charlton Todhunter.

F. HACKETT, Minister of Marine,