Appointments of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

## Air Department Wellington, 30th April, 1948.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force :-

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointments

As Navigator/Wireless Operator-

NZ 40584 Flying Officer (temp.) William John SHANNAHAN relinquishes his temporary commission and is granted a short-service commission in his present rank and seniority. Dated 1st April, 1947.

As Pilot

NZ 391366 Flight Lieutenant (temp.) John Macaulay Sutherland Ross, B.A., relinquishes his temporary commission and is granted an extended-service commission for a period of two years in his present rank and seniority. Dated 1st April, 1947.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Appointment of Members of Police Appeal Board

PURSUANT to the Police Appeal Board Election Regulations 1942, it is hereby notified that Senior-Sergeant Frederick Walter Edwards and Senior-Sergeant John Henry Smith Hogg have been appointed members of the Board of Appeal constituted by section 24 of the Police Force Act, 1947, for a period of three years from the 7th day of May, 1948, they having been duly elected in accordance with the provisions of section 25 of the said Act.

P. FRASER,

Minister in Charge of Police Department. Wellington, 26th April, 1948.

Members of the New Zealand Patriotic Fund Board appointed

T it hereby notified that, pursuant to section 4 of the Patriotic and Canteen Funds Act, 1947, the undermentioned persons have been appointed members of the New Zealand Patriotic Fund Board :-

Nominated by Provincial Patriotic Councils-

minated by Provincial Patriotic Councils—
William Jones, Esquire, M.B.E., of Whangarei.
John Andrew Charles Allum, Esquire, C.B.E., of Auckland.
Harold David Caro, Esquire, of Hamilton.
Prentice Arthur Kusabs, Esquire, of Rotorua.
Irvine James Quigley, Esquire, of Gisborne.
Thomas William Hercock, Esquire, of Blehneim.
Charles Anderson Wilkinson, Esquire, of Eltham.
Will Appleton, Esquire, of Wellington.
Edward John Harvey, Esquire, of Blehneim.
Edgar Rollo Neale, Esquire, O.B.E., of Nokison.
Albert Richard Elcock, Esquire, M.B.E., of Hokitika.
William Smith MacGibbon, Esquire, of Dunedin.
Walter Frederick Sturman, Esquire, of Invercargill.
minated by New Zealand Returned Services' Association— Nominated by New Zealand Returned Services' Association-Clifford Oswald Bell, Esquire, of Wellington. Major General Howard Karl Kippenberger, C.B., C.B.E., D.S.O., of Wellington. Maurice Salom Myers, Esquire, of Dunedin. Nominated by Second New Zealand Expeditionary Force Association John Nigel Wilson, Esquire, of Auckland. Nominated by New Zealand Home Servicemen's Association-Stanley Benjamin Butler, Esquire, of Dunedin. Keith Mills, Esquire, of Auckland. Alkan Joseph McDonald, Esquire, of Wellington. Nominated by Air Force Association-Alexander John Mackay Manson, Esquire, of Wellington. Nominated by Ex Royal Naval Men's Association and Merchant Service Guild-Bruce Russell Bain, Esquire, of Wellington. Nominated by the National Patriotic Fund Board (as constituted under the Patriotic Purposes Emergency Regulations 1939)

Ernest Escott Brooking, Esquire, M.B.E., of Wellington. Israel Joseph Goldstine, Esquire, O.B.E., of Wellington. George Arthur Hayden, Esquire, C.B.E., of Wellington. Hon. Sir William Perry, M.L.C., of Wellington. Percy Thomson, Esquire, M.B.E., of Stratford.

Dated at Wellington, this 3rd day of May, 1948.

В

For the Minister of Internal Affairs.

Department of Justice, Wellington, 3rd May, 1948.

 $\mathbf{H}^{\mathrm{IS}}$  Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Herbert Jenner Wily, Esquire, S.M.,

to be a member of the Licensing Committee for the District of Rodney, vice L. G. H. Sinclair, Esquire, S.M., as from 9th April, 1948.

H. G. R. MASON. Minister of Justice.

Waterfront Industry Emergency Regulations 1946.—Appointment of Branch Manager, Lyttelton

URSUANT to the Waterfront Industry Emergency Regulations 1946, the Minister of Labour doth hereby appoint

Maurice Michael McArthur

to the position of Branch Manager, Lyttelton, vice Charles Christopher Vanden Bergh, transferred. Dated at Wellington, this 29th day of April, 1948.

A. McLAGAN, Minister of Labour.

Member of the Motunau Rabbit Board appointed .-- (Notice No. Ag. 4512)

Department of Agriculture,

Wellington, 26th April, 1948. IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased, in pursuance of section 50 of the Rabbit Nuisance Act, 1928, to appoint, on the 21st day of April, 1948—

Bruce Alan Nicholls

to be a member of the Motunau Rabbit Board established under the

EDWARD CULLEN, Minister of Agriculture.

Appointment of Timber Controller

N exercise of the powers and authorities conferred by the Supply Control Emergency Regulations 1939 and the Timber Emer-gency Regulations 1939, as amended in 1945, I, Clarence Farringdon Skinner, Commissioner of State Forests for the Dominion of New Zealand, do hereby appoint William Crabbe Ward to be Timber Controller for the purpose of the Timber Emergency Regulations 1939

Dated at Wellington, this 3rd day of May, 1948.

C. F. SKINNER. Commissioner of State Forests.

(T.C. 1/0.)

said Act.

Transmitting and Receiving Officers for the Service of Notices by Telegraph

General Post Office Wellington, 23rd April, 1948.

Weilington, 23rd April, 1948. TN pursuance of the powers conferred upon me by the Post and Telegraph Act, 1928 (hereinafter termed the said Act), and by the regulations made on the 12th May, 1914, and published in the New Zealand Gazette of the 21st May, 1914, the following officers, at the addresses set against their names, are hereby appointed transmitting and receiving officers for the purpose of dealing with all notices by telegraph sent under the said Act or regulations, and of signing such certificates in relation to the service of any such notices as are required or authorized to be signed or given under the said Act or the regulations aforesaid : the said Act or the regulations aforesaid :-

Milton Rowley Aldridge, Chief Postmaster Dunedin. William John Cummins, Chief Postmaster, New Plymouth. Peter Woodnorth Donaldson, Superintendent, Teleg Branch, Christehurch. Telegraph Francis Albert Dunstall, Postmaster, Stratford. Stanley Walter Hills, Postmaster, Whakatane. Ronald Leslie Horn, Chief Postmaster, Wanganui Basil Herbert Humphrey, Postmaster, Rotorua. George Walter Kite, Postmaster, Hastings. Table Andrew Conden Machen Surgeinstander John Andrew Gordon Mackay, Superintendent, Telegraph Branch, Auckland. Leonard Mills, Postmaster, Dannevirke. Thomas Mitchell, Postmaster, Gore. William Ransom Stuckey, Chief Postmaster, Palmerston North. John Francis Sullivan, Superintendent, Telegraph Branch, Dunedin.

Walter Abel Trask, Postmaster, Te Awamutu.

F. HACKETT, Minister of Telegraphs.