#### The Hawke's Bay Regiment

The appointment of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) D. W. W. Chambers, seconded to the Waipawa District High School Cadets, Area 7, lapses. Dated 16th December, 1947.

Officer struck off the Strength of the 2nd New Zealand Expeditionary Force

The notice published in the New Zealand Gazette No. 73, dated 11th December, 1947, relative to Lieutenant R. J. H. Leete, is hereby cancelled and the following substituted:—

"Lieutenant R. J. H. Leete, and is posted to the non-mobilized strength of the Northern District Signal Troop, Royal N.Z. Corps of Signals, with the temporary rank of Lieutenant, with seniority from 11th March, 1946. Dated 29th November, 1947."

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Honours and Awards approved by His Majesty the King

Air Department, Wellington, 15th December, 1947.

IS Majesty the King has been graciously pleased to approve the following awards to the undermentioned members of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:—

Commendation for Valuable Service in the Air Flight Lieutenant William Paul Nevill Clarke. Flight Lieutenant Romilly Percival Webb.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

### New Year Honours List

IIS Excellency the Governor-General has announced that His Majesty the King has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the New Year, to confer the following Honours:—

Privy Councillor-

The Honourable Sir Humphrey Francis O'Leary, K.C.M.G., Chief Justice of New Zealand.

#### CIVIL DIVISION

Knight Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (K.B.E.)-

Professor Joseph Bernard Dawson, Professor of Midwifery and Gynæcology at the University of Otago.

Knight Bachelor (Kt.)-

The Honourable David Stanley Smith, Judge of the Supreme Court of New Zealand.

Companion of the Most Distinguished Order of St. Michael and St. George (C.M.G.)—

Doctor Guy Hardy Scholefield, O.B.E., Parliamentary Librarian

and Dominion Archivist, of Wellington.

The Right Reverend Frederick Augustus Bennett, Bishop of Aotearoa, of Kohupatiki.

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.)—

Robert Caughley, Esquire, of Wellington. John Henderson, Esquire, of Wellington. Doctor Walter Allison Gilmour, of Auckland.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.)-

John Barr, Esquire, of Auckland. John Barr, Esquire, of Auckland.
John Alexander Crawford, Esquire, of Cairo.
Kanapu Haerehuka, Esquire, of Wanganui.
Miss Aileen Annie Joyce, of Auckland.
Thomas Rowley Lees, Esquire, of Palmerston North.
Miss Mary Letitia Lindsay, of Timaru.
James Murphy, Esquire, of Christchurch.
Henry Valder, Esquire, of Hamilton.
Doctor Wiffred Stanley Wallis, of Rotorua.
John Wilson. Esquire, of Dunedin. John Wilson, Esquire, of Dunedin.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.)—

Mrs. Ada Emily Beer, of Gisborne. Mrs. Ada Emity Beer, of Gisborne.
John Bryce Berry, Esquire, of Kaikohe.
Miss Pansy Helen Auld Chapman, of Auckland.
William Alfred Henry Corfield, Esquire, of Auckland.
Mrs. Dorothy Louisa Derig, of Auckland.
John William Fenton, Esquire, of Kaitangata.
Miss Elsie Louisa Muriel Julius, of Greymouth.
Kenneth McKenzie, Esquire, of Geraldine.
The Reverend Leslie Bourneman Neale, of Dunedin.
James Baxter O'Neill Esquire, of Christchurch James Baxter O'Neill, Esquire, of Christchurch. Miss Mirika Wehipeihana, of Opunake. William Trickey Woods, Esquire, of Christchurch.

## AMENDMENT

(New Zealand Gazette No. 7 of the 7th February, 1946) New Year Honours List

"Mrs. Helen Victoria Ross, of Trentham," should read "Mrs. Catherine Ross, of Upper Hutt.'

#### MILITARY DIVISION

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.)—

Air Commodore Cyril Eyton Kay, O.B.E., D.F.C., Air Member for Supply, Royal New Zealand Air Force.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.) -Temporary Colonel Charles Ritchie Burns, 2nd N.Z.E.F., of Wellington.

Temporary Lieutenant-Colonel John Patrick Joyce, D.C.M., Royal New Zealand Artillery, of Wellington. Squadron Leader Noel Alfred Vear, R.N.Z.A.F., of Auckland.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.)— Acting-Telegraphist Lieutenant William Lewis Brewer, D.S.M., R.N.Z.N., of Waiouru.

Temporary Lieutenant-Colonel John William Barry, New Zealand Regiment, of Wanganui.

Zealand Regiment, of Wanganu.

Major and Quartermaster Thomas Joseph Cronin, New Zealand Regular Force, of Heretaunga.

Major Adam James Moore, New Zealand Regiment, of Nelson.
Captain John Henry Leedham Trenwith, New Zealand Temporary Staff, of Auckland.

Flying Officer Richard Langsford Brewer, R.N.Z.A.F., of Christchurch.

Warrant Officer Albert Ernest Chapman, R.N.Z.A.F., of Blenheim.

### Air Force Cross

Squadron Leader Cyril Henry Baigent, D.S.O., D.F.C., of Ohakea.

Flight Lieutenant Thomas Alexander McLeod Morgan, of Ohakea.

Flight Lieutenant Mervyn Windsor Wrennall, of Auckland. Warrant Officer Douglas Owen Holloway, of New Plymouth.

#### British Empire Medal-

Electrical Artificer Alfred Ernest Crooks, R.N.Z.N., of Auckland. Mr. Ernest Robert Jackson, Canteen Tenant, H.M.N.Z.S. "Bellona," of Auckland.

"Bellona," of Auckland.
Temporary Warrant Officer (1st Class) Donald Hughes Cross,
New Zealand Regiment, of Christchurch.
Temporary Warrant Officer (1st Class) David Charles McGill,
New Zealand Temporary Staff, of Wellington.
Temporary Staff Sergeant Victor James Keane, New Zealand
Temporary Staff, of Auckland.
Flight Sergeant William Henry James, of Blenheim.
Flight Sergeant Tom Lewis Dimmock, of Christchurch.
Flight Sergeant Basil Frederick White, of Christchurch.
Flight Sergeant James Robert John Begg, of Christchurch.

## Commendation for Valuable Service in the Air-

Flight Lieutenant James Patrick O'Donnell, of Christchurch. Flying Officer Joseph Cassidy Naera, of Whenuapai. Flying Officer John Duncan Garrett, of Ohakea. Warrant Officer Frederick Hazel, of Ohakea. Flight Sergeant Leslie Gordon Woods, of Whenuapai. D. E. FOUHY, Official Secretary.

Staff of the Legation of France at Wellington appointed

Ministry of External Affairs, Wellington, 5th January, 1948.

TT is hereby notified for public information that

# Claude Cansou, Esquire,

has been appointed to the staff of the Legation of France at Wellington as Vice-Consul.

P. FRASER, Minister of External Affairs.

### Members of Licensing Committees appointed

Department of Justice, Wellington, 5th January, 1948.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint—

Ernest Alan Millward, Esquire, and Stanley Roscoe McCallum, Esquire,

to be members of the Licensing Committee for the District of Wanganui, and

James William Rimmer, Esquire,

to be a member of the Licensing Committee for the District of Otaki. H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice.

# Member of Invercargill Licensing Trust resigns

Department of Justice, Wellington, 5th January, 1948.

IIIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to accept the resignation by

Geoffrey Buckland Orbell, Esquire,

as a member of the Invercargill Licensing Trust as from 17th December, 1947.

H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice.