Appointments, Promotions, Relinquishment of Commission, and Retirement of Officers of the New Zealand Military Forces

Army Department, Wellington, 23rd June, 1948.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following appointments, promotions, relinquishment of commission, and retirement of officers of the New Zealand Military Forces:—

REGULAR FORCE

Royal N.Z. Artillery

Lieutenant J. W. Donaldson, M.C., relinquishes his commission. Dated 8th June, 1948.

The Royal N.Z. Armoured Corps

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) A. E. M. Lawrence to be Captain. Dated 24th May, 1948.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) R. M. Gurr to be Captain. Dated

29th June, 1948.

The Royal N.Z. Engineers

The Royal N.Z. Engineers

Temp. Major G. W. King, from the N.Z. Temporary Staff, is granted a short-service commission for a period of two years as from 1st April, 1948, in the rank of Major, with seniority from 11th September, 1944. Dated 1st April, 1948.

Temp. Captain G. C. Peebles, from the N.Z. Temporary Staff, is granted a short-service commission for a period of one year as from 1st April, 1948, in the rank of Captain, with seniority from 1st November, 1944. Dated 1st April, 1948.

Temp. Captain H. J. Edwards, from the N.Z. Temporary Staff, is granted a short-service commission for a period of three years as from 1st April, 1948, in the rank of Captain, with seniority from 4th April, 1947. Dated 1st April, 1948.

Temp. Lieutenant H. Perceval, from the N.Z. Temporary Staff, is granted a short-service commission for a period of three years as from 1st April, 1948, in the rank of Lieutenant, with seniority from 31st March, 1945. Dated 1st April, 1948.

N.Z. Regiment

The undermentioned Lieutenants (temp. Captains) to be Captains:

L. R. Musgrave. Dated 21st May, 1948. G. B. C. Pleasants. Dated 22nd May, 1948. S. R. Jensen. Dated 27th May, 1948.

Lieutenant and Quartermaster W. E. Grogan to be Captain and Quartermaster. Dated 19th June, 1948.

The Royal N.Z. Army Ordnance Corps

The undermentioned Lieutenants to be Captains:-

D. E. A. Roderick. Dated 27th May, 1948. E. W. Whiteacre. Dated 30th May, 1948. H. S. Sandford. Dated 17th June, 1948. A. Whitehead. Dated 19th June, 1948.

Lieutenant and Quartermaster N. C. Fisher to be Captain and Quartermaster. Dated 1st June, 1948.

N.Z. Army Nursing Service

Sister (temp. Charge Sister) L. E. Souness is granted a shortservice commission for a period of one year as from 1st April, 1948, in the rank of Charge Sister, with seniority from 1st April, 1946.

in the rank of Charge Sister, with seniority from 1st April, 1946.

Dated 1st April, 1948.

Sister (temp. Charge Sister) H. McH. Bremner is granted a short-service commission for a period of six months as from 1st April, 1948, in the rank of Charge Sister, with seniority from 10th May, 1946. Dated 1st April, 1948.

Sister D. C. Griffin is granted a short-service commission for a period of one year as from 1st April, 1948, in the rank of Sister, with seniority from 1st June, 1946. Dated 1st April, 1948.

Sister V. M. Wright is granted a short-service commission for a period of nine months as from 1st April, 1948, in the rank of Sister, with seniority from 12th April, 1943. Dated 1st April, 1948.

Sister F. Poynton is granted a short-service commission for a period of one year as from 1st April, 1948, in the rank of Sister, with seniority from 28th April, 1947. Dated 1st April, 1948.

N.Z. Women's Army Auxiliary Corps

N.Z. Women's Army Auxiliary Corps

Subaltern (temp. Junior Commander) M. E. Steele is granted a short-service commission for a period of two years as from 1st April, 1948, in the rank of Junior Commander, with seniority from 1st December, 1945. Dated 1st April, 1948.

Temp. Junior Commander L. M. Knights is granted a short-service commission for a period of two years as from 1st April, 1948, in the rank of Junior Commander, with seniority from 17th April, 1947. Dated 1st April, 1948.

Temp. Junior Commander M. J. Hardcastle is granted a short-service commission for a period of two years as from 1st April, 1948, in the rank of Junior Commander, with seniority from 11th August, 1947. Dated 1st April, 1948.

Temp. Subaltern H. A. S. Heath is granted a short-service commission for a period of two years as from 1st April, 1948, in the rank of Subaltern, with seniority from 13th March, 1946. Dated 1st April, 1948.

1st April, 1948.

Subaltern J. M. Bullard is granted a short-service commission for a period of two years as from 1st April, 1948, in the rank of Subaltern, with seniority from 26th February, 1947. Dated 1st April, 1948.

Subaltern J. M. Burn is granted a short-service commission for a period of two years as from 1st April, 1948, in the rank of Subaltern, with seniority from 26th February, 1947. Dated 1st April, 1948.

Temp. Subaltern O. Marshall is granted a short-service commission for a period of two years as from 1st April, 1948, in the rank of Subaltern, with seniority from 1st January, 1947. Dated

Tank of Subattern, with school, 12.

Ist April, 1948.
Temp. Subaltern R. P. R. Montgomery is granted a short-service commission for a period of two years as from 1st April, 1948, in the rank of Subaltern, with seniority from 1st February, 1948. Dated 1st April, 1948.

Supernumerary List, N.Z. Regular Force

Temp. Captain F. Faulding, from the N.Z. Temporary Staff, is granted a short-service commission as from 1st April, 1948, in the rank of Captain, with seniority from 31st March, 1944. Dated 1st April, 1948.

Temp. Captain S. E. Gray, from the N.Z. Temporary Staff, is granted a short-service commission as from 1st April, 1948, in the rank of Captain, with seniority from 1st January, 1947. Dated 1st April, 1948.

APPOINTMENTS CONFIRMED

The appointments of the undermentioned officers (on prob.) are confirmed :-

The Royal N.Z. Artillery

Captain (temp. Major) E. L. Taverner, M.B.E. Lieutenant (temp. Captain) R. H. Dyson.

Lieutenants-R. O. Meyer. I. G. Wilson. H. S. Cocks. V. G. Skilton. R. J. Moor. H. J. Harvey.

The Royal N.Z. Armoured Corps

Captain (temp. Major) D. A. Caughley. Captain R. A. Tinker, M.C., M.M. Captain R. J. Abbott.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) R. N. Griggs.

Lieutenants-

C. Fanselow. G. C. Laidlaw. P. H. Bell.

The Royal N.Z. Engineers

Lieutenant and Quartermaster F. G. H. Clark.

N.Z. Regiment

Lieutenant-Colonel T. C. Campbell, D.S.O., M.C. Captain N. R. Ingle. Captain Y. K. Fleming, D.S.O.

Lieutenants (temp. Captains)-G. B. C. Pleasants.

S. R. Jensen.

Lieutenants— P. K. Rhind. C. M. H. Gibson. R. D. Yetton. R. L. Ryan. J. Rathbun.

Captain L. W. Roberts, M.B.E., E.D.

B. Boyd, M.B.E. M. R. Kennedy.

Lieutenant and Quartermaster P. J. McGowan.

The Royal N.Z. Army Service Corps

The Royal N.Z. Army Ordnance Corps

Major F. Reid.

Captain S. A. Knight.
Captain and Quartermaster R. P. Kennedy, E.D.
Captain and Quartermaster (temp. Major and Quartermaster)

I. S. Miller, E.D.
Captain and Quartermaster A. A. Barwick.
Captain and Quartermaster G. A. Perry, E.D.
Captain and Quartermaster (temp. Major and Quartermaster)
L. H. Stroud.

Captain (temp. Major) H. J. Mockridge.
Captain and Quartermaster R. T. J. Adams.
Lieutenant (temp. Captain) K. G. K. Cropp.
Lieutenant (temp. Captain) O. H. Burn.
Lieutenant and Quartermaster (temp. Captain and Quartermaster) P. Strond

master) R. Stroud.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) J. G. R. Morley.

Lieutenants—
M. R. J. Keeler.
S. M. King.
R. G. P. O'Connor.

A. B. West.

The Royal N.Z. Electrical and Mechanical Engineers

Captain (temp. Major) J. D. Fenton, M.B. E.
Lieutenant and Quartermaster H. E. Wright.
Lieutenant and Quartermaster (temp. Captain and Quartermaster) C. E. Slade-Jones.
Lieutenant and Quartermaster (temp. Captain and Quartermaster) S. W. Morris.

Lieutenant and Quartermaster H. E. Foster. Lieutenant and Quartermaster R. W. Ryan.

Dated 1st April, 1948.