Auckland Education Board .- Election of Members

In accordance with the provisions of the Education Act, 1914, it is hereby notified that the undernamed persons have been duly elected members of the Education Board of the District of Auckland:—

For the Auckland Urban Area Maurice Priestley. Donald William Rutledge. Thomas Turbott. Frederick Albert Charles Upton.

For the Hamilton Urban Area John Midgley McWhannell (unopposed).

For the Whangarei Urban Area Thomas Walter Bowman (unopposed).

For the North Ward of the Rural Area David McCarroll (unopposed).

For the East Ward of the Rural Area Archibald Burns (unopposed).

For the West Ward of the Rural Area John Patterson (unopposed).

The result of the voting for the Auckland Urban Area is as follows:—

			votes.
John Gilbert Helleur			173
Maurice Priestley			256
Donald William Rutledge			$\dots 287$
Thomas Turbott			$\dots 237$
Frederick Albert Charles Up	ton		247
Total number of valid v Number of votes rejecte	d as infor	mal	1,200
A	A. NIXON	V, Return	ing Officer.
28th July, 1948.			

The Education Board of the District of Wanganui.—Election of Members

T is hereby notified that at the biennial election of members of the above Board the number of votes recorded for each candidate was as follows:—

Wanganui Ur	rban Are	a ·		
v				Votes.
John Charles Batt				36
Frederick Charles Jannings		• •	• •	42
Total number of valid vote	s recorde	ed		78
Total number of votes reje	cted as in	nformal		2

North Ward

The only nomination received was that of Lewis Edmund Jordan. $Palmerston\ North\ Urban\ Arca$

The only nomination received was that of William Blair Tennent.

South Ward

				Votes.
Lionel James Carmine				 158
Edward Noah Rowe				 119
•				
Total number of v	alid vo	tes recor	ded	 277
Total number of vo	tes rei	ected as it	nformal	 3

West Ward

The only nomination received was that of Norman Bromiley. I hereby declare Frederick Charles Jannings, Lewis Edmund Jordan, William Blair Tennent, Lionel James Carmine, and Norman Bromiley duly elected as members of the Board for the Wanganui Urban Area, North Ward, Palmerston North Urban Area, South Ward, and West Ward respectively.

FRANK REYNOLDS, Acting Returning Officer. Wanganui, 28th July, 1948.

Wellington Education Board.—Biennial Election

IN accordance with the requirements of the Education Act, 1914, I hereby notify the result of the election of members of the Education Board of the District of Wellington for the areas enumerated hereunder:—

Hutt-Horowhenua Ward of the Rural Area *Robinson, Arthur Edmund (elected unapposed).

* Hutt-Petone Urbo	ın Area			
			Votes.	
Archer, Albert James			Nil.	
Curtis, Arthur Southwell			52 (elec	eted).
Mackie, Marshall Stewart			35	
Maud, Albert		٠.	24	
Pallesen, Paul John Andrew Bruu	n		16	
Valid votes recorded			127	
Informal votes		• •	Nil.	

Marlborough Ward of the Rural Area *Hyndman, Stanley Clarence (elected unopposed).

Masterton Urban Area

*Masters, George (elected unopposed).

Wairarapa Ward of the Rural Area *Carter, Harold George (elected unopposed).

Wellington	Trham	Area

				Votes.
Highet, David Allan				59
Hornblow, Andrew Reed				27
Jacobsen, Leonard Theode	ore			78
*McDonald, Leslie John				140 (elected).
*Matthew, George				140 (elected).
Wilson, William Joseph			• •	133 (elected).
77 10 1				
Valid votes recorded		• •		577
Informal votes		• • •	• •	Nil.

W. I. DEAVOLL, Returning Officer.

28th July, 1948.

* Signifies sitting member.

Nelson Education Board.—Election of Four Members

TT is hereby publicly notified that at the election held on the 21st July, 1948, the following votes were received by the respective candidates:—

N	elson U	rban Area	ı		
		:			Votes.
Barltrop, Harry					9
Horlor, David Fiande	eŗ				13
Informal		• • •	• •	• •	Nil.
	East	Ward			4
					4 4 2 2
Kearns, Charles Willi	am				11
Spiers, Bertrand Cha	rles Mau	rice			128
Informal					1
	North	Ward			
Hamilton, Frederick	Allan			4	69
Reilly, Claude Page		• •			89
Informal					Nil.

The only nomination received for the vacancy in the West Ward was that of William Henderson McIntyre.

I therefore declare David Fiander Horlor, Bertrand Charles Maurice Spiers, Claude Page Reilly, and William Henderson McIntyre duly elected.

H. J. THORNTON, Returning Officer.

Nelson, 28th July, 1948.

The Education Board of the District of Otago.—Election of Members

IN accordance with the Second Schedule to the Education Act, 1914, it is hereby notified that the following persons have been duly elected members of the Education Board of the District of Otago:—

Urban Area

Robert Russell Hunter and Sarah Catherine MacArthur.

North Ward
David Erskine Neave.

South Ward

Hector Robert Bruce Burns.

Central Ward

George William Carrington.

The number of votes recorded in favour of the respective candidates was as follows:—

Urban .	Area
---------	------

Hunter, Robert Russe	11				98
MacArthur, Sarah Catherine Riddle, Harold John Mantz					84
					79
Jacobsen, William				• •	59
	North	Ward			
Neave, David Erskine					109
Cooper, William Magnu					53
Stock, Arthur Francis	• •	• •	• •	••	44
	South	Ward			
Burns, Hector Robert	Bruce				85
Bradfield, William					52
Flett, Robert	• •	• •		**:	48

Central Ward

Carrington, George William (returned unopposed).

C. R. McLEAN, Returning Officer,

Votes.

Education Office, Dunedin, 28th July, 1948.