LIST No. 101

PROMOTIONS

The undermentioned Captains (temp. Majors) to be Majors: M. Pirritt, R.N.Z.A.M.C. Dated 15th May, 1948.

F. R. Bartley, R.N.Z.A.

B. J. L. Roberts, R. N.Z. Inf. A. B. H. Haughton, M.M., R. N.Z. Inf. K. G. Miles, R. N.Z. A.S.C.

Dated 15th July, 1948.

F. W. P. McHugh, R.N.Z. Inf. Dated 21st July, 1948.

The undermentioned Lieutenants (temp. Majors) to be Captains and retain the temporary rank of Major:-

T. J. W. Mallasch, N.Z.A.P.C. Dated 3rd June, 1948. L. A. Faigan, R.N.Z.A.D. Corps. Dated 10th July, 1948. P. C. D. Childs, R.N.Z.E. Dated 15th July, 1948.

GRANT OF TEMPORARY RANK

2nd Lieutenant E. W. Lett, R.N.Z. Inf., to be temp. Lieutenant whilst employed as Staff Captain "Q", 2 N.Z.E.F. (Japan). Dated 3rd August, 1948.

TEMPORARY RANK RELINQUISHED

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) A. S. Reynolds, N.Z.A.E.S., relinquishes the temporary rank of Captain and assumes the acting rank of Captain on being placed on N.Z. Roll. Dated 28th August, 1948.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Resignation, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Military Forces statiferi estinue in Statisti kistolik ti

Army Department, Wellington, 20th August, 1948.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following appointments, promotions, resignation, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Military Forces :--

REGULAR FORCE

The Royal N.Z. Artillery

Captain (temp. Major) R. J. H. Webb relinquishes the appointment of Officer Commanding, 9th Coast Regiment, R.N.Z.A., dated 23rd July, 1948, retains the temporary rank of Major, and proceeds to America to attend an Advanced Officers' Course at the Artillery School, Fort Sill, Oklahoma, dated 31st July, 1948.

The Royal N.Z. Electrical and Mechanical Engineers

Lieutenant and Quartermaster (temp. Captain and Quartermaster) C. E. Slade-Jones to be Captain and Quartermaster. Dated 1st July, 1948.

N.Z. Army Nursing Service

Sister (temp. Charge Sister) J. Davison is granted a short-service commission for a period of nine months as from 1st April, 1948, in the rank of Charge Sister, with seniority from 1st April, 1946, next below Charge Sister P. I. Johnston. Dated 1st April, 1948.

Supernumerary List, N.Z. Regular Force

Lieutenant-Colonel S. M. Satterthwaite is posted to the Retired List with the rank of Colonel. Dated 11th August, 1948. Captain and Quartermaster G. Paterson is posted to the Retired

Sec.

List. Dated 13th Afgust, 1948.

Lieutenant D. M. Belton is posted to the Retired List with the rank of Captain. Dated 11th August, 1948. mang al Yes (page) it.

TERRITORIAL FORCE

The Royal N.Z. Infantry Corps

The Wellington West Coast Regiment

Electronant G. A. Ball ceases to be seconded to the Palmerston North High School Cadets, Area 6, and resigns his commission. Dated 9th August, 1948.

First ver to de la The Taranaki Regiment

2nd Lieutenant D. M. Jillett to be temp. Lieutenant, and remains seconded to the Opunake District High School Cadets, Area 8. Dated 20th May, 1946.

The Southland Regiment

Alan Underwood McCurdy to be 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.), and is seconded to the Roxburgh High School Cadets, Area 12. Dated 13th July, 1948.

N.Z. Army Legal Department

Advocate General, New Zealand Military Forces, to be Colonel. Dated Ist August, 1948.

OFFICERS CEASING TO BE SECONDED TO THE 2ND NEW ZEALAND EXPEDITIONARY FORCE

Major B. Boyd, M.B.E., and is reposted to the N.Z. Regular

Rajor S. Boyd, W.B.E., and is reposted to the N.Z. Regular Force with the rank of Lieutenant, with seniority from 14th December, 1942. Dated 28th June, 1948.

Law Captain D. M. Belton, and is reposted to the N.Z. Regular Force with the rank of Lieutenant, with seniority from 14th December, 1943. Dated 4th June, 1948.

Officers Struck off the Strength of the 2nd New Zealand Expeditionary Force

Lieutenant (Acting-Captain) N. L. G. Baker, and is posted to the Reserve of Officers, Supplementary List, with the rank of Lieutenant. Dated 22nd May, 1948.

2nd Lieutenant D. I. Youle, and is posted to the Reserve of Officers, Supplementary List. Dated 16th June, 1948.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Appointments of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Air Department, Wellington, 16th August, 1948.

IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:—

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointments

As Pilot-

1065 Squadron Leader (temp.) George Robert Brabyn relinquishes his temporary commission and is granted a short-service commission in his present rank and seniority. Dated 1st April,

As Signaller—

415732 Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Charles Edward BAXTER, D.F.C., relinquishes his temporary commission and is granted an extended-service commission for a period of four years in his present rank and seniority. Dated 1st April, 1948.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Appointment, Relinquishment, and Transfers of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Air Department, Wellington, 20th August, 1948.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointment, relinquishment, and transfers of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:—

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH Relinquishment

2002 Flight Lieutenant (temp.) William Joseph Rutledge relinquishes his commission. Dated 19th October, 1948.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH Appointment

Special Duties Division-

437031 Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Norman Hillary MEYERS relinquishes his temporary commission and is granted a permanent commission in his present rank and seniority. Dated 3rd August, 1948.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS Transfers

The undermentioned officers are transferred from the Active List to the Reserve of Air Force Officers, Class B, Section I:

40190 Flight Lieutenant Brian COBCROFT. Dated 13th July,

1948. 433164 Flying Officer Stuart Ålexander Hunter. Dated 31st July, 1948.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Members of Licensing Committees Appointed

Department of Justice Wellington, 23rd August, 1948.

H IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Raymond Ferner, Esquire, S.M.,

to be a member of the Licensing Committee for the District of Westland, on and from the 8th day of September, 1948; and

Rex Clifford Abernethy, Esquire, S.M.,

to be a member of the Licensing Committees for the Districts of Lyttelton and Riccarton.

H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice.

Member of Licensing Committees Appointed

Department of Justice Wellington, 25th August, 1948.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Ernest Albert Lee, Esquire, S.M.,

to be a member of the Licensing Committees for the Districts of Timaru, Waimate, and Ashburton.

H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice.