Fixing the Date and Place for Payment of Land-tax

B. C. FREYBERG, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington, this 6th day of October, 1948

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

In pursuance and exercise of the powers and authority vested in him under the Land and Income Tax Act, 1923, and the Land and Income Tax (Annual) Act, 1948, His Excellency the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council of the said Dominion, doth hereby order and determine that the duty leviable under the said Acts by way of land-tax on land held by companies shall be paid on the day and date set forth hereunder

Land-tax under section two of the Land and Income Tax (Annual) Act, 1948: In one sum on Wednesday, the twenty-seventh day of October, one thousand nine hundred and forty-eight.

And, in further pursuance and exercise of the powers and authority aforesaid, and with the like advice and consent as aforesaid, His Excellency doth also determine that the said duty of land-tax shall be payable at any office of the Land and Income Tax Department or at any money-order post-office, and that notice to the aforegoing effect shall be given by the Commissioner of Taxes accordingly.

T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Officers Authorized to Take and Receive Statutory Declarations

#### B. C. FREYBERG, Governor-General

PURSUANT to the authority conferred upon me by the three-hundred-and-first section of the Justices of the Peace Act, 1927, I, Lieutenant-General Sir Bernard Cyril Freyberg, the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, do hereby notify and declare that the persons whose names are set out in the Schedule hereto, being officers in the service of the Crown holding the offices stated opposite their names respectively in the said Schedule, are authorized to take and receive statutory declarations under the three-hundred-and-first section of the Justices of the under the three-hundred-and-first section of the Justices of the Peace Act, 1927.

### SCHEDULE

Gordon McBeath, Collector of Customs, Auckland.
Thomas Mitchell, First Sub-Collector of Customs, Auckland.
James Seaton Martin, Collector of Customs, Wellington.
Ernest James Cunningham, First Sub-Collector of Customs, Wellington.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, this 30th day of September, 1948.

H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice.

Warrant Appointing Conciliation Commissioner Under the Industrial Conciliation and Arbitration Act, 1925

# B. C. FREYBERG, Governor-General

IN pursuance and exercise of the power and authority conferred on me by section forty of the Industrial Conciliation and Arbitration Act, 1925, I, Bernard Cyril Freyberg, the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, do hereby appoint Samuel Ritchie

to be a Conciliation Commissioner under and for the purposes of Part II of the said Act; appointment to be dated from the first day of October, one thousand nine hundred and forty-eight.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, this 29th day of September, 1948.

A. McLAGAN, Minister of Labour.

Promotions and Relinquishment of Temporary Rank of Officers of the 2nd New Zealand Expeditionary Force (Japan Section)

Army Department, Wellington, 29th September, 1948.

III IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to confirm the following promotions and relinquishment of temporary rank of officers of the 2nd New Zealand Expeditionary Force (Japan Section), vide List No. 103, dated 14th September, 1948:—

PROMOTIONS

Captain (temp. Major) A. V. P. Ford, R.N.Z. Inf., to be Major. Dated 23rd July, 1948.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) K. W. Langdon, R.N.Z. Inf., to be Captain, with seniority next below Captain V. R. Fenby, R.N.Z.A.S.C. Dated 20th July, 1948.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) R. D. Yearbury, R.N.Z.A.M.C., to be Captain. Dated 14th September, 1948.

## TEMPORARY RANK RELINQUISHED

2nd Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant) E. W. Lett, R.N.Z. Inf., relinquishes the temporary rank of Lieutenant on being placed on N.Z. Roll. Dated 15th October, 1948.

OFFICER STRUCK OFF THE STRENGTH OF THE 2ND NEW ZEALAND EXPEDITIONARY FORCE

Captain A. P. Hanaway, R.N.Z.A.M.C. Dated 10th September, 1948.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Promotion and Relinquishments of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Air Department, Wellington, 29th September, 1948.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following promotion and relinquishments of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:—

#### GENERAL DUTTES BRANCH

539020 Flight Lieutenant (temp.) George Selwyn Martin to be Squadron Leader (temp.). Dated 8th September, 1948.

## AIR TRAINING CORPS Relinquishments

The undermentioned officers relinquish their commissions:-

Flying Officer Henry Neville POUNTNEY. Flying Officer David Harold Moore. Flying Officer Frank Addis Patterson. Flying Officer Albert Vincent O'Brien.

Dated 31st May, 1948.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Consul-General of the Philippines at Sydney for New Zealand  $\hat{Appointed}$ 

Ministry of External Affairs, Wellington, New Zealand, 29th September, 1948. HIS Excellency the Governor-General directs it to be notified that His Majesty's Exequatur empowering

Manuel A. Alzate, Esquire,

to act as Consul-General of the Philippines at Sydney for New Zealand has been issued.

P. FRASER, Minister of External Affairs.

Trustee of Wiri Drainage District Appointed

Department of Internal Affairs, Wellington, 1st October, 1948.

IIIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased, in terms of section 10 (3) of the Land Drainage Act, 1908, to

Ronald Frederick Jenner, Esquire,

to be a Trustee for the Wiri Drainage District.

W. E. PARRY, Minister of Internal Affairs.

Appointment of Child Welfare Officers under the Child Welfare Act, 1925

Education Department, Wellington, 20th September, 1948.

N pursuance of section 2 of the Child Welfare Act, 1925, I, Terence Henderson McCombs, Minister of Education, do hereby appoint-

Glover, Dorothy Alexandrine, Maud, Joyce Blair, Naylor, Edith, Turner, Betty Frances, Smidt, Gerda, Foot, Marie Jenette, Rutherford, Muriel, Griffin, Mildred Eleanor, Vaney, Patricia Olive Mary. Vaney, Patricia Olive Mary, Alexander, Deborah Margaret, Holmes, Marguerite Foster, Caddie, Joan Adair, Crutwell, Sheila Kathleen, Crutwell, Sheila Kathle Rosenberg, Ann, Edgar, Isobel Jeanne, Rea, Lindsay Aroha, Crawford, Beatrice, Hindle, Phyllis, Joynt, John Denis, Gibb, Donald Maxwell, Bell, Colin Alexander,
Carson, Allan James,
Pycroft, Lansley Thomas James,
Skuse, Charles Harold,
Stanton, Selwyn John, Stanton, Selwyn John, Kennedy, Percival Roy, Crocket, Alexander McIntyre, Carson, Albert Lindsay, Smith, Gordon Charles, Uttley, Leslie McNeill, Eaton, Ross Seymour, Hill, Bernard Charles, Watson, Keith John, Hills, John Louis, Vodanovich, Ivan Milton, Hendren, Francis Peter,

as Child Welfare Officers for the purposes of the said Act.

M. B. HOWARD, For the Minister of Education.