Officer Authorized to Take and Receive Statutory Declarations

B. C. FREYBERG, Governor-General

By his Deputy,

H. F. O'LEARY

H. F. ULEARY

PURSUANT to the authority conferred upon me by the three-hundred-and-first section of the Justices of the Peace Act, 1927, I, Lieutenant-General Sir Bernard Cyril Freyberg, the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, do hereby notify and declare that John Reginald Stevens, being an officer in the service of the Crown holding the office of Divisional Clerk, State Advances Corporation, Wellington, is authorized to take and receive statutory declarations under the three-hundred-and-first section of the Justices of the Peace Act, 1927.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, this 14th day of December, 1948.

H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice.

Appointment of Land Valuation Committees

B. C FREYBERG, Governor-General

By his Deputy,

H. F. O'LEARY

In F. O'LEARY

In pursuance and exercise of the power and authority conferred upon me by the Land Valuation Court Act, 1948, I, Lieutenant-General Sir Bernard Cyril Freyberg, the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, do hereby appoint, as from the first day of January, one thousand nine hundred and forty-nine, the undermentioned persons to be members of the respective Land Valuation Committees set out opposite their names, the name of the Chairman being indicated in each case; and I do hereby appoint as Deputies the persons named hereunder as indicated in each case; and I do hereby direct that at any sitting of a Land Valuation Committee two members shall form a quorum.

Name of Land Valuation Committee.	Names of Members of Each Committee.
North Auckland	Eric Holdsworth Burton, Papatoetoc (Chairman). Alexander Allardice McLauchlan, Wha-
Auckland Urban	ngarei. Leonard James Brake, Waipu. William Robert Tuck, Auckland (Chairman). Kenneth Walter Aimer, Auckland. James Walter Ambrose Stead, Auckland (Deputy Chairman).
	Douglas Fred Whitmore, Grey Lynn (deputy of each of the three abovenamed members).
South Auckland	John William Kealy, Auckland (Chairman) Harry Oswald Mellsop, Auckland. James Joseph Shallue, Mangaiti. James Walter Ambrose Stead, Auckland
•	(deputy of each of the three above-named members).
Hamilton	James Oliphant, Hamilton (Chairman). Charles Abraham Barrell, Hamilton.
Gisborne	George Johnston Silcock, Te Uku.  Harry Dawson Chrisp, Gisborne (Chairman).
	Ivan Francis Watt, Arero. Frederick Howard Forge, Gisborne. Arthur Trevor Coleman, Gisborne (deputy of Harry Dawson Chrisp, Chairman).
Hawke's Bay	Ernest Horatio Thornton Dunn, Napier (Chairman).
Taranaki	Henry Edward Beattie, Eskdale.  Harold Wilfred Youren, Rissington (deputy of Ernest Horatio Thornton Dunn, Chairman).  Ross Lange, Putorino (deputy of Messrs. C. H. Loughnan and H. E. Beattie).  Francis Stanley Grayling, New Plymouth
	(Chairman.) Laurence David Hickford, Okato (deputy Chairman). Ernest Phillip Aldridge, Stratford. James Whittington Darby, New Plymouth (deputy of each of the three above-
Wellington Urban	named members). Clifford Oswald Bell, Wellington (Chairman).
	John Thomas Mair, Khandallah. Ernest Price, Petone. Thomas Pound, Wellington (deputy of Clifford Oswald Bell, Chairman).
Wellington Rural	Owen Neil Campbell, Wellington (Chairman). George Anders Hansen, Kaiparoro.
	Robert Edward Downes, Shannon. Thomas Pound, Wellington (deputy of each of the three above-named members)
Marlborough	Joseph Henry Dick, Spring Creek (Chairman).
	Frederick Alderman Harrison, Blenheim.

Henry Anthony Ingles Mowat, Blenheim.

Name of Land Valuation Committee.	Names of Members of Each Committee.
Nelson	Ivan Everard Fitchett, Nelson (Chairman) Arthur Rowling, Mariri.
Westland	Dudley William Win, Owen Junction.  Mark Wallace, Lower Kakatahi (Chair-
*	man). James Mulcare, Ngahere. John Webber Greenslade, Greymouth. Henry Nicholas Pyne, Greymouth (deputy of each of the three above-named members).
Christchurch Urban	Victor Gerald Spiller, Christchurch (Chairman).
	Thomas Walter West, Opawa. Bernard John McKenna, Christchurch. Hugh Wallace Thompson, Christchurch (deputy of each of the three above-
Canterbury Rural	named members).  William Henry Nicholls, Christchurch (Chairman).  Bob Sherburd Robertson, Fairlie (Deputy Chairman).  Clarence Bertram Idle, Sumner.
	William Edmund Richard Booker Hawarden (deputy of each of the three above-named members). Charles Byers Barrowclough, Dunedir
owgo	(Chairman).  Donald James Ross, Hillgrove. Edwin Sincock, Dunedin. Warrington McCarten Taylor, Dunedin (deputy of Messrs. C. B. Barrowclough and E. Sincock and Deputy Chairman) Frank Hood, Ngapara (deputy of D. J Ross).
Southland	Thomas Rewi Pryde, Invercargill (Chair man). John James Lynch, Aparima. David Grindlay, Invercargill. Alan Smyth, Invercargill (deputy of Thomas Rewi Pryde, Chairman). William Frederick Humber Stone, Invercargill (deputy of D. Grindlay). Joseph Albert Beck, Kauana (deputy of J. J. Lynch).

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, this 16th day of December, 1948.

H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice.

Warrant Appointing Conciliation Commissioner Under the Industrial Conciliation and Arbitration Act, 1925

## B. C. FREYBERG, Governor-General

IN pursuance and exercise of the power and authority conferred on me by section forty of the Industrial Conciliation and Arbitration Act, 1925, I, Lieutenant-General Sir Bernard Cyril Freyberg, the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, do hereby appoint

## Henry Moody Hopper

to be a Conciliation Commissioner under and for the purposes of Part II of the said Act; appointment to be dated from the twenty-second day of December, one thousand nine hundred and forty-eight.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, this 22nd day of December, 1948.

F. JONES For the Minister of Labour.

Appointing the Transport Charges Appeal Authority Under the Transport Law Amendment Act, 1948

## B. C. FREYBERG, Governor-General

By his Deputy.

H. F. O'LEARY

In pursuance and exercise of the powers conferred on him by the Transport Law Amendment Act, 1948, His Excellency the Governor-General doth hereby appoint His Honour Judge Kendrick Gee Archer, of Wellington, to be the Transport Charges Appeal Authority for a term expiring on the thirty-first day of December, one thousand nine hundred and forty-nine.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, this 17th day of December, 1948.

F. HACKETT, Minister of Transport.