Appointing Principal Authorities for the Election of Members of Harbour Boards by the Electors of Combined Districts

B. C. FREYBERG, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington, this 23rd day of February, 1949

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

WHEREAS it is provided by section twenty-two of the Harbours Act, 1923 (hereinafter called the said Act), that in any case where by the said Act or any special Act one or more members of a Harbour Board are to be elected by all or some only of the electors of two or more local authorities jointly (hereinafter referred to as a combined district), the Governor-General shall by Order in Council select and appoint one of those local authorities to be the principal authority for the purposes of such election:

Now, therefore, His Excellency the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, in pursuance and exercise of the power and authority conferred upon him by the said Act, and of all other powers and authorities enabling him in that behalf, and acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council of the said Dominion, doth hereby select and appoint the local authorities set forth in the third column of the Schedule hereto to be the respective principal authorities for the combined districts set forth in the second column of the said Schedule, for the purposes of the elections under the said act of certain members of the Harbour Boards in whose district the combined districts are respectively situated, and doth hereby revoke all other Orders in Council at variance therewith.

COTTEDIT E

SCHEDULE			
Name of Boa	rd.	Combined District.	Principal Authority Selected and Appointed.
		The Boroughs of Devonport, Birkenhead, Takapuna, and Northcote The Boroughs of Newmarket, One Tree Hill, Onehunga, and Ellerslie, and the Mount Wellington and Panmure Road Districts The Boroughs of Mount Eden and Mount Albert The Counties of Manukau and Franklin, and the Boroughs of Manurewa, Papakura, Papatoetoe, Pukekohe, and Otahuhu, and the Town Districts	Devonport Borough Council. The Onehunga Borough Council. The Mount Eden Borough Council. The Pukekohe Borough Council.
Auckland	}	of Howick, Tuakau, and Waiuku The County of Waitemata, the Boroughs of Helensville, Henderson, Mount Roskill, and New Lynn, and the Town District of Glen Eden	The Waitemata County Council.
		The Counties of Waikato, Raglan, and Waipa; the Borough of Huntly, and	The Waikato County Council.
		the Town District of Leamington The City of Hamilton and the Boroughs of Te Awamutu, Cambridge, and Ngaruawahia	The Hamilton City Council.
Bay of Islands	[The County of Bay of Islands and the Borough of Kaikohe The Boroughs of Invercargill and South Invercargill The Boroughs of Gore and Mataura The County of Southland, the Borough of Winton, and the Town Districts	Bay of Islands County Council. The Invercargill City Council. The Gore Borough Council. The Southland County Council.
Bluff		of Lumsden and Wyndham The County of Wallace, the Borough of Riverton, and the Town Districts	The Wallace County Council.
Greymouth	{	of Nightcaps and Otautau The County of Lake and the Boroughs of Arrowtown and Queenstown The Boroughs of Brunner and Runanga The Boroughs of Hokitika, Kumara, and Ross The Boroughs of Kaiapoi and Rangiora and the Counties of Rangiora, Eyre, and Oxford	The Lake County Council. The Runanga Borough Council. The Hokitika Borough Council. The Kaiapoi Borough Council.
		The Counties of Cheviot, Amuri, Waipara, Kowai, and Ashley The County of Ashburton, the Borough of Ashburton, and the Town District	The Waipara County Council. The Ashburton County Council.
Lyttelton	}	of Tinwald The Counties of Tawera, Paparua, Malvern, Springs, Ellesmere, Halswell, Selwyn, and Heathcote, and the Town District of Leeston	The Paparua County Council.
		The County of Waimairi and the Borough of Riccarton The Boroughs of Lyttelton and Akaroa and the Counties of Akaroa, Wairewa, and Mount Herbert	The Waimairi County Council. The Lyttelton Borough Council.
	(The Taradale Town District and the Meeanee Riding of the County of	The Taradale Town Board.
Napier	}	Hawkes Bay The County of Wairoa within the Riding of Mohaka, and that portion of the County of Hawkes Bay, except the Meeanee Riding, within the Harbour	The Hawkes Bay County Council.
Nelson		District The Borough of Waipawa and the County of Waipawa	The Waipawa County Council. The Waipukurau Borough Council. Waimea County Council.
		The Boroughs of Inglewood, Stratford, and Eltham	The Stratford Borough Council. The Taranaki County Council.
New Plymouth	}	the Harbour District Those portions of the Counties of Stratford and Whangamomona within the Harbour District	The Stratford County Council.
		Those portions of the Counties of Eltham and Hawera within the Harbour District	The Eltham County Council.
		The City of Dunedin and the Borough of St. Kilda The Counties of Taieri, Peninsula, Waikouaiti, and Waihemo, and the	The Dunedin City Council. The Taieri County Council.
Otago	}	Boroughs of Green Island, Mosgiel, Palmerston, and Waikouaiti The Counties of Bruce, Tuapeka, Maniototo, and Clutha, and the Boroughs of Balclutha, Kaitangata, Lawrence, Milton, Naseby, Roxburgh, and Tapanui	The Bruce County Council.
Patea Tauranga		The County of Vincent and the Boroughs of Alexandra and Cromwell The Borough of Patea and the Waverley Town District The Maketu and Te Puke Ridings of the Tauranga County and the Te Puke Borough	Vincent County Council. The Patea Borough Council. The Tauranga County Council.
		The Tengawai and Point Ridings of the Levels County and the Pleasant Point Town District	The Levels County Council.
Timaru	{	The Boroughs of Geraldine and Temuka	The Temuka Borough Council. The Waimate Borough Council.
Wanganui		Those portions of the Counties of Wanganui and Waimarino within the	The Wanganui County Council.
		Harbour District The Counties of Hutt and Makara, the City of Lower Hutt, and the Boroughs of Petone, Upper Hutt, and Eastbourne, and the Town District of Johnson-	The Petone Borough Council.
Wellington		ville The Counties of Wairarapa South, Masterton, Pahiatua, Akitio, Eketahuna, Mauriceville, Castlepoint, and Featherston, and the Boroughs of Martin- borough, Greytown, Carterton, Masterton, Eketahuna, Featherston, and Pahiatua	The Masterton Borough Council.
		The Counties of Manawatu, Oroua, Horowhenua, Pohangina, Kairanga, Kiwitea, the City of Palmerston North, and the Boroughs of Feilding,	The Palmerston North Borough Council.
Whangarei	.	Foxton, Shannon, Otaki, and Levin The Town Districts of Hikurangi and Kamo	The Hikurangi Town Board.
		· ·	