1949 :---

Appointment of Land Settlement Committees

NOTICE is hereby given that the Land Settlement Board has, pursuant to section 14 of the Land Act, 1948, appointed the following Land Settlement Committees and has appointed the members thereof, other than the Commissioner of Crown Lands, to hold office for a term of three years commencing on 1st April,

NORTH AUCKLAND LAND SETTLEMENT COMMITTEE

SOUTH AUCKLAND LAND SETTLEMENT COMMITTEE Commissioner of Crown Lands, South Auckland (Chairman), D. A. Hill, Kerepeehi, Hauraki Plains,

Commissioner of Crown Lands, North Auckland (Chairman), A. C. M. Finlayson, Pipiwae R.D., Whangarei. K. K. Montgomerie, Mangere, Auckland.

Department of Lands and Survey,

Wellington, 23rd May, 1949.

Registrars of Marriages, &c., Appointed

Registrar-General's Office, Wellington, 23rd May, 1949.

 \mathbf{I}^{T} is hereby notified that the following appointments have been made :—

James Alexander Fyfe

to be Registrar of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the District of New Plymouth and Registrar of Births and Deaths of Maoris at New Plymouth, on and from the 2nd day of May, 1949.

Ruth Maureen Heath (Miss)

to be Deputy Registrar of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the District of Tairua, on and from the 1st day of April, 1949.

James John Coll

to be Deputy Registrar of Births and Deaths for the District of Auckland at Ellerslie, on and from the 2nd day of May, 1949.

James Templeton

to be Deputy Registrar of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the District of Stewart Island and Deputy Registrar of Births and Deaths of Maoris at Half-moon Bay, on and from the 2nd day of May, 1949.

John Henry Dark

to be Registrar of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the District of Amuri, on and from the 24th day of March, 1949.

Robert Hugh Inder

to be Acting Registrar of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the District of Balclutha, on and from the 14th day of February, 1949.

Arthur James Bannister

to be Deputy Registrar of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the District of Rangitiki and Deputy Registrar of Births and Deaths of Maoris at Marton, on and from the 4th day of May, 1949.

Carlyle Pearson Smith

to be Deputy Registrar of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the District of Rangiora, on and from the 4th day of May, 1949. P. H. WYLDE, Deputy Registrar-General.

Notification of Approval of Rules of Wellington Acclimatization Society

Department of Internal Affairs, 19th May, 1949.

PURSUANT to the provisions of section 25 of the Animals Protection and Game Act, 1921-22, I hereby notify that two copies of the rules of the Wellington Acclimatization Society, made on the 23rd day of May, 1947, have been forwarded to me and were approved on the 13th day of May, 1949.

W. E. PARRY, Minister of Internal Affairs.

(I.A. 46/3/8.)

Defence Rifle Club Accepted

Army Department, Wellington, 18th May, 1949.

H IS Excellency the Governor-General has approved of the formation of the undermentioned Defence Rifle Club :---Waerenga Defence Rifle Club, with headquarters at Waerenga. Dated 27th July, 1948.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Defence Rifle Club Accepted

Army Department, Wellington, 21st May, 1949.

H IS Excellency the Governor-General has approved of the formation of the undermentioned Defence Rifle Club :--Pouatu Defence Rifle Club, with headquarters at Kohuratahi, Taranaki. Dated 6th May, 1948.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Defence Rifle Club Accepted

Army Department, Wellington, 21st May, 1949.

H IS Excellency the Governor-General has approved of the formation of the undermentioned Defence Rifle Club :--Tikorangi Defence Rifle Club, with headquarters at Tikorangi. Dated 16th November, 1948.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

KING-COUNTRY LAND SETTLEMENT COMMITTEE Commissioner of Crown Lands, South Auckland (Chairman), C. S. Taylor, Aria.

A. D. Dibley, Ngongotaha, Rotorua.

A. N. Aldridge, Mokauíti, Te Kuiti.

GISBORNE LAND SETTLEMENT COMMITTEE Commissioner of Crown Lands, Gisborne (Chairman), H. B. Bull, Patutahi, J. Boyle, Ohuku, Wairoa

HAWKES BAY LAND SETTLEMENT COMMITTEE Commissioner of Crown Lands, Napier (Chairman), C. J. O'Reilly, Porangahau, O. H. Orr, Putorino.

TARANAKI LAND SETTLEMENT COMMITTEE Commissioner of Crown Lands, New Plymouth (Chairman), C. F. Manning, Nihoniho, Ohura, A. M. O'Sullivan, Midhirst, Stratford.

WELLINGTON LAND SETTLEMENT COMMITTEE Commissioner of Crown Lands, Wellington (Chairman), A. J. Larsen, Waverley, M. Geraghty, Raetihi,

J. B. S. Dudding, Marton (associate member).

WAIRARAPA LAND SETTLEMENT COMMITTEE Commissioner of Crown Lands, Wellington (Chairman), E. McAnulty, Eketahuna, R. L. McKinstry, Te Wharau, Masterton.

MARLBOROUGH LAND SETTLEMENT COMMITTEE Commissioner of Crown Lands, Blenheim (Chairman), A. H. Nees, Hillersden, L. S. Jellyman, Rapaura,

G. L. Rogers, Manaroa (associate member).

NELSON LAND SETTLEMENT COMMITTEE

Commissioner of Crown Lands, Nelson (Chairman), C. P. Reilly, Takaka, J. O'Regan, Cronadun

WESTLAND LAND SETTLEMENT COMMITTEE Commissioner of Crown Lands, Hokitika (Chairman), W. Clayton, Ahaura, A. F. Clark, Wataroa.

NORTH CANTERBURY LAND SETTLEMENT COMMITTEE Commissioner of Crown Lands, Christchurch (Chairman), C. G. Cran, Bayfields, Hororata,

L. R. King, Waipara,

SOUTH CANTERBURY LAND SETTLEMENT COMMITTEE Commissioner of Crown Lands, Christchurch (Chairman), W. A. Mackintosh, Fairlie, J. J. Gregan, Waimate.

EASTERN OTAGO LAND SETTLEMENT COMMITTEE, Commissioner of Crown Lands, Dunedin (Chairman), J. S Adams, Otekaike, J. A. Coll, Balclutha.

CENTRAL OTAGO LAND SETTLEMENT COMMITTEE Commissioner of Crown Lands, Dunedin (Chairman), H. J. Wardell, Kurow, W. J. Inder, Ranfurly.

SOUTHLAND LAND SETTLEMENT COMMITTEE Commissioner of Crown Lands, Invercargill (Chairman), J. A. Beck, Kauana, J. W. Fraser, Ohai.

D. M. GREIG, Director-General of Lands. (L. and S. 22/748/12.)