Notice of Intention to Assign Place Names by the New Zealand Geographical Board

Department of Lands and Survey, Wellington, 19th August, 1949.

Wellington, 19th August, 1949.

PURSUANT to section 12 of the New Zealand Geographic Board Act, 1946, notice is hereby given of the intention of the New Zealand Geographic Board to assign the names set out in the first column of the Schedule hereto to the respective places and features set out and described opposite those names in the second and third columns of the said Schedule.

Pursuant to section 13 of the said Act, any person objecting to any such proposed name may at any time within the period of three months from the date of publication of this notice in the Gazette give to the Secretary of the Board, care of the Lands and Survey Department, P.O. Box 3, Government Buildings, Wellington, notice in writing of his objection, setting out the grounds of the objection.

If no objection is received by the Board within the aforesaid period of three months the Board's decision as to any of the said proposed names will be final.

SCHEDULE

SCHEDULE				
Name.	Description.	Situation and Remarks.		
	North Auckland	LAND DISTRICT		
Herald	Island	Block VII, Waitemata Survey District. Instead of Pine Island.		
Karioitahi	Locality	Block II, Marioro Survey District. Instead of		
Karuhiruhi	Stream	Kariotahi. Block I, Waoku Survey District. Instead of		
Mount Roskill	Post-office	Kuruhiruhi. In Mount Roskill Borough. Instead of Dominion Road South.		
Ngatiwhetu	Locality	Block XV, Muriwhenua Survey District. In vicinity of Lake Wahakari.		
Wahakari	Lake	Block XV, Muriwhenua Survey District.		
Wheki	Stream	Block II, Tangihua Survey District. Instead of Weke.		
SOUTH AUCKLAND LAND DISTRICT				
Ataahua	Gorge	Block XV, Rotorua Survey		
Atiu	Island	District. Near Tarukenga Railway-station. In Mercury Group. Larger of two islands between Great		
		Mercury and Red Mercury Islands		
Heaphy Terrace	Post-office	In Fairfield, a suburb of Hamilton.		
Hinehopu	Post-office	Block IX, Rotoma Survey District.		
Hururu	Stream	Rotoiti Survey District. Tributary of Kaituna River.		
Kinleith	Locality	Instead of Huruhuru. Block XII, Patetere South Survey District. Site of Kinleith Mills.		
Langmuir	Trig	Block VI, Tapapa Survey District. Instead of New		
Moanatuatua	Swamp	Mangawhero. Blocks XV and XVI, Hamilton Survey District. Swampy area between Te Awamutu		
Onaia	Stream	and Cambridge. Rotoiti and Maketu Survey Districts.		
Rotoehu Forest	Village	Block IX, Waihi South Survey District.		
Ruawahia	Peak	Block IX, Ruawahia Survey District. Middle peak of		
Tarawera	Mountain	Mount Tarawera. Block IX, Ruawahia Survey District. This name applies also to the south-western		
Te Ahipukahu	Stream	peak of the mountain. Block XVI, Rotorua Survey		
Wahanga	Peak	District. Block IX, Ruawahia Survey District. North-eastern peak of Mount Tarawera.		
$\epsilon_{ij} = 0$	GISBORNE LAN	ND DISTRICT		
Waioeka	Survey district, parish, locality river, telephon office, &c.	, Waioeka Survey District.		
	HAWKES BAY L			
Kahuranaki	Trig. and Crown Grant District			

Name.	Description.	Situation and Remarks.
	Wellington La	
Mangapunipuni	Stream	Block I, Nukumaru Survey District. Instead of Mangapuni.
	NELSON LAND	DISTRICT
Arthur	Range	Tasman, Wangapeka, Mount Arthur, Flora, and
		Kaiteriteri Survey Districts.
		Extending from Wangapeka Saddle in Tasman Survey
		District through Mount Arthur to where the
		Richmond-Collingwood main highway crosses the
	,	Takaka Hills in Kaiteriteri
Broken	Creek	Survey District. Lyell Survey District. Flows
		into Stern Creek, a tributary of the Mokihinui River.
Bryant	Range	Rintoul, Waimea, Maungatapu, Wakapouaka, and Whanga-
		moa Survey Districts. Also
		in Heringa, Wakamarina, and Tennyson Survey
		Districts, Marlborough. Extending from Old Man
		Peak and passing through
		Mount Starveall, Mount Stewart, Maungatapu,
		Saddle Hill, Mount Duppa, Rai Saddle, and Croisilles
Croisilles	Harbour, peak,	Peak to Cape Soucis.
	&c.	Whangamoa Survey District. Instead of Croixelles.
Enid	Peak	Spenser Survey District. Also in Block VI, Maling Survey
		District, Canterbury. Instead of Aeneid.
Hawks	Crag	Block VIII, Ohika Survey
Murchison	Township	District. Block I, Tutaki Survey
•		District. Instead of Hampden.
Peel	Range	Harapaki and Anatoki Survey
Della 1	D	Districts. Extending from Mount Peel to Aorere Peak.
Richmond .	Range	Motupiko and Rintoul Survey Districts. Also in Raglan,
		Patriarch, Pine Valley, and Onamalutu Survey Districts,
		Marlborough. Extending from Tophouse Saddle in
	•	Motupiko Survey District
		through Bushy Top, Rintoul, Old Man, Richmond, Fish-
		tail, and Baldy Peaks to Mount Riley in Onamalutu
Stern .	Creek	Survey District. Lyell Survey District. Tribu-
		tary of Mokihinui River.
Thorn	Creek	Lyell Survey District. Tribu- tary of Newton River.
Tucker	Creek	Lyell Survey District. Tribu- tary of Newton River.
	MARLBOROUGH LA	AND DISTRICT
Arapawa Bay	Post-office	Block VIII, Linkwater Survey
Bryant	Range	District Heringa, Wakamarina, and
		Tennyson Survey Districts.
		Also in Rintoul, Waimea, Maungatapu, Wakapouaka,
•		and Whangamoa Survey Districts, Nelson. Extend-
		ing from Old Man Peak and passing through Mount Star-
	-	veall, Mount Stewart,
		Maungatapu, Saddle Hill, Mount Duppa, Rai Saddle,
		and Croisilles Peak to Cape Soucis.
Richmond	Range	Raglan, Patriarch, Pine Valley,
		and Onamalutu Survey Districts. Also Motupiko
		and Rintoul Survey Districts, Nelson. Extend-
		ing from Tophouse Saddle
		in Motupiko Survey District through Bushy Top, Rintoul,
		Old Man, Richmond, Fishtail, and Baldy Peaks to
		Mount Riley in Onamalutu Survey District.
The Brothers	Telegraph-office	On the Brothers, Block XXII,
		Gore Survey District. Instead of Brothers.
		stead of Brothers.