The Hawkes Bay Regiment-

Lieutenant R. L. Paterson, from the Reserve of Officers, Sup-plementary List, to be Lieutenant, with seniority from 18th May,

1948. Dated 1st May, 1949. Lieutenant G. R. Black, from the Reserve of Officers, Supplementary List, to be Lieutenant, with seniority from 25th May, 1948. Dated 1st May, 1949.

The Canterbury Regiment-

Captain G. F. Dunne, from the Retired List, to be Captain, with seniority from 11th December, 1946. Dated 1st May, 1949. Lieutenant D. W. C. Jones, from the Reserve of Officers, Sup-plementary List, to be Lieutenant, with seniority from 10th August, 1947. Dated 1st May, 1949. Lieutenant R. E. Hiatt, from the Retired List, to be Lieutenant, with seniority from 9th Espirary, 1940. Dated 1st May, 1949.

with seniority from 9th February, 1949. Dated 1st May, 1949.

The Royal N.Z. Army Service Corps-

Captain G. A. E. Hook, from the Reserve of Officers, Supple-mentary List, to be Captain, with seniority from 2nd July, 1943. Dated 1st May, 1949. Captain W. R. Blanch, from the Reserve of Officers, Supple-mentary List, to be Captain, with seniority from 8th January, 1946. Dated 1st May, 1949. Captain G. W. Lyon, from the Reserve of Officers, Supplementary List, to be Captain, with seniority from 2nd Neuropher 1946.

List, to be Captain, with seniority from 22nd November, 1946. Dated 1st May, 1949.

Dated 1st May, 1949.
Temp. Captain G. H. Lloyd, from the Reserve of Officers,
Supplementary List, to be Captain, with seniority from 8th January,
1948. Dated 1st May, 1949.
Lieutenant K. R. D. Drunmond, B.E.M., from the Reserve of
Officers, Supplementary List, to be Lieutenant, with seniority from
19th March, 1948. Dated 1st May, 1949.
Lieutenant P. R. Weir, from the Reserve of Officers, Supplementary List, to be Lieutenant, with seniority from 16th December,
1948. Dated 1st May, 1949.

General List-

The Royal N.Z. Artillery-

Lieutenant and Quartermaster H. Dale, from the Retired List, to be Lieutenant, with seniority from 10th March, 1946. Dated 1st May, 1949.

The Royal N.Z. Army Service Corps-

Temp. Captain R. D. Hayes, from the Reserve of Officers, Supplementary List, to be Captain, with seniority from 5th April, 1947. Dated 1st May, 1949. 2nd Lieutenant R. A. Witbrock, B.E.M., from the Retired List, to be Lieutenant, with seniority from 4th March, 1947. Dated 1st

to be Lieutenant, with seniority from the Reserve of Officers, Lieutenant T. J. Chamberlain, from the Reserve of Officers, Supplementary List, to be Lieutenant, with seniority from 2nd September, 1947. Dated 1st May, 1949. Temp. Lieutenant H. H. McL. Elliott, from the Reserve of Officers, Supplementary List, to be Lieutenant, with seniority from 2nd February, 1948. Dated 1st May, 1949. Lieutenant J. S. Davey, from the Reserve of Officers, Supple-mentary List. to be Lieutenant, with seniority from 31st March,

mentary List, to be Lieutenant, with seniority from 31st March, 1948. Dated 1st May, 1949.
Lieutenant G. W. Kenning, from the Reserve of Officers, Sup-

Lieutenant G. W. Kenning, from the Reserve of Officers, Supplementary List, to be Lieutenant, with seniority from 17th April, 1948.
 Lieutenant M. L. O'Sullivan, from the Reserve of Officers, Supplementary List, to be Lieutenant, with seniority from 12th May, 1948. Dated 1st May, 1949.

Supplementary List-

Major R. Gapes is posted to the Retired List. Dated 3rd August, 1949.

Temp. Captain M. A. Knyvett is posted to the Retired List with the rank of Captain. Dated 1st August, 1949. Captain W. Holmes is posted to the Retired List. Dated 3rd

August, 1949. Temp. Lieutenant P. L. Phillipps is posted to the Retired List. Dated 3rd with the rank of Lieutenant. Dated 3rd August, 1949. Lieutenant J. S. Osborne resigns his commission. Dated 11th

August, 1949. 2nd Lieutenant (temp. Captain) A. V. W. Martin is posted to the Retired List with the rank of Captain. Dated 24th August, 1949.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Appointment, Promotions, and Transfer of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Air Department, Wellington, 5th September, 1949.

H IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointment, promotions, and transfers of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force :---

REGULAR AIR FORCE

Transfers and Promotions

70028 Squadron Leader (temp.) William Glanville WOODWARD, B.E., A.R.A.E.S., is transferred from the General Duties Branch to the Technical Branch, Engineer Division, and is promoted to the temporary rank of Wing Commander. 70027 Squadron Leader (temp.) Stuart Maxwell KIRKCALDIE, D.E. A.S. is transferred from the General Duties Branch

B.E., A.R.Ac.S., is transferred from the General Duties Branch to the Technical Branch, Engineer Division, and is promoted to the temporary rank of Wing Commander.

Dated 12th August, 1949.

Administrative and Supply Branch Appointment

Equipment Division-

73891 Noel Hugh TOUSSAINT is granted a short-service com-mission of five years in the substantive rank of Flying Officer, with seniority as from 15th August, 1946. Dated 15th August, 1949. F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Member of Land Valuation Committee Appointed

Department of Justice, Wellington, 12th September, 1949. HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint.

appoint William Hector Carson, Esquire,

of Dunedin, to be Deputy Chairman of the Otago Land Valuation Committee

H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice.

Members of Licensing Committee Appointed

Department of Justice,

Wellington, 8th September, 1949. II IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint—

Malcolm Ernest Jenkins, Esquire, and Curll Alexander Gordon Catto, Esquire

to be members of the Licensing Committee for the District of Selwyn. H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice.

Stipendiary Magistrate Authorized to Exercise Jurisdiction in Children's Court

> Department of Justice. Wellington, 12th September, 1949.

IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to

authorize Jim Hessel, Esquire, S.M.,

to exercise jurisdiction in the Children's Court established at Wellington. H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice.

Members of the Aria Rabbit Board Appointed. (Notice No. Ag. 4758)

Department of Agriculture, Wellington, 8th September, 1949.

H IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased, in pursuance of section 29 of the Rabbit Nuisance Amendment Act, 1947, to appoint, on the 7th day of September, 1949

Richard Harrison Cheesman, George William Higgins, Cyril Douglas Hobern, Harold Albert Tucker, and

Frederick Dean Walker

to be members of the Aria Rabbit Board.

EDWARD CULLEN, Minister of Agriculture. (Ag. 64/1/190.)

Member of the Aria Rabbit Board Appointed .---(Notice No. Ag. 4759)

P URSUANT to section 37 of the Rabbit Nuisance Act, 1928, the Minister of Agriculture doth hereby appoint.--George Xavier Kent,

being an Inspector appointed under Part I of the said Act, to be a member of the Aria Rabbit Board.

Dated at Wellington, this 8th day of September, 1949. EDWARD CULLEN, Minister of Agriculture.

(Ag. 64/1/190.)

Shipping and Seamen Amendment Act.—Appointment of Inspector of Seamen for the Port of Wellington

N pursuance of the provisions of section 7 of the Shipping and L Seamen Amendment Act, 1913, I, Frederick Hackett, Minister of Marine, do hereby appoint

James Gilmour Roberts

to be an Inspector of Seamen for the port of Wellington. Dated at Wellington, this 12th day of September, 1949.

F. HACKETT, Minister of Marine.