Members of the Culverden Rabbit Board Appointed .- (Notice No. Ag. 4771)

Department of Agriculture Wellington, 15th September, 1949. HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased, in pursuance of section 29 of the Rabbit Nuisance Amendment Act, 1947, to appoint, on the 14th day of September, 1949— Ernest Henry George Burrows, James Daniel Dwyer, Robert Anthony Hoban, William Allen Lake, and Allan George Wilson to be members of the Culverden Rabbit Board. EDWARD CULLEN, Minister of Agriculture. (Ag. 64/1/214.)

Members of the Pahau Rabbit Board Appointed.—(Notice No. Ag. 4772)

Department of Agriculture, Wellington, 15th September, 1949. H^{1S} Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased, in pursuance of section 29 of the Rabbit Nuisance Amendment Act, 1947, to appoint, on the 14th day of September, 1949— Travis Alfred Barrett, Ferris William Browne, William Dampier McRae,

Charles Arthur Nurse, and Godfrey Oliver Rutherford to be members of the Pahau Rabbit Board.

EDWARD CULLEN, Minister of Agriculture. (Ag. 64/1/213.)

Members of the Hanmer Rabbit Board Appointed .- (Notice No. Ag. 4773)

Department of Agriculture Wellington, 15th September, 1949. HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased, in pursuance of section 29 of the Rabbit Nuisance Amendment Act, 1947, to appoint, on the 14th day of September, 1949— Derek Hanmer Atkinson,

Wybert Leon Orange, Bernard Savill, James Lochhead Stevenson, and Ronald Leslie Sutherland to be members of the Hanmer Rabbit Board. EDWARD CULLEN, Minister of Agriculture.

(Ag. 64/1/218.)

Member of Rabbit Boards Appointed.-(Notice No. Ag. 4774)

PURSUANT to section 37 of the Rabbit Nuisance Act, 1928, the Minister of Agriculture doth hereby appoint— Guv Wilmot-Buxton.

being an Inspector appointed under Part I of the said Act, to be a member of the Hanmer, Pahau, Culverden, Amuri, and Cheviot Rabbit Boards.

Dated at Wellington, this 15th day of September, 1949.

EDWARD CULLEN, Minister of Agriculture.

(Ag. 64/1/92.)

 $\label{eq:constraint} Transmitting ~ and ~ Receiving ~ Officers ~ for ~ the ~ Service ~ of ~ Notices ~ by \\ Telegraph$

General Post Office, Wellington, 14th September, 1949.

Frederick George Reed, Deputy Chief Postmaster, Auckland. Vincent Peter Scaletti, Postmaster, Rotorua. Alexander Semple, Postmaster, Waipukurau.

F. HACKETT, Minister of Telegraphs.

Appointment of Honorary Fishery Officer

IN pursuance and exercise of the power and authority conferred upon me by section 29 of the Statutes Amendment Act, 1946, I, Frederick Hackett, Minister of Marine, do hereby appoint Cyril George Gadsby,

of Karamea, to be an Honorary Fishery Officer for the purposes of Part I of the Fisheries Act, 1908, to hold office until the 31st day

of March. 1950. Dated at Wellington, this 19th day of September, 1949. F. HACKETT, Minister of Marine.

Notification of Exemption from Renters' Quota Under the Cinematograph Films Act, 1928

Department of Internal Affairs, Wellington, 16th September, 1949.

T is hereby notified that in accordance with the authority con-tained in section 29 of the Cinematograph Films Act, 1928, exemption has been granted to each of the following named renters in respect of the film-renting season for the year 1948-49 from the provision of the aforesaid Act, which requires every licensed renter to acquire a stated proportion of British films :--

Columbia Pictures Proprietary, Limited. Metro Goldwyn Mayer (N.Z.), Limited. Paramount Films, Limited. Raramount Finns, Limited. R.K.O. Radio Pictures (Australasia) Pty., Limited. Natan Scheinwald and Company, Limited. United Artists (Australasia) Pty., Limited. Universal Pictures Pty., Limited. Warner Brothers Pictures (N.Z.), Limited. W. E. PARRY, Minister of Internal Affairs.

(I.A. 64/28.)

Despatch : Nobel Peace Prize, 1950

Department of Internal Affairs,

Wellington, 14th September, 1949. THE following despatch, received from the Secretary of State for Commonwealth Relations, is published for general information.

W. E. PARRY, Minister of Internal Affairs.

Commonwealth Relations Office, Downing Street, 17th August, 1949.

NEW ZEALAND

Circular despatch C. No. 11. Sir

With reference to Mr. Noel-Baker's despatch of the 30th July, 1949, Circular C. No. 19, I have the honour to transmit the accompanying copies of a circular issued by the Nobel Committee of the Norwegian Parliament regarding nominations for the Nobel Peace Prize for 1950.

It would be appreciated if the conditions of the prize could be made known to those bodies and persons who are qualified to nominate candidates.

I have the honour to be, Sir,

Your most obedient humble servant,

Addison. For the Secretary of State.

The Minister of External Affairs, New Zealand.

NOBEL PEACE PRIZE

NOBEL PEACE PRIZE ALL proposals of candidates for the Nobel Peace Prize, which is to be distributed December 10th, 1950, must, in order to be taken into consideration, be laid before the Nobel Committee of the Norwegian Parliament by a duly qualified person before the first of February of the same year. Any one of the following persons is held to be duly qualified : (a) Members and late members of the Nobel Committee of the Norwegian Parliament, as well as the advisers appointed at the Norwegian Nobel Institute ; (b) Members of Parliament and Members of Government of the different States, as well as Members of the Interparliamentary Union; (c) Members of the International Arbitration Court at the Hague; (d) Members and Associates of the International Peace Bureau; (e) Members and Associates of Political Science and of Law, of History and of Philosophy; and (g) Persons who have received the Nobel Peace Prize. The Nobel Peace Prize may also be accorded to institutions or associations.

or associations. According to the Code of Statutes, § 8, the grounds upon which

According to the Code of Statutes, § 8, the grounds upon which any proposal is made must be stated and handed in along with such papers and other documents as may therein be referred to. According to § 3, every written work, to qualify for a prize, must have appeared in print. For particulars, qualified persons are requested to apply to the Office of the Nobel Committee of the Norwegian Parliament, Drammensvei 19, Oslo.