The Canterbury Regiment-

Major A. P. Boyle, from the Retired List, to be Major, with

seniority from 28th September, 1947, and is seconded to the Staff Officer Pool. Dated 1st December, 1948.

Temp. Captain T. S. Gillies, M.C., 1st Battalion, is posted to the Retired List with the rank of Captain. Dated 7th October,

2nd Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant) A. M. Vile, 1st Battalion, is posted to the Retired List with the rank of Lieutenant. Dated 6th October, 1949.

The Nelson, Marlborough, and West Coast Regiment-

The notice published in the N.Z. Gazette No. 58, dated 6th October, 1949, relative to Temp. Major C. F. S. Caldwell, is hereby cancelled and the following substituted:—

"Temp. Major C. F. S. Caldwell is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, Regimental List, 3rd Armoured Regiment, R.N.Z.A.C, with the rank of Major, with seniority from 20th September, 1945, and remains seconded to the Nelson College Cadets, Area 9. Dated 1st May, 1949."

The Otago and Southland Regiment-

Temp. Lieutenant-Colonel J. P. Cook, O.B.E., from the Reserve of Officers, Supplementary List, to be Lieutenant-Colonel, with seniority from 4th August, 1947, and is seconded to the Staff Officer Pool. Dated 1st December, 1948.

With reference to the notice published in the N.Z. Gazette No. 49, dated 9th September, 1948, relative to the posting to the Retired List of Hon. Captain (Bandmaster) L. O. Asten, E.D., 1st Battalion, for "Dated 27th August, 1948," substitute "Dated 1st October, 1948."

Temp. Captain G. C. Tapper, 1st Battalion, is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, The Royal N.Z. Infantry Corps, with the rank of Captain, with seniority from 15th December, 1942. Dated 1st May, 1949.

THE ROYAL N.Z. ARMY ORDNANCE CORPS

Regular Force-

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) S. M. King to be Captain. Dated 17th May, 1949.

RESERVE OF OFFICERS

Regimental List-

1st Armoured Regiment, R.N.Z.A.C. (Waikato)-

Major D. H. C. Wilson, E.D., is posted to the Retired List. Dated 10th August, 1949.

3rd Armoured Regiment, R.N.Z.A.C.—

Temp. Major R. B. F. Eastgate, from the Reserve of Officers, Supplementary List, to be Major, with seniority from 19th January, 1948. Dated 1st May, 1949. Captain J. A. McPhail, from the Reserve of Officers, Supplementary List, to be Captain, with seniority from 10th April, 1948.

Dated 1st May, 1949.

Dated 1st May, 1949.

2nd Lieutenant A. B. Langley, from the Reserve of Officers, Supplementary List, to be 2nd Lieutenant, with seniority from 26th May, 1948. Dated 1st May, 1949.

Lieutenant J. H. Dines is posted to the Retired List with the rank of Captain. Dated 19th October, 1949.

Lieutenant H. J. Vial is posted to the Retired List. Dated 7th October, 1949.

October, 1949.

The North Auckland Regiment-

Major R. Wright, from the Reserve of Officers, Supplementary List, to be Major, with seniority from 14th July, 1948. Dated 1st May, 1949.

The Wellington West Coast and Taranaki Regiment-

With reference to the notices published in the N.Z. Gazette No. 59, dated 13th October, 1949, relating to the appointment of officers to the Reserve of Officers, Regimental List, The Wellington West Coast and Taranaki Regiment, for "Lieutenant D. F. C. Saxon," substitute "Lieutenant D. F. C. Saxton."

The Canterbury Regiment-

Captain F. J. Tempers is posted to the Retired List with the rank of Major. Dated 4th October, 1949.

Captain C. A. Noble is posted to the Retired List. Dated 12th

October, 1949.

Lieutenant C. J. E. Henty is posted to the Retired List with the rank of Captain. Dated 8th October, 1949.

The Otago and Southland Regiment-

Captain A. J. Gillman is posted to the Retired List. Dated

15th October, 1949.
Lieutenant G. W. Lane resigns his commission. Dated 11th October, 1949.

Lieutenant J. A. Dunning is posted to the Retired List. Dated 18th October, 1949.

2nd Lieutenant G. A. Hislop is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, The Royal N.Z. Infantry Corps, with the rank of 2nd Lieutenant, with seniority from 27th October, 1944. Dated 1st May, 1949.

The Royal N.Z. Army Service Corps-

Temp. Captain F. S. Barraclough, from the Reserve of Officer Supplementary List, to be Captain, with seniority from 26th April, 1948. Dated 1st May, 1949. The Royal N.Z. Electrical and Mechanical Engineers-

Captain G. R. Andrews, M.C., D.C.M., from the Reserve of Officers, Supplementary List, to be Captain, with seniority from 27th June, 1946. Dated 1st May, 1949.

The Royal N.Z. Infantry Corps-

Temp. Lieutenant-Colonel J. McRae, from the Reserve of Officers, Temp. Lieutenant-Colonel J. McRae, from the Reserve of Officers, Supplementary List, to be Lieutenant-Colonel, with seniority from 8th April, 1948. Dated 1st May, 1949.

Major J. W. McArthur, M.C., from the Reserve of Officers, Supplementary List, to be Major, with seniority from 27th December, 1947. Dated 1st May, 1949.

Temp. Lieutenant J. R. Caradus, from the Reserve of Officers, Supplementary List, to be Lieutenant, with seniority from 18th July, 1945. Dated 1st May, 1949.

Temp. Lieutenant J. Hall, from the Reserve of Officers, Supplementary List, to be Lieutenant, with seniority from 20th April, 1948. Dated 1st May, 1949.

The Royal N.Z. Army Service Corps-

Captain J. M. Fitzgerald, from the Reserve of Officers, Supplementary List, to be Captain, with seniority from 27th May, 1947. Dated 1st May, 1949.

The Royal N.Z. Electrical and Mechanical Engineers—

Captain E. M. McSherry, from the Reserve of Officers, Supplementary List, to be Captain, with seniority from 6th May, 1947. Dated 1st May, 1949.

Supplementary List-

Temp. Lieutenant-Colonel E. J. Anderson, M.C., is posted to the Retired List with the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel. Dated 23rd September, 1949.

Captain W. J. Gallen is posted to the Retired List. Dated 11th October, 1949.

Captain E. O. Knewstubb is posted to the Retired List. Dated

14th October, 1949.
Captain I. McK. Chandler is posted to the Retired List. Dated 18th October, 1949.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) K. C. McDonald resigns his commission. Dated 11th October, 1949.

Temp. Lieutenant A. J. D. Dearsley is posted to the Retired List with the rank of Lieutenant. Dated 7th October, 1949.

Temp. Lieutenant A. B. Jones resigns his commission. Dated

11th October, 1949. Lieutenant W. G. McClymont is posted to the Retired List.

Dated 12th October, 1949.

Temp. Lieutenant H. W. Simpson relinquishes his commission, Dated 19th October, 1949.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Appointing Maori Wardens Under the Maori Social and Economic Advancement Act, 1945

PURSUANT to section 11 of the Maori Social and Economic Advancement Act, 1945, I do hereby appoint the persons named in the first column of the Schedule hereunder to be Maori Wardens for the Tribal Districts shown in the second column of the said Schedule.

SCHEDULE

First Column.		Second Column.
William Smith		Whanganui South Tribal District.
Samuel P. Arahanga		Kurahaupo North Tribal District.
Keremeta Purukamu,	alias	_
Kelly Bluegum		Katikati Tribal District.
Barlow Cooper		Kahungunu Tribal District.
Charles King		Kahungunu Tribal District.
Ponty te Kauru		Kahungunu Tribal District.
Henare te Huiki		Kahungunu Tribal District.
Sam Rurehe		Kahungunu Tribal District.
Kaaka Wiki		Aupouri Tribal District.

Dated at Wellington, this 28th day of October, 1949.

E. T. TIRIKATENE, For the Minister of Maori Affairs.

(M.A. 35/1/10.)

Member of Licensing Committees Appointed

Department of Justice Wellington, 1st November, 1949.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Herbert Jenner Wily, Esquire, S.M.,

to be a member of the Licensing Committees for the Districts of Auckland, North Shore, and Franklin, vice J. H. Luxford, Esquire, S.M., as from the 18th October, 1949.

H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice,