Honorary Inspector of Scenic Reserves Appointed

#### B. C. FREYBERG, Governor-General

TN pursuance and exercise of the powers conferred by section four of the Scenery Preservation Act, 1908, I, Lieutenant-General Sir Bernard Cyril Freyberg, the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, do hereby appoint

Kenneth Richard Lye

to be an Honorary Inspector under the said Act.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, this 15th day of February, 1949.

C. F. SKINNER, Minister in Charge of Scenery Preservation. (L and S. H.O. 4/323; D.O. X111/47.)

Vesting the Control of a Scenic Reserve in the Rangitikei County Council

# B. C. FREYBERG, Governor-General

IN pursuance and exercise of the powers and authorities conferred upon him by section thirteen of the Scenery Preservation Act, 1908 (hereinafter referred to as the said Act), His Excellency the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand doth hereby vest the control of the Rangiwaea Scenic Reserve described in the Schedule hereto (being land reserved under the said Act) in the Rangitikei County Council, subject to the conditions hereinafter contained, that is to say :-

1. The period for which the control of the reserve is hereby vested shall be five years from the date hereof, unless the reservation is previously altered or revoked under the said Act.

2. The said Council shall prepare a report each year ending on the thirty-first day of March, together with a statement of receipts and expenditure in connection with the said reserve. Such report and statement shall be sent to the Minister charged with the deprivation of the said Act as soon as possible after the along of the administration of the said Act as soon as possible after the close of the

3. The said Council shall control the said reserve in accordance with the provisions of the said Act, and of the regulations made thereunder.

### SCHEDULE

WELLINGTON LAND DISTRICT.—RANGIWAEA SCENIC RESERVE Section 22, Block II, Maungakaretu Survey District: Area, 7 acres 2 roods, more or less.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, this 15th day of February, 1949.

F. JONES

For the Minister in Charge of Scenery Preservation. (L. and S. H.O. 4/379; D.O. 13/68.)

# Coroner Appointed

Department of Justice, Wellington, 15th February, 1949.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint appoint

John Walter Snaddon, Esquire, J.P.,

of Napier, to be a Coroner for the Dominion of New Zealand.

H. G. R. MASON, Minister of Justice.

Judge of Assessment Courts for Auckland Districts Appointed

Department of Internal Affairs, Wellington, 14th February, 1949.

H IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased, in terms of section 26 of the Rating Act, 1925, to appoint

Herbert Jenner Wily, Esquire,

Stipendiary Magistrate, of Auckland, to be Judge of the Assessment Courts for the Auckland districts.

W. E. PARRY, Minister of Internal Affairs. (I.A. 100/57.)

# Appointment of Honorary Fishery Officer

IN pursuance and exercise of the power and authority conferred upon me by section 29 of the Statutes Amendment Act, 1946, I, Frederick Hackett, Minister of Marine, do hereby appoint

James Denis Corbov

to be an Honorary Fishery Officer for the purposes of Part I of the Fisheries Act, 1908, to hold office until the 31st day of March, 1950. Dated at Wellington, this 9th day of February, 1949.

F. JONES For the Minister of Marine.  $\begin{array}{lll} \textit{Transmitting} & \textit{and} & \textit{Receiving Officers for the Service of Notices by} \\ & \textit{Telegraph} & \end{array}$ 

General Post Office. Wellington, 14th February, 1949.

Neuronance of the powers conferred upon me by the Post and Telegraph Act, 1928 (hereinafter termed the said Act), and by the regulations made on the 12th May, 1914, and published in the New Zealand Gazette of the 21st May, 1914, the following officers, at the addresses set against their names, are hereby appointed transmitting and receiving officers for the purpose of dealing with all notices by telegraph sent under the said Act or regulations, and of significantly careby extificates in relative to the carrier and of signing such certificates in relation to the service of any such notices as are required or authorized to be signed or given under the said Act or the regulations aforesaid:-

George Ernest Canham, Senior Supervisor, Telegraph Branch, Timaru.

Walter Douglas Ferguson, Senior Supervisor, Telegraph Branch, Invercargill.

EDWARD CULLEN. For the Minister of Telegraphs.

### Appointments in the Public Service

Office of the Public Service Commission, Wellington, 14th February, 1949.

☐HE Public Service Commission has made the following appointments in the Public Service:

#### Henry Anderson

to be an Inspector for the purposes of the Fertilizers Act, 1927, on and from the 3rd day of May, 1948.

### Eric Robilliard Graham

to be Registrar of Electors and Returning Officer for the Electoral District of Nelson for the purposes of the Electoral Act, 1927, and its amendments, and Returning Officer for the Nelson Licensing District for the purposes of the Licensing Act, 1908, and its amendments, on and from the 21st day of December, 1948.

### Harold John Worthington

to be Clerk and Deputy Registrar at Auckland of the Supreme Court of New Zealand for the purposes of the Judicature Act, 1908, on and from the 2nd day of February, 1949.

John Robert Clapham, Leslie Bennett Dicker, Robert Wilson Emmett, Russell Kinnear Johnson, David Wallace McCallum, George John Wood Mutch, Clarence Leonard Napier, David Alexander Richardson, John Allen Webber, and Ralph Edwin Yates

to be Inspectors for the purposes of the Orchard and Garden Diseases Act, 1928, on and from the 1st day of December, 1948.

William Henry August, Robert Gray Buchan, Bruce Lutton Grindell, Philip John Lamason, Alexander John Langford, Alexander John Langtord, Clifford Alexander Martin, Robert Martin Moir, James Frederick Munting, David William Rench, Dudley Howard Rider, Donald Robert Thomson, Graeme Bernard Trolove, Alan George Armour, Arthur John Begg, Desmond Bernard Bohan, Raymond Allen Brooks, Clifford Hague, Pendrell Durham Hall, Bruce Riddell Henderson, Norman Lees Kane, Raymond Frederick McGreal, George James Peek, and John Henry Wallace

to be Inspectors for the purposes of the Meat Act, 1939, on and from the 1st day of January, 1949.

# Keith George Beresford Wilson

to be an Inspector for the purposes of the Meat Act, 1939, the Stock Act, 1908, the Rabbit Nuisance Act, 1928, and the Noxious Weeds Act, 1928, on and from the 1st day of January, 1949.

Horace Anzac Marshall, Herbert James Dale, Richard King Cartwright, Rawiri Jack Allen McKissock, Michael Henry Coppell, David Burnie Allison, Archie Gordon Campbell, Charles John James Corp, and Arthur Stanhope Anderson

to be Inspectors for the purposes of the Dairy Industry Act, 1908, on and from the 1st day of December, 1948.

L. A. ATKINSON, Secretary.