Territorial Force-

The Wellington West Coast and Taranaki Regiment-

Ian Murray Davis to be 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) and is seconded to the Wanganui Collegiate School Cadets. Dated 5th April, 1950.

The undermentioned 2nd Lieutenants to be Lieutenants and remain seconded to the Feilding Agricultural High School Cadets:

C. W. Lea. R. L. Hughes.

Dated 1st May, 1950.

The notice published in the New Zealand Gazette No. 6, dated 5th February, 1948, relative to the appointment of Leonard Conrad Meiklejohn, is hereby cancelled.

The Canterbury Regiment—

Temp. Captain A. G. Gurnsey ceases to be seconded to Christs College Cadets and is posted to the Retired List with the rank of Captain. Dated 18th May, 1950.

The Otago and Southland Regiment-

Captain W. G. Ryder, 1st Battalion, is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, The Royal N.Z. Infantry Corps, with the rank of Captain, with seniority from 18th November, 1945. Dated

24th May, 1950.
With reference to the notice published in the New Zealand Gazette No. 18, dated 30th March, 1950, relative to the promotion of 2nd Lieutenant W. K. Coatsworth to Lieutenant, for "Dated 16th January, 1949", substitute "Dated 26th August, 1949".

The undermentioned to be 2nd Lieutenants (on prob.) and are seconded to the Otago Boys' High School Cadets :—

Norman Leslie Wilson. Dated 10th February, 1950. Thomas Ernest French. Dated 10th March, 1950.

THE ROYAL N.Z. ARMY MEDICAL CORPS

Territorial Force-

Major (temp. Lieutenant-Colonel) J. A. Paterson, E.D., M.B., Ch.B., is posted to the Retired List with the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel. Dated 8th June, 1950.

Major J. A. W. Roberton, M.B., B.Chir. (Camb.), M.R.C.S. (Eng.), L.R.C.P. (Lond.), is posted to the Retired List. Dated 8th June,

Lieutenant I. R. Gray, M.B., Ch.B., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, The Royal N.Z. Army Medical Corps, with the rank of Lieutenant, with seniority from 6th September, 1939. Dated 9th June, 1950.

THE ROYAL N.Z. ELECTRICAL AND MECHANICAL ENGINEERS

Major J. M. Wilson, from the Reserve of Officers, Supplementary List, to be Major, with seniority from 18th October, 1946, and is appointed O.C., 3rd Infantry Workshops (Composite), R.N.Z.E.M.E. Dated 16th January, 1950.

THE ROYAL N.Z. DENTAL CORPS

Territorial Force-

Douglas John Hodgson, B.D.S., to be Lieutenant (on prob.) and is posted to the 2nd Mobile Dental Unit, R.N.Z.D.C. Dated 28th May, 1950.

THE ROYAL N.Z. CHAPLAINS DEPARTMENT

Territorial Force-

The Rev. J. W. Parker, Chaplain, 4th Class, Methodist, from The Rev. J. W. Parker, Chaplain, 4th Class, Methodist, from the Reserve of Officers, Regimental List, The Royal N.Z. Chaplains Department, to be Chaplain, 4th Class, Area I, with seniority from 24th October, 1945. Dated 1st May, 1950.

The Rev. William John O'Mahony to be Chaplain, 4th Class, Roman Catholic, Area 9. Dated 8th May, 1950.

The Rev. William Bell Watt to be Chaplain, 4th Class, Presbyterian, Area 11. Dated 23rd May, 1950.

RESERVE OF OFFICERS

Regimental List—

1st Armoured Regiment (Waikato) R.N.Z.A.C.-

Lieutenant R. A. McGougan is posted to the Retired List with the rank of Captain. Dated 8th June, 1950. Lieutenant M. Henry is posted to the Retired List. Dated

8th June, 1950.

Lieutenant D. D. Nesbitt, D.C.M., is posted to the Retired List.

Dated 8th June, 1950.

Lieutenant A. P. Story is posted to the Retired List. Dated

8th June, 1950.

2nd Lieuténant E. D. Wilkinson is posted to the Retired List with the rank of Captain. Dated 8th June, 1950.

The Hawke's Bay Regiment-

Ronald Geoffrey Haggett, late Temp. Major, The Royal Northumberland Fusiliers, to be Captain, with seniority from 18th March, 1945. Dated 1st May, 1949.

The Royal N.Z. Army Medical Corps-

Major J. H. Fahey, M.B., Ch.B., is posted to the Retired List. Dated 27th May, 1950.

2nd General Hospital, R.N.Z.A.M.C.—

Campbell Heywood Maclaurin, M.B., Ch.B., to be Lieutenant. Dated 11th May, 1950.

Supplementary List

of June, 1950.

Captain N. J. McIlroy, M.B., Ch.B., resigns his commission. Dated 22nd May, 1950.

Lieutenant P. W. Gresson is posted to the Retired List with the rank of Captain. Dated 12th May, 1950.

T. L. MACDONALD, Minister of Defence.

Legislative Councillors Appointed

Prime Minister's Office, Wellington, 23rd June, 1950.

TIS Excellency the Governor-General, has, in His Majesty's name, summoned-

Leonard Allen Alexander, Esquire, of Waitara, Andrew Henson Allen, Esquire, C.B.E., of Dunedin, Mrs. Cora Louisa Burrell, of Christchurch, Allan Richmond Cockerell, Esquire, of Invercargill, Mrs. Cora Louisa Burrell, of Christchurch,
Allan Richmond Cockerell, Esquire, of Invercargill,
Harold Galt Dickie, Esquire, of Rotorua,
William Phillips Endean, Esquire, of Auckland,
John Alexander Finlayson, Esquire, of Mangapai,
William James Girling, Esquire, C.B.E., of Blenheim,
Mrs. Ethel Marion Gould, M.B.E., of Auckland,
Edwin Henry Staples Hamilton, Esquire, of Christchurch,
Francis Patrick Kelly, Esquire, of Hastings,
Henry Gillies Livingstone, Esquire, of Christchurch,
Garnet Hercules Mackley, Esquire, C.M.G., of Lower Hutt,
Bruce McLeod, Esquire, of Colyton, Feilding,
Robert Thomas McMillan, Esquire, of Irwell,
Oswald Chettle Mazengarb, Esquire, K.C., of Wellington,
David Murdoch, Esquire, of Dunedin,
The Honourable Sir Apirana Turupa Ngata, Kt., of Ruatoria,
Alexander Paterson O'Shea, Esquire, of Wellington,
Hilcote Pitts-Brown, Esquire, of Nelson,
Neill Aylmer Rattray, Esquire, M.B.E., of Waimate,
James Frederick Thompson, Esquire, of Greytown,
Mrs. Agnes Louisa Weston, of Wellington,
Charles Gilbert White, Esquire, O.B.E., of Wellington, and
William Young, Esquire, of Otahuti, Invercargill to the Legislative Council of New Zealand by writs of summons

under the Seal of the Dominion of New Zealand, dated the 22nd day

S. G. HOLLAND, Prime Minister.

 $\begin{array}{c} Appointment\ of\ Members\ of\ the\ Nelson\ Raspberry\ Marketing\\ Committee \end{array}$

PURSUANT to regulation 3 (b) of the Nelson Raspberry Marketing Regulations 1940, made under the Marketing Act, 1936, and the Agriculture (Emergency Powers) Act, 1934, the Minister of Marketing doth hereby appoint:—

Northern Ward

Donald Irving Llewellin, and Alexander William Ryder

Southern Ward

Percy William Quale Fargher, and Owen Douglas Griffith,

to be members of the Nelson Raspberry Marketing Committee established under the said regulations.

Dated at Wellington, this 23rd day of June, 1950.

K. J. HOLYOAKE, Minister of Marketing.

Judge of the Supreme Court Resigns

Department of Justice Wellington, 23rd June, 1950.

IIIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to accept the resignation by

The Honourable Sir David Stanley Smith, Kt.,

of his office as a Judge of the Supreme Court of New Zealand as from the $31\mathrm{st}$ day of May, 1950.

T. CLIFTON WEBB, Minister of Justice.

Appointment of Honorary Child Welfare Officers Under the Child Welfare Act, 1925

Education Department. Wellington, 23rd June, 1950.

pursuance of section 2 of the Child Welfare Act, 1925, I, Ronald Macmillan Algie, Minister of Education, do hereby appoint the following persons as Honorary Child Welfare Officers for the purposes of the said Act, for the year ending 31st March, 1951 :--

Name District. Jones, Reverend John Edward Marsden, George Tuoro .. Patea. .. Kauangaroa Pa.

G. HILDA ROSS, For the Minister of Education.