Appointing Principal Authorities for the Election of Members of Harbour Boards by the Electors of Combined Districts

B. C. FREYBERG, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington, this 18th day of October, 1950

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

WHEREAS it is provided by section 19 of the Harbours Act, 1950 (hereinafter called the said Act), that in any case whereby the said Act or any special Act one or more members of a Harbour Board are to be elected by all or some only of the electors of two or more local authorities jointly (hereinafter referred to as a combined district), the Governor-General shall by Order in Council select and appoint one of those local authorities to be the principal authority for the purposes of such election:

Now, therefore, His Excellency the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, in pursuance and exercise of the power and authority conferred upon him by the said Act, and of all other powers and authorities enabling him in that behalf, and acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council of the said Dominion, doth hereby select and appoint the local authorities set forth in the third column of the Schedule hereto to be the respective principal authorities for the combined districts set forth in the second column of the said Schedule, for the purposes of the elections under the said act of certain members of the Harbour Boards in whose district the combined districts are respectively situated, and doth hereby revoke all other Orders in Council at variance therewith.

SCHEDULE

SCHEDULE		
Name of Board.	Combined District.	Principal Authority Selected and Appointed.
	The City of Auckland and the Island of Waiheke The Boroughs of Devonport, Birkenhead, Takapuna, and Northcote The Boroughs of Newmarket, One Tree Hill, Onehunga, and Ellerslie, and	The Auckland City Council. The Devonport Borough Council. The Onehunga Borough Council.
	the Mount Wellington and Panmure Township Road Districts The Boroughs of Mount Eden, Mount Albert, and Mount Roskill The County of Manukau, and the Boroughs of Manurewa, Papakura,	The Mount Eden Borough Council. The Manukau County Council.
Auckland	Papatoetoe, and Otahuhu, and the Town District of Howick The County of Franklin, the Borough of Pukekohe, and the Town Districts of Tuakau and Waiuku	The Pukekohe Borough Council.
	The County of Waitemata, the Boroughs of Helensville, Henderson, and New Lynn, and the Town District of Glen Eden	The Waitemata County Council.
	The Counties of Waikato, Raglan, and Waipa, the Borough of Huntly, and the Town District of Learnington The City of Hamilton and the Boroughs of Te Awamutu, Cambridge, and	The Raglan County Council. The Hamilton City Council.
Bay of Islands	Ngaruawahia The County of Bay of Islands and the Borough of Kaikohe	The Bay of Islands County Council.
	The City of Invercargill and the Borough of South Invercargill	The Invercargill City Council. The Gore Borough Council. The Southland County Council.
Bluff	of Lumsden and Wyndham The County of Wallace, the Borough of Riverton, and the Town Districts of Nighteaps and Otautau	The Wallace County Council.
$\Re ext{reymouth} \qquad \dots igg\}$	The County of Lake and the Boroughs of Arrowtown and Queenstown The Boroughs of Brunner and Runanga The Boroughs of Hokitika, Kumara, and Ross The Boroughs of Kaiapoi and Rangiora and the Counties of Rangiora, Eyre,	The Lake County Council. The Runanga Borough Council. The Hokitika Borough Council. The Kaiapoi Borough Council.
	and Oxford The Counties of Cheviot, Amuri, Waipara, Kowai, and Ashley The County of Ashburton, the Borough of Ashburton, and the Town District of Tinwald	The Waipara County Council. The Ashburton County Council.
Lyttelton	The Counties of Tawera, Paparua, Malvern, Springs, Ellesmere, Halswell, Selwyn, and Heathcote, and the Town District of Leeston	The Paparua County Council.
	The County of Waimairi and the Borough of Riccarton The Boroughs of Lyttelton and Akaroa and the Counties of Akaroa, Wairewa,	The Waimairi County Council. The Lyttelton Borough Council.
}	and Mount Herbert The Taradale Town District and the Meeanee Riding of the County of Hawke's Bay	The Taradale Town Board.
Napier	The County of Wairoa within the Riding of Mohaka, and that portion of the County of Hawke's Bay, except the Meeanee Riding, within the Harbour District, and of the Town District of Havelock North	The Hawke's Bay County Council.
	The Borough of Waipawa and the County of Waipawa The Borough of Waipukurau and the County of Waipukurau The Boroughs of Inglewood, Stratford, and Eltham Those portions of the Counties of Egmont, Inglewood, and Taranaki within	The Waipawa County Council. The Waipukurau Borough Council. The Stratford Borough Council. The Taranaki County Council.
New Plymouth	the Harbour District Those portions of the Counties of Stratford and Whangamomona within the Harbour District	The Stratford County Council.
	Those portions of the Counties of Eltham and Hawera within the Harbour District	The Eltham County Council.
	The Boroughs of Port Chalmers and West Harbour	The Port Chalmers Borough Council. The Tuapeka County Council.
Otago	The County of Clutha and the Borough of Balclutha The County of Bruce and the Boroughs of Milton and Kaitangata The County of Taieri and the Boroughs of Green Island and Mosgiel The Counties of Waikouaiti, Peninsula, and Waihemo, and the Boroughs	The Clutha County Council. The Bruce County Council. The Taieri County Council. The Waikouaiti County Council.
	of Palmerston and Waikouaiti The Counties of Maniototo and Vincent and the Boroughs of Alexandra, Cromwell, and Naseby	The Maniototo County Council.
Patea Fauranga	The Borough of Patea and the Waverley Town District The Maketu and Te Puke Ridings of the Tauranga County and the Te Puke	The Patea Borough Council. The Tauranga County Council.
(Borough The Tengawai and Point Ridings of the Levels County and the Pleasant Point Town District	The Levels County Council.
Γimaru	The Boroughs of Geraldine and Temuka	The Temuka Borough Council. The Waimate Borough Council.
Wanganui	County within the Harbour District Those portions of the Counties of Wanganui and Waimarino within the Harbour District	The Wanganui County Council.