

THE

# NEW ZEALAND GAZETTE

## Published by Authority

### WELLINGTON, THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 22, 1951

Proclaiming a Tribal District Under the Maori Social and Economic Advancement Act, 1945

# [L.S.] B. C. FREYBERG, Governor-General A PROCLAMATION

PURSUANT to section 6 of the Maori Social and Economic Advancement Act, 1945, I, Lieutenant-General Sir Bernard Cyril Freyberg, the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, do hereby declare the parts of New Zealand described in the Schedule hereto to be a tribal district for the purposes of the said Act, and do hereby assign to the said district the name "Horouta No. 1 Tribal District."

#### SCHEDULE

#### HOROUTA No. 1 TRIBAL DISTRICT

ALL that area in the Gisborne Land District bounded by a line commencing at a point on the sea-coast on the production of a right line between Trig. Stations Taumata-a-ruru and Potikirua in Block I, Matakaoa North Survey District; thence proceeding easterly and southerly generally along the sea-coast to the mouth of the Waiwhakaata Stream forming the northern boundary of Tawhiti No. 2c Block in Block IVA, Tokomaru Survey District; thence northwesterly along a right line to Trig. Station 184 (Tawhiti) in Block XIII, Waipiro Survey District, a right line to Trig. Station 186 in Block XIV, Mata Survey District, a right line to Trig. Station 186 in Block XIV, Mata Survey District, a right line to the confluence of the Waitahaia and Mata Rivers in Block XII, Hikurangi Survey District, and a right line to Trig. Station Kapua in Block V, Hikurangi Survey District; thence north-easterly along a right line to Trig. Station Honokawa on the western boundary of Block X, Raukumara East Survey District, and a right line to Trig. Station Pakiri in Block I, Manaoparo West Survey District; thence easterly along the northern boundary of Waikura No. 2 Block to the south-eastern corner of Waikura No. 2 Block; thence northerly generally along the eastern boundary of Waikura No. 2 Block and northeasterly along the south-eastern boundaries of Whangaparaoa No. 2M, 2R, and 2P Blocks to Trig. Station Kokomuka at the southern corner of Block X, Matakaoa Survey District; thence north-westerly along a right line to Trig. Station Te Peke-o-te-Rangi-Hekeiho in Block I, Matakaoa West Survey District, a right line to Trig. Station Maungahika in Block I, Matakaoa North Survey District, a right line to Trig. Station Toumata-a-ruru and northerly along a right line to Trig. Station Potikirua in Block I, Matakaoa North Survey District, and its production to the sea-coast, the point of commencement.

Given under the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, and issued under the Seal of that Dominion, this 13th day of February, 1951.

E. B. CORBETT, Minister of Maori Affairs.

GOD SAVE THE KING!

(M.A. 35/55/1.)

Proclaiming a Tribal District Under the Maori Social and Economic Advancement Act, 1945

#### [L.S.] B. C. FREYBERG, Governor-General A PROCLAMATION

PURSUANT to section 6 of the Maori Social and Economic Advancement Act, 1945, I, Lieutenant-General Sir Bernard Cyril Freyberg, the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, do hereby declare the parts of New Zealand described in the Schedule hereto to be a tribal district for the purposes of the said Act, and do hereby assign to the said district the name "Horouta No. 2 Tribal District."

#### SCHEDULE

#### HOROUTA No. 2 TRIBAL DISTRICT

ALL that area in the Gisborne Land District bounded by a line commencing at a point on the sea-coast in Block I, Waiaua Survey District, being the north-western corner of Awaawakino B Block; thence proceeding north-easterly generally along the sea-coast to a point on the production of a right line between Trig. Stations Taumata-a-ruru and Potikirua in Block I, Matakaoa North Survey District; thence southerly to and along the said right line to Trig. Station Taumata-a-ruru aforesaid; thence south-easterly along a right line to Trig. Station Maungahika in Block I, Matakaoa North Survey District, a right line to Trig. Station Te Peke-o-te-Rangi-Hekeiho in Block I, Matakaoa West Survey District, and a right line to Trig. Station Kokomuka at the southern corner of Block X, Matakaoa Survey District, being a point on the boundary of Whangaparaoa No. 2p Block; thence south-westerly generally along the south-eastern boundaries of Whangaparaoa No. 2p, 2r, and 2m Blocks and the generally eastern boundary of Waikura No. 2 Block to the south-eastern corner of that Block; thence westerly along the northern boundary of Wairongomai Block to Trig. Station Pakiri in Block I, Mangaoparo West Survey District; thence south-westerly along a right line to Trig. Station Honokawa on the western boundary of Block X, Raukumara East Survey District, a right line to Trig. Station Kapua in Block V, Hikurangi Survey District, a right line to Trig. Station Arowhana and a right line to Trig. Station Tuanui-o-te-Kahakaha in Block X, Arowhana Survey District; thence north-westerly along a right line to the northeastern corner of a Township Reserve of 116 acres in Block XVI, Waiaua Survey District, and a right line to the northeastern corner of a Township Reserve of 116 acres in Block XVI, Waiaua Survey District, being the point of commencement.

Given under the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, and issued under the Seal of that Dominion, this 13th day of February, 1951.

E. B. CORBETT, Minister of Maori Affairs.

GOD SAVE THE KING!

(M.A. 35/55/1.)