Election of Members of Fire Boards by Insurance Companies

Department of Internal Affairs, Wellington, 18th January, 1951.

PURSUANT to the Fire Services Act, 1949, and the rules made thereunder, it is hereby notified that an election by the insurance companies carrying on business in New Zealand of members of the undermentioned Fire Boards will be held on Tuesday, the 13th day of February, 1951, in the manner prescribed by the said Act and rules. The number of members to be elected in the case of the Auckland Metropolitan Fire Board and of the Dunedin Metropolitan Fire Board shall be four. In the case of North Shore, Wanganui, Wellington, and Christchurch Fire Boards, the number shall be three, and in all others, two members:—

Balclutha Fire Board.
Cambridge Fire Board.
Carterton Fire Board.
Christchurch Fire Board. Dannevirke Fire Board.
Dargaville Fire Board.
Dunedin Metropolitan Fire Board. Dunedin Metropolitan F Eltham Fire Board. Feilding Fire Board. Foxton Fire Board. Gisborne Fire Board. Hamilton Fire Board. Hastings Fire Board. Hawera Fire Board. Hikurangi Fire Board. Hokitika Fire Board. Invercargill Fire Board. Invercargill Fire Board. Kaiapoi Fire Board. Kaitangata Fire Board. Lawrence Fire Board. Levin Fire Board. Lower Hutt Fire Board. Masterton Fire Board. Milton Fire Board. Morrinsville Fire Board. Napier Fire Board. Nelson Fire Board. New Plymouth Fire Board.

Auckland Metropolitan Fire Board. North Shore Fire Board. Balclutha Fire Board. Oamaru Fire Board. Ohakune Fire Board. Opotiki Fire Board.
Otaki Fire Board.
Pahiatua Fire Board.
Palmerston North Fire Board. Patea Fire Board. Petone Fire Board. Port Chalmers Fire Board. Pukekohe Fire Board. Rotorua Fire Board. Stratford Fire Board.
Taihape Fire Board.
Taumarunui Fire Board. Tauranga Fire Board. Te Aroha Fire Board. Te Avamutu Fire Board. Timaru Fire Board. Upper Hutt Fire Board. Waihi Fire Board. Waipukurau Fire Board. Wairoa Fire Board. Waitara Fire Board. Wanganui Fire Board Wellington Fire Board. Westport Fire Board. Whakatane Fire Board. Whangarei Fire Board. Woodville Fire Board.

W. A. BODKIN, Minister of Internal Affairs.

(I.A. 76/4/1.)

 $i.\, b$

Election of Members of Fire Committees by Insurance Companies

Department of Internal Affairs,
Wellington, 18th January, 1951.

PURSUANT to the Fire Services Act, 1949, and the rules made thereunder, it is hereby notified that an election by the insurance companies carrying on business in New Zealand of two members of each of the fire committees of the urban fire authorities for the undermentioned fire districts will be held on Tuesday, the 13th day of February, 1951, in the manner prescribed by the said Act and rules :-

	3.5
Akaroa.	Marton.
Alexandra.	Matamata.
Ashburton.	Mataura.
Blenheim.	Paeroa.
Bluff.	Papakura.
Cromwell.	Papatoetoe.
Eastbourne.	Picton.
Geraldine.	Queenstown.
Gore.	Rangiora.
Greytown.	Reefton.
Havelock North.	Richmond.
Huntly.	Runanga.
Inglewood.	Te Kuiti.
Kaikohe.	Te Puke.
Kaitaia.	Thames.
Kawakawa.	Waimate.
Lyttelton.	Waipawa.
Manurewa.	=

W. A. BODKIN, Minister of Internal Affairs.

(I.A. 76/4/1.)

Kataia Drainage Area: Notice of Intention to Make and Levy General Rates, and Notice of Amendment of Annually Recurring Special Rates on Lands in the Town Subdivision

Department of Lands and Survey, Wellington, 16th January, 1951.

NOTICE is hereby given that it is intended, pursuant to the Swamp Drainage Act, 1915, and its amendments, to make and levy, on the unimproved value of all land within the Kaitaia Town District Subdivision of the Kaitaia Drainage Area constituted under the said Act, the general rate described in the First Schedule hereto, and on the unimproved value of all land in the subdivision of the Kaitaia Drainage Area outside the Kaitaia Town District the general rates described in the Second Schedule, such respective rates being for the purpose of meeting maintenance costs for the period from the 1st April, 1950, to the 31st March, 1951.

Notice is also given that, pursuant to the Swamp Drainage Act, 1915, and its amendments, the annually recurring special rate made and levied on the 18th day of December, 1930, and payable made and levied on the 18th day of December, 1930, and payable on the 30th day of August in each year on the unimproved value of all land within the Kaitaia Town District Subdivision of the Kaitaia Drainage Area has been amended as from the 1st day of April, 1950, to the amount described in the Third Schedule hereto, and the said special rate shall, in respect of the financial year ending on the 31st day of March, 1951, be payable on the 20th February, 1951, and shall in respect of every future year be payable on the 30th day of August in such year.

The amount of the general rates, together with the annually recurring special rates already made and levied, will be payable in one sum on the 20th February, 1951.

The valuation roll and the rate-book of the district will be open for inspection at the office of the Collector of Rates, Room 8, First Floor, Government Buildings, Customs Street West, Auckland, and copies of same may be inspected at the office of the Lands and Survey Department, Kaitaia, at all times at which those offices are open for the transaction of public business.

FIRST SCHEDULE

TOWN SUBDIVISION

General Rate

On the unimproved value of all land within the Kaitaia Town District, fifty-three one-hundredths of a penny (0.53d.) in the pound.

SECOND SCHEDULE

RURAL SUBDIVISION

General Rates

CLASS A: On the unimproved value of all land classified as Class A by the persons appointed to classify lands under section 3 of the Swamp Drainage Amendment Act, 1928, eighteen pence and fifty-three one-hundredths of a penny (18.53d.) in the

pound.

CLASS B: On the unimproved value of all land so classified as Class B, sixpence and forty-nine one-hundredths of a penny (6.49d.) in the pound.

Class C: On the unimproved value of all land so classified as Class

C, two pence and seventy-eight one-hundredths of a penny (2.78d.) in the pound.

THIRD SCHEDULE

TOWN SURDIVISION

Special Rate

On the unimproved value of all land within the Kaitaia Town District, sixty-eight one-hundredths of a penny (0-68d.) in the pound. E. B. CORBETT, Minister of Lands.

(L. and S. 15/42/5.)

Exemption Order Under the Motor-drivers Regulations 1940

PURSUANT to the Motor-drivers Regulations 1940, the Minister of Transport doth hereby order and declare that the provisions of clause (1) of regulation 7 of the said regulations, so far as they relate to the driving of heavy trade motors, shall not apply to the person hereinafter mentioned, but in lieu thereof the following provision shall apply:—

A motor-driver's licence issued under the Motor-drivers Regulations 1940 to the person described in Column 1 of the Schedule hereunder may authorize him to drive a heavy trade motor in the course of his employment on a farm or market-garden of the employer described in Column 2 of the said Schedule, but shall not authorize him, while he is under the age of eighteen years, to drive a heavy trade motor for any other purpose.

SCHEDULE

Column 1 (Driver). Allan Holmes, Opunake ... Column 2 (Employer). .. Father.

Dated at Wellington, this 18th day of January, 1951.

W. S. GOOSMAN, Minister of Transport.

Classification of Roads in Waimarino County

PURSUANT to regulation 3 (5) of the Heavy Motor-vehicle Regulations 1950, the Minister of Transport doth hereby approve the Waimarino County Council's proposed classification of the roads described in the Sehedule hereto and situated in Waimarino

SCHEDULE

WAIMARINO COUNTY

Roads Classified in Class Two

MAIN HIGHWAYS

Raetihi-Ruatiti Main Highway No. 369. Pipiriki - Raetihi - Ohakune Main Highway No. 827. Dated at Wellington, this 18th day of January, 1951.

W. S. GOOSMAN, Minister of Transport,

(TT. 10/131.)