

NEW ZEALAND

THE

NEW ZEALAND GAZETTE

Mublished by Authority

WELLINGTON, THURSDAY, AUGUST 2, 1951

The Maori Electoral Districts Order 1951

B. C. FREYBERG, Governor-General [L.S.]

A PROCLAMATION

PURSUANT to section 185 of the Electoral Act, 1927, I, Lieutonant General Sir Romand Charil Rev. 1 tenant-General Sir Bernard Cyril Freyberg, the Governor-General of New Zealand, hereby proclaim and order as follows:—

- 1. This Proclamation may be cited as the Maori Electoral
- Districts Order 1951.

 2. The boundaries of the several Maori electoral districts are hereby redefined and declared to be as set out in the Schedule hereto.
- 3. The Proclamation defining the Maori Electoral Districts for the North Island, dated the 19th day of September, 1919,* is hereby revoked.

SCHEDULE

MAORI ELECTORAL DISTRICTS

North Island

THE Northern Maori Electoral District comprises all that area The Northern Maori Electoral District comprises all that area of the North Island lying to the north generally of a line commencing at the North Head, Manukau Harbour, and proceeding thence along the northern side of the said harbour and along a line between the two nearest points of the said harbour and Otahuhu Creek respectively; thence down the middle of the said Otahuhu Creek and Tamaki River to the mouth of the last named river; thence along a line crossing Hauraki Gulf in a north-easterly direction between Brown's Island and Motuihi Island, and between Great Barrier Island and Cape Colville, including all adjacent islands.

The Western Maori Electoral District comprises all that area of the North Island lying to the south generally of the Northern Maori Electoral District hereinbefore described, and to the west generally of a line commencing at the mouth of the Wairakei Stream Maori Electoral District herembetore described, and to the west generally of a line commencing at the mouth of the Wairakei Stream in the Bay of Plenty; and proceeding south-westerly along a right line through Trig. Station 27, Puwhenua, in Block XIV, Otane-wainuku Survey District, to its intersection with the middle of the Hamilton-Rotorua railway; thence southerly along a right line to Trig. Station 826, Tikorangi, in Block IX, Ngautuku Survey District; thence westerly generally along right lines successively to Trig. Stations 807, Uraura, in Block VII, Ngautuku Survey District, 1018, Maungaiti, in Block I, Te Atiamuri Survey District, 823, Puketutu, in Block XV, Patetere South Survey District, and 1641, Rangitoto, in Block IV, Pakaumanu Survey District; thence south-easterly generally along the summit of the mountain range, passing through Trig. Stations Ranginui and Pureora to Trig. Station Titiraupenga; thence along a right line to the mouth of the Waihora Stream on Lake Taupo; thence along the western shore of Lake Taupo to the mouth of the Tongariro River; thence up the middle of that river, the upper Waikato and Waipakihi Rivers to the source of the last named river; thence along a right line due east to the watershed of the Rangitikei River; thence easterly and southerly along that watershed to the summit of the Ruahine Range; thence southerly along the summit of that range and the Tararua and Rimutaka Ranges and terminating at Cape Turakirae, including Rimutaka Ranges and terminating at Cape Turakirae, including all adjacent islands and the Chatham Islands.

The Eastern Maori Electoral District comprises all that area of the North Island lying to the east generally of the eastern boundary of the Western Maori Electoral District hereinbefore described, including all adjacent islands.

South Island

The Southern Maori Electoral District comprises the South Island and Stewart Island, including all adjacent islands.

Given under the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, and issued under the Seal of New Zealand, this 1st day of August, 1951.

T. CLIFTON WEBB, Minister of Justice.

GOD SAVE THE KING!

Proclaiming a Tribal District Under the Maori Social and Economic Advancement Act, 1945

[L.S.] B. C. FREYBERG, Governor-General A PROCLAMATION

PURSUANT to section 6 of the Maori Social and Economic Advancement Act, 1945, I, Lieutenant-General Sir Bernard Cyril Freyberg, the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, do hereby declare the parts of New Zealand described in the Schedule hereto to be a tribal district for the purposes of the said Act, and do hereby assign to the said district the name "Rauhotu Tribal District."

SCHEDULE

RAUHOTU TRIBAL DISTRICT

RAUHOTU TRIBAL DISTRICT

ALL that area in the Taranaki Land District bounded by a line commencing at a point in the middle of the mouth of the Herekawe Stream in Block IV, Paritutu Survey District, then proceeding in a southerly direction along a right line in the direction of Rata Trig. Station, in Block VI, Egmont Survey District, to its intersection with the boundary of the Egmont National Park; thence westerly and southerly generally along the boundary of the Egmont National Park to its intersection with the middle of the Oaonui Stream, in Block IV, Opunake Survey District; thence southwesterly generally down the middle of the Oaonui Stream to its mouth; thence northerly and north-easterly generally to and along the sea-coast to the middle of the mouth of the Herekawe Stream, the point of commencement. the point of commencement.

Given under the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, and issued under the Seal of that Dominion, this 27th day of July, 1951.

E. B. CORBETT, Minister of Maori Affairs.

GOD SAVE THE KING!

(M.A. 35/77/1)