consent of the Executive Council, hereby cancels the vesting in the Chairman, Councillors, and Inhabitants of the County of Waipukurau of the land described in the Schedule hereto.

SCHEDULE

HAWKE'S BAY LAND DISTRICT SECTION 20A, Block I, Motuotaraia Survey District : Area, 1 acre, more or less. (S.O. plan 1959.)

T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council.

(L. and S. H.O. 2/270; D.O. 8/153)

Authorizing the Exchange of a Reserve in Town of Opotiki, Gisborne Land District, for Other Land

FREYBERG. Governor-General

ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington, this 12th day of December 1951

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

WHEREAS the land described in the First Schedule hereto is W HEREAS the land described in the First Schedule hereto is a reserve duly set apart for plantation purposes and is vested, in trust, in the Opotiki Borough Council for such purposes : And whereas it is expedient that the said land should be exchanged for the land described in the Second Schedule hereto, which the Governor-General deems of equal value and more suitable for the purposes of the reserve, and the Opotiki Borough Council here duly corrected to such explorate.

for the purposes of the reserve, and the Opotiki Borough Council has duly consented to such exchange: Now, therefore, pursuant to section 8 of the Public Reserves, Domains, and National Parks Act 1928, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby declares that the land described in the First Schedule hereto may be exchanged for the land described in the Sacond Schedule hereto Second Schedule hereto.

FIRST SCHEDULE

DESCRIPTION OF RESERVE AUTHORIZED TO BE EXCHANGED Gisborne Land District

ALLOTMENT 385 of Section 2, Town of Opotiki: Area, 1 acre, more or less.

SECOND SCHEDULE

DESCRIPTION OF LAND TO BE OBTAINED IN EXCHANGE THEREFOR Gisborne Land District

ALLOTMENT 342 of Section 2, Town of Opotiki, and being all the land comprised and described in certificate of title, Volume 70, folio 290 (Gisborne Registry): Area, 1 acre, more or less.

T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council.

(L. and S. H.O. 22/4860; D.O. 8/851)

Directing Application of Moneys Received in Respect of the Former Lauder Domain, Otago Land District, for the Purposes of the Omakau Domain

FREYBERG, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington, this 12th day of December 1951

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to section 61 of the Public Reserves, Domains, and National Parks Art 1989 W. T. **D**URSUANT to section 61 of the Public Reserves, Domains, and National Parks Act 1928, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby directs that from the moneys received in respect of the former Lauder Domain, described in the First Schedule hereto, and at the date hereof lying to the credit of the said domain, a sum not exceeding £100 shall be applied in managing, administering, and improving the Omakau Domain described in the Second Schedule hereto.

FIRST SCHEDULE

OTAGO LAND DISTRICT-FORMER LAUDER DOMAIN

ALL that area containing by admeasurement 94 acres 2 roods 32 perches, more or less, being part of Section 2, Block III, Lauder Survey District. As the same is more particularly delineated on the plan marked L. and S. 1/291A, deposited in the Head Office, Department of Lands and Survey, at Wellington, and thereon edged red. (S.O. plan 9479.)

SECOND SCHEDULE

OTAGO LAND DISTRICT-OMAKAU DOMAIN

SECTIONS 5 to 8 (inclusive), Block II, Town of Manuherikia : Area,

1 acre and 0.31 perches, more or less. (S.O. plan 9770.) Also Section 71, Block I, Tiger Hill Survey District : Area, 23 acres 1 rood 30 perches, more or less. (S.O. plan 11411.) T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council.

(L. and S. H.O. 1/291 and 1/1283; D.O. 8/3/35)

Resident Commissioner of Rarotonga Appointed

FREYBERG, Governor-General

IN pursuance of the power and authority vested in me by section 9 of the Cook Islands Act 1915, I, Bernard Cyril, Baron Freyberg, the Governor-General of New Zealand, do hereby appoint Geoffrey Nevill

to be Resident Commissioner of Rarotonga on and from the 1st day of February 1952.

Given under the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, at Wellington, this 11th day of December 1951. T. CLIFTON WEBB, Minister of Island Territories.

The Cook Islands Act 1915-Persons Qualified for Appointment as Assessors in Criminal Trials

FREYBERG, Governor-General

PURSUANT to the authority vested in me by section 295 of the Cook Islands Act 1915, I, Bernard Cyril, Baron Freyberg, Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, do hereby revoke the nomination of persons qualified for appointment as assessors in criminal trials in the High Court of the Cook Islands, made by Warment dated the J5th day of April 1947, and regretted in assessors in erminal trais in the High court of the Cook Islands, made by Warrant dated the 15th day of April 1947 and gazetted in the New Zealand Gazette No. 20 of the 17th day of April 1947, at page 462, and in lieu thereof I hereby nominate the persons named in the following ten Schedules hereto as persons qualified for appointment as assessors under the said Act, generally in criminal trials in the High Court of the Cook Islands wheresoever such trials may be held (except in the Island of Niue), and I do declare this Warrant to take effect on the 1st day of January 1952.

FIRST SCHEDULE

THE following persons presently residing in the Island of Rarotonga:-

Bateson, Frank Maine. Blakelock, John Robert. Bridgart, Robert. Bridgart, Robert. Campbell, James Dobson. Chambers, Donald William. Estall, James William. Estall, Marcus Astor. Hoff, Albert Rudolph. Ingram, Ralph John Alston. Kingan, Stuart Garrett. Kingan, Stuart Garrett. Leopard, George Henry. Macquarie, Malcolm. McKegg, Henley Robert. McKegg, Hugh Norman. Neale, Thomas Francis. Neilson, James. North, Arthur James. O'Bryan, Stewart Gordon. Powell, Ronald. Savage, Oswald. Scott, Harry. Story, Alfred Lawton. Thomson, Andrew Nesbitt. Watson, William Hugh. Webb, John Henry (snr). Wigmore, Alfred Charles. Williams, Harry. Williams, Harry. Powell, Ronald. Akapi. Alex Napa. Araitia Te Puretu. Te Ariki Akania. Te Ariki Samuela. Charles Tau Cowan. Dick Brown. Ernest Taripo. Fred Rennie.

Freddie Marama. George Tauei. Glassie Strickland. John Te Ariki. Kati Heather. Kauvai Teeiao. Te Keu Paitai. Marouna Taua. Meau Nicholas. Mii Teremoana. Napa Tauei. Ngarea Marsters. Patu Tita. Pirake Taraare. Piri Maoate. Te Po Vakatini. Povaru Uriarau. Pu Tamaiva. Rangi Teavae. Rauti Iro. Sam Samuela. Ta Heather. Tairi Maoate. Tamaiva Iro. Tapai Pirangi. Taramai Tiraa. Tiamu Aperau. Tuaine Nicholas. Tui Pori. Turuariki. Tutai Puri. Ua Taraare. Ua Turua. Vaevae Tamarua. Vaikai Kainuku. Vaka Tima.

SECOND SCHEDULE

THE following persons presently residing in the Island of Aitutaki :---

Te Aea Glassie. Te Ariki Nuku. Te Aukura Reu. Apii Manuel. Bob Sadaraka Charlie Roi. Daniel Tarapi Glassie Strickland. Jack Tumu. Jim Marsters. John Karue. John Pakoti. Kata Mua. Kaumapu. Kimi Upu. Maeva Ruru. Maki Ioane. Manarangi Ariki. Maorei Tiki. Mata Ngatamaine. Metua Akeke. Nelio Tuikura. Noo Paniora. Nuku Wycliffe. Patai Aiai.

Petero Tutaiava.

Poa Mutua. Pumati Isaraera. Rangi Nui Henry. Rave Pitomaki. Raui Varu. Ria Uri. Rime Tarapi. Rio Strickland. Sam Hewitt. Sam Natini. Taia Poana. Tai Tom. Tama Joseph. Tau Simiona. Teina Marokura Elia. Tere Kainuku. Tere Kone. Tuakeu Reu. Tuakura Tui Nelio. Turia Turi Tama. Uma Kupa. Va Ngarutai. William Mataio.