Plants Declared to be Noxious Weeds in the Waihemo County (Notice No. Ag. 5209)

Department of Agriculture,

Wellington, 11 February 1952.

THE following special order made by the Waihemo County Council on the 21st day of January 1952 is published in accordance with the provisions of the Noxious Weeds Act 1950.

SPECIAL ORDER

SPECIAL ORDER THAT in pursuance and exercise of the powers, provisions and authorities vested in that behalf by the Counties Act 1920, and the Noxious Weeds Act 1950, or otherwise enabling it in that behalf, the Council of the County of Waihemo doth hereby by special order declare that all the following plants included in the First Schedule of the Noxious Weeds Act 1950, shall be deemed to be noxious weeds within the County of Waihemo, and ordered to come into operation on Friday, 1st day of February, 1952. Denkemp (Beckeric exdensio)

come into operation on Friday, 1st day of February, 1952.
Barberry (Berberis vulgaris).
Bathurst bur (Xanthium spinosum).
Bindweed (Convolvulus arvensis).
Blackberry (Rubus fruticosus and Rubus laciniatus).
Boxthorn (Lycium ferocissimum syn. Lycium horridum).
Burdock (Arctium, any species).
Californian thistle, Canadian thistle, or creeping thistle (Cirsium arvense).
Cape tulip (Homeria collina).
Charlock (Sinapis arvensis).
Crack willow (Salix fragilis).
Cut-leaved psoralea (Psoralea pinnata).
Fennel (Foeniculum vulgare).
Field horsetail (Equisetum arvense).

Field horsetail (Equisetum arvense).

Foxglove (Digitalis purpurea). Goat's rue (Galega officinalis).

Gorse (Ulex, any species). Greater bindweed (Calystegia sepium). Grey willow (Salix cinerea). Hakea (Hakea saligna, Hakea suaveolens, Hakea pubescens, and Hakea acicularis). Hawthorn (Crataegus oxycantha and Crataegus monogyna). Heath (Erica lusitanica and Erica arborea). Hemlock (Conium maculatum). Hoary cress (Cardaria draba syn. Lepidium draba). Japanese wineberry (Rubus phoenicolasius). Johnson grass (Sorghum halepense). Kangaroo acacia (*Acacia armata*). Knapweed (*Centaurea nigra*).

Khapweed (Centaware majra).
Lantana (Lantana camara).
Lupin (Lupinus arboreus).
Malta thistle (Centurea melitensis).
Manchurian wild rice (Zizania latifolia).
Milk thistle or variegated thistle (Silybum marianum).
Milt dener an Marian denerhorus

Mist flower or Mexican devil (Eupatorium adenophorum). Mountain hypericum (Hypericum montanum). Nassella tussock (Nassella trichotoma).

Needle grass (Stipa neesiana). Nodding thistle (Carduus nutans). Oxylobium callistachys.

Pennisetum (Pennisetum macrourum). Prickly pear (Opuntia monocantha). Pultenaea daphnoides. Pussy willow (Salix discolor). Ragwort (Senico jacobaea).

Russian knapweed (Centaurea repens). St. John's wort (Hypericum perforatium). Saffron thistle (Carthanus lanatus). Scotch thistle or plume thistle (Cirsium lanceolatum). Silver poplar (Populus alba var. nivea). Suidemust (Lougasteria Company)

Shiver popular (*Deguces abou var. neway*). Spiny broom (*Calycotome spinosa*). Squirrel grass (*Hordeum jubatum*). Star thistle (*Centaurea calcitrapa*). Sweetbrier (*Rosa eglanteria syn. Rosa rubiginosa*).

Tall cinquefoil (Potentilla recta). Tauhinu or New Zealand cotton-wood (Cassinia leptophylla or cassinia fulvida).

Thorn apple or jimson weed (Datura stramonium). Tutsan (Hypericum androsaemum). Viper's bugloss (Echium vulgare). Water hyacinth (Eichhornia crassipes). Watsonia (Watsonia bulbillifera). Wild turnip (Brassica campestris). Winged thistle (Carduus tenuiflorus and Carduus pycnoce-phalus). Woolly nightshade (Solanum auriculatum).

Yellow star thistle (Centaurea solstitialis).

K. J. HOLYOAKE, Minister of Agriculture.

(Ag. 70/10/240)

Kaitaia Swamp Drainage Area-Penalty on Overdue Rates

Department of Lands and Survey, Wellington, 6 February 1952.

IN pursuance of section 76 of the Rating Act 1925, and the Swamp Drainage Act 1915, and its amendments, the rate-payers within the Kaitaia Rating Area are hereby notified that 10 per cent, additional will be added to all rates for the year ending

31 March 1952, unpaid on 14 March 1952. Rates may be paid at any money-order office, or to the Collector of Rates, Lands and Survey Department, P.O. Box 2205, Auckland C. 1.

E. B. CORBETT, Minister of Lands.

(L. and S. 15/42/5)

Notice of Intention to Take Land in Block XVI, Mangaoparo Survey District, for the Use, Convenience, or Enjoyment of a Road

N OTICE is hereby given that it is proposed, under the provisions of the Public Works Act 1928, to take the land described in the Schedule hereto for the use, convenience, or enjoyment of a road; and notice is hereby further given that the plan of the land so required to be taken is deposited in the post-office at Ruatoria and is there open for inspection; and that all persons affected by the taking of the said land should, if they have any well-grounded objections to the taking of such land, set forth the same in writing, and send such writing, within forty days from the first publication of this notice, to the Minister of Works at Wellington.

SCHEDULE

APPROXIMATE area of the piece of land required to be taken: 1 rood 39 perches

Being part Rotokautuku A8 Block.

Situated in Block XVI, Mangaoparo Survey District (Gisborne R.D.). (S.O. 4667.)

In the Gisborne Land District; as the same is more particularly delineated on the plan marked P.W.D. 135081, deposited in the office of the Minister of Works at Wellington, and thereon coloured blue.

As witness my hand at Wellington, this 11th day of February 1952.

W. S. GOOSMAN, Minister of Works.

(P.W. 70/4/24/0; D.O. 24/24/4)

Approval of Red Reflectors for Heavy Motor-vehicles, Being Goods Service Vehicles in Terms of the Traffic Regulations 1936

PURSUANT to clause (22), regulation 7 of the Traffic Regulations 1936, the Minister of Transport doth hereby approve, for the purposes of the said regulation, red reflectors of the make and type described in the Schedule hereto.

SCHEDULE

Dietz-Model No. 86-Stimsonite A.G.A. No. 124 lens. Dated at Wellington, this 4th day of February 1952. W. S. GOOSMAN, Minister of Transport.

Notice of Adoption Under Part IX of the Maori Land Act 1931

Office of the Maori Land Court, Tairawhiti District, Gisborne, 4 February 1952. T is hereby notified that the order of adoption as set out in the Schedule hereunder has been made by the Maori Land Court under the provisions of the Maori Land Act 1931.

V. HOLST, Registrar.

Whakaatu Tangohanga Tamaiti Whangai i raro i Wahi IX o te Ture Whenua Maori 1931

Tari o te Kooti Whenua Maori, Takiwa o te Tairawhiti, Kihipane, 4 o Pepure 1952.

HE whakaaturanga tenei kia mohiotia ai kua hangaia e te Kooti Whenua Maori i raro i nga tikanga o te Ture Whenua Maori 1931, tetahi ota Whakamana i te tangohanga o tetahi tamaiti whangai e mau i te Kupu Apiti i raro iho nei.

HOROUTA, Kai-rehita.

SCHEDULE (KUPU APITI)

No. (Nama).	Date of Order (Te Ra i Hangaia ai te Ota).	Adopted Child (Tamaiti Whangai).	Sex (Tane, Wahine ranei).	Date of Birth (Te Ra Whanau).	Adopting Parents (Nga Matua Whangai).
4278	9/10/51	Merearihi Gray, hereinafter to be known as (a muri ake nei ka huaina ka) Merearihi Walker	Female (wahine)	9/7/48	John Walker and (raua ko) May Walker.