

SUPPLEMENT

TO THE

NEW ZEALAND GAZETTE

THURSDAY, 14 FEBRUARY 1952

Publisbed by Authority

WELLINGTON, TUESDAY, 19 FEBRUARY 1952

Population of the Proposed Electoral Districts in the North Island and the South Island of New Zealand

THE Representation Commission, appointed in pursuance of section 2 of the Electoral Amendment Act 1945, hereby publishes the quotas for the North and South Islands, and the population, as defined in section 2 of the Electoral Amendment Act 1950, of the proposed electoral districts.

Dated at Wellington, this 19th day of February 1952. R. G. DICK, Surveyor-General, Chairman of the Representation Commission.

POPULATION

Population of the Electoral Districts in the North Island Quota 23,620 ; Allowance + or -1,771.

No.	Name	Population.			
1	Hobson				24,515
2	Marsden	••			23,607
3	Rodney				24, 126
4	Waitemata				22,070
5	North Shore				21,940
6	Titirangi				23,294
7	Ponsonby	••			24,680
8	Auckland Central	••			23,739
9	Grey Lynn				22,812
10	Remuera				23,320
11	Mount Albert				23,746
12	Eden				·24,402
13	Tamaki				22,810
14	Roskill				22,361
15	Onehunga				24,462
16	Otahuhu	••			23,868
17	Manukau				23,771
18	Franklin	••	••	••	22,582
19	Raglan				24,225
20	Hamilton		••		24,790
21	Hauraki				25,318
22	Tauranga				22,316
23	Waipa				22,019
24	Waikato				25,291
25	Waitomo				21,905
26	Rotorua				23,045
27	Bay of Plenty				22,809
28	Gisborne			•••	22,320
29	Hawke's Bay				23,716
30	Napier				23,511
31	Hastings				23,812
32	New Plymouth		•••		24,107
33	Stratford				22,404
34	Egmont	••			22,473
35	Patea		••		22,556

POPULATION OF ELECTORAL DISTRICTS IN NORTH ISLAND-contd.

No.	Name o	Population.			
36	Wanganui				22,549
37	Rangitikei				24,025
38	Manawatu				22,334
39	Palmerston North				23,004
40	Pahiatua				22,250
41	Otaki				23,646
42	Wairarapa				24,450
43	Heretaunga	·			24,484
44	Hutt				25,181
45	Petone				25,063
46	Onslow				25,260
47	Karori				24,609
48	Wellington Central		••		25,308
49	Island Bay				25,056
50	Miramar		••		25,038

Population of the Electoral Districts in the South Island Quota 23,408; Allowance + or - 1,756.

No.	Name of	Population.			
1	Westland				24,938
$\hat{2}$	Buller				24,889
3	Nelson				25,102
4	Marlborough				24,927
5	Hurunui				21,652
6	Selwyn				21,659
7	Fendalton				23,575
8	St. Albans				24,155
9	Christchurch Central				23,865
10	Avon				25,008
11	Sydenham				23,329
12	Riccarton				23,860
13	Lyttelton				23,620
14	Ashburton				21,942
15	Timaru				22,501
16	Waimate				22,212
17	Oamaru				21,806
18	North Dunedin				22,369
19	Dunedin Central				22,894
20	Mornington				22,726
21	St. Kilda				22,150
22	Central Otago				24,993
23	Clutha				24,326
24	Invercargill		••		23,114
25	Awarua	• • •			23,485
26	Wallace				23,499
20	Wanaco	••	••		20,100