Appointments and Promotions of Officers of the Emergency Force

Army Department, Wellington, 27 March 1952.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following appointments and promotions of officers of the Emergency Force:—

#### APPOINTMENTS

# THE ROYAL N.Z. ARTILLERY

With reference to the notice published in the N.Z. Gazette No. 92, dated 20 December 1951, relative to the appointment of Major J. D. McKerchar, M.B.E., after "(Regular Force)" add, "with seniority from 29 August 1950".

With reference to the notice published in the N.Z. Gazette No. 92, dated 20 December 1951, published in the N.Z. Gazette

No. 92, dated 20 December 1951, relative to the appointment of Major R. McK. Paterson, for "with seniority from 25 June 1948", substitute "with seniority from 29 August 1950"

### PROMOTIONS

## THE ROYAL N.Z. ARTILLERY

Captain (temp. Major) A. A. Roxburgh, M.C., to be Major. Dated I February 1952.

The undermentioned 2nd Lieutenants to be Lieutenants:—

G. Holdaway,

A. O. Barrowelough, F. A. Parsons,

R. E. Coote, W. Watson.

Dated 13 February 1952.

P. F. Nicholson.

Dated 20 February 1952.

T. L. MACDONALD, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Extension of Commission, Promotions, and Retirement of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Air Department, Wellington, 27 March 1952.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, extension of commission, promotions, and retirement of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:—

# REGULAR AIR FORCE GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

## Appointments

As Pilots-

Flight Lieutenant Thomas Robin RABONE (72878) is granted a permanent commission in his present rank and seniority. Dated 1 March 1952.

Russell Arthur Coulter is granted a commission for a period of three years in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority as from date of appointment. Dated 28 February 1952.

### As Navigator—

Raymond Henry John Myhill is granted a commission for a period of two years in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority as from 2 March 1950. Dated 1 March 1952.

### EDUCATION BRANCH Extension of Commission

Flight Lieutenant Nelson Hunter IRWIN (70329) is granted an extension of his commission for a period of one year. Dated 5 March 1952

# TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

### CHAPLAINS BRANCH

### Amendment

The notice appearing in the New Zealand Gazette No. 64, dated 12 October 1950, page 1840, under the heading "Territorial Air Force—Chaplains Branch—Appointment" relating to "The Rev. Alan Frederick Collins" is hereby amended to read number "73641" in lieu of "130814".

# AIR TRAINING CORPS

### Promotions

The undermentioned Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenants:-Fergus McNeil Cunningham.

John Roy PENNIALL. Robert Trevor Mawley.

Dated 1 January 1952.

Pilot Officer Reginald William ROGERSON to be Flying Officer with seniority as from 11 November 1950. Dated 1 January 1952.

# RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

#### Appointments

The undermentioned Flying Officers (temp.) are granted the temporary rank of Flight Lieutenant.

Arthur Lionel Litt (1483). Frederick John Walter BILLINGS (1849). Sydney Patterson (132182). Kenneth Hugh Buchanan (133451).

Dated 1 January 1952.

#### RETIRED LIST

Squadron Leader Alwyn PALMEB, M.B.E. (70196) is posted to the Retired List "A". Dated 15 February 1952.

#### Corrigendum

With reference to the notice appearing in the New Zealand Gazette No. 18, dated 28 February 1952, page 312, under the heading "Regular Air Force—General Duties Branch—Promotions" for "Graham George Baylis" substitute "Graham George Bayliss".

T. L. MACDONALD, Minister of Defence.

Transmitting and Receiving Officers for the Service of Notices by Telegraph

General Post Office, Wellington, 25 March 1952.

Neumance of the powers conferred upon me by the Post and Telegraph Act 1928 (hereinafter termed the said Act), and by the regulations made on 12 May 1914, and published in the New Zealand Gazette of 21 May 1914, the following officers, at the addresses set against their names, are hereby appointed transmitting and receiving officers for the purpose of dealing with all notices by telegraph sent under the said Act or regulations, and of signing such certificates in relation to the service of any such notices as are required or authorized to be signed or given under notices as are required or authorized to be signed or given under the said Act or the regulations aforesaid:—

George Henry Fisher, Senior Supervisor, Telegraph Branch, Gisborne.

James Alan Marston, Postmaster, Hastings.
Ernest James Cardno, Postmaster, Milton.
Frank Brough, Senior Supervisor, Telegraph Branch, New

W. SULLIVAN. For Minister of Telegraphs.

Appointment of Members of the Rules Committee Under the Judicature Amendment Act 1930

Department of Justice, Wellington, 14 March 1952.

 $\mathbf{T}^{\mathrm{T}}$  is hereby notified for public information that the Right Honourable the Chief Justice has appointed—

The Honourable Mr. Justice Fair, The Honourable Mr. Justice Finlay, The Honourable Mr. Justice Gresson,

The Honourable Mr. Justice Hutchison, Timothy Patrick Cleary, Esquire, LL.B., of Wellington, Barrister and Solicitor.

William Perry Shorland, Esquire, LL.B., of Wellington, Barrister and Solicitor, and

Alan Murray Cousins, Esquire, LL.M., of Wellington, Barrister and Solicitor,

to be members of the Rules Committee, pursuant to section 2 of the Judicature Amendment Act 1930, each to hold office until the 31st day of December 1954.

T. CLIFTON WEBB, Minister of Justice.

Member of Licensing Committee Appointed

Department of Justice,

Wellington, 2 April 1952. weinington, 2 April 1952,
IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Ian Hartridge Murray, Esquire,

of Waitara, to be a Member of the Licensing Committee for the district of Waitomo, vice Samuel Alexander Managh, deceased.

T. CLIFTON WEBB, Minister of Justice.

## Appointment of Honorary Fishery Officer

IN pursuance and exercise of the power and authority conferred upon me by section 29 of the Statutes Amendment Act 1946, I, William Stanley Goosman, Minister of Marine, do hereby appoint the person named hereunder to be an Honorary Fishery Officer for the purposes of Part I of the Fisheries Act 1908, to hold office until the 31st day of March 1953-

Frederick William McCormick, of Bayswater.

Dated at Wellington, this 31st day of March 1952.

W. S. GOOSMAN, Minister of Marine.