Lieutenant (temp. Captain) R. F. Smith, 1st Battalion, to be

Captain. Dated 1 November 1951.

Lieutenant R. Hastings, 1st Battalion, to be temp. Captain. Dated 1 November 1951.

The Northland Regiment—

Brigadier R. W. Harding, D.S.O., M.M., E.D., Retired List, is appointed Colonel of the Regiment. Dated 27 November 1951.

The Canterbury Regiment-

Captain A. C. Rendall, 1st Battalion, to be Major. Dated October 1951.

Lieutenant A. W. Kerr, 1st Battalion, to be Captain. Dated 1 October 1951.

Lieutenant R. H. Nairn, 1st Battalion, to be Captain. Dated 1 October 1951.

Lieutenant F. G. Howe, 1st Battalion, to be Captain. Dated 1 November 1951.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) B. E. Mackenzie, M.M., 1st Battalion, to be Captain. Dated 2 November 1951.

The Otago and Southland Regiment-

Temp. Lieutenant W. R. Lowther, 1st Battalion, is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, The Royal N.Z. Infantry Corps, with the rank of Captain. Dated 19 November 1951.

THE ROYAL N.Z. ARMY SERVICE CORPS

Regular Force—

Lieutenant (on prob.) D. S. R. Austin to be Lieutenant, with senoirity from 3 September 1948. Dated 7 December 1951.

Lieutenant (on prob.) R. W. Langley to be Lieutenant, with seniority from 7 March 1950. Dated 7 December 1951.

Territorial Force-

6th Company, R.N.Z.A.S.C.-

Captain W. A. D. McComb is appointed O.C., 6th Company, R.N.Z.A.S.C., and is granted the temporary rank of Major whilst so employed. Dated 12 December 1951.

THE ROYAL N.Z. ARMY MEDICAL CORPS

Territorial Force-

Otago University Medical Company-

Lieutenant (on prob.) R. D. Fraser, M.B., Ch.B., ceases to be posted to the Otago University Medical Company and is appointed R.M.O., 1st Armoured Car Regiment (New Zealand Scottish) R.N.Z.A.C. Dated 8 November 1951.

THE ROYAL N.Z. ARMY ORDNANCE CORPS

Regular Force

Captain A. G. Haselden is posted to the Retired List. Dated 16 December 1951.

THE ROYAL N.Z. ELECTRICAL AND MECHANICAL ENGINEERS Regular Force

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) H. W. E. Jones relinquishes the temporary appointment of Company Commander, C.D. Training Depot and the temporary rank of Captain. Dated 6 September

THE ROYAL N.Z. CHAPLAINS DEPARTMENT

Territorial Force-

The Rev. J. H. Harris, Chaplain, 4th Class (Congregational), resigns his commission. Dated 6 December 1951.

The Rev. Arthur John Templeton to be Chaplain, 4th Class, Church of Christ, Area 6. Dated 30 October 1951.

N.Z. ARMY NURSING SERVICE

Regular Force-

Charge Sister (temp. Matron) L. E. Souness is granted an extension of her short-service commission for a period of one year as from 1 January 1952.

Territorial Force-

Sister N. Hankins, 2nd General Hospital, R.N.Z.A.M.C., resigns her commission. Dated 4 December 1951.

Margaret James to be Sister (on prob.) and is taken on strength of 2nd General Hospital, R.N.Z.A.M.C. Dated 8 October 1951.

SUPERNUMERARY LIST, N.Z. REGULAR FORCE

Major and Quartermaster G. F. McCulloch, M.B.E., from the Retired List, is re-employed for a period of two years as from 27 December 1951, in the rank of Major and Quartermaster and is appointed Instructor, R.N.Z. Infantry, Papakura Camp. Dated 27 December 1951.

N.Z. CADET CORPS

Horowhenua College Cadets—

Captain C. B. Beatson, from the Nelson College Cadets, to be Captain, with seniority from 2 January 1942. Dated 15 October

Nelson College Cadets—

Captain C. B. Beatson is transferred to the Horowhenua College Dated 15 October 1951.

RESERVE OF OFFICERS

Regimental List-

1st General Hospital, R.N.Z.A.M.C.—

Robert Francis Thorburn, M.B., Ch.B., to be Lieutenant. Dated 1 November 1951.

General List-

The Royal N.Z. Infantry Corps—

Brigadier R. W. Harding, D.S.O., M.M., E.D., is posted to the Retired List. Dated 27 November 1951.

OFFICER STRUCK OFF THE STRENGTH OF THE EMERGENCY FORCE

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) R. W. Odlin, R.N.Z.A., and is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, The Royal N.Z. Artillery, with the rank of Captain. Dated 15 December 1951.

T. L. MACDONALD, Minister of Defence.

Member of Board of Examiners Under Coal-mines Act 1925

Mines Department, Wellington, 21 January 1952.

IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Victor George Boivin, Esquire,

to be a member of the Board of Examiners under the Coal-mines Act 1925.

W. SULLIVAN, Minister of Mines.

(Mines: 17/31)

Members of Land Valuation Committees Appointed

Department of Justice, Wellington, 16 January 1952.

IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint appoint

William Carrol Harley, a Stipendiary Magistrate, and John Christoffel, both of New Plymouth

to be members of the Taranaki Land Valuation Committee, the said William Carrol Harley to be the Chairman thereof; and

Selwyn Stanley Preston, a Stipendiary Magistrate, of Wanganui,

Walter Matthews, of Waverley

to be members of the Wanganui Land Valuation Committee, the said Selwyn Stanley Preston to be the Chairman thereof; and to determine that at sittings of either Committee the quorum shall be one so long as that one is the Chairman as aforesaid.

T. CLIFTON WEBB, Minister of Justice.

Coroner Appointed

Department of Justice Wellington, 16 January 1952.

H IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Frederick Pollard, Esquire, J.P.,

of Otahuhu, to be a Coroner for New Zealand.

T. CLIFTON WEBB, Minister of Justice.

Acting Honorary Vice-Consul of Sweden Appointed

Ministry of External Affairs, Wellington, 21 January, 1952.

TT is hereby notified for public information that

J. Sutherland Ross, Esquire,

has been appointed Acting Vice-Consul of Sweden at Dunedin during the absence of the Vice-Consul, R. S. Glendining, Esquire.

T. CLIFTON WEBB, Minister of External Affairs.

Judge of Assessment Court for the Farm-land List for the Western Waiheke Road District Appointed

Office of the Minister of Internal Affairs, Wellington, 23 January 1952.

IIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased, in terms of section 9 of the Urban Farm Land Rating Act 1932, to appoint

John William Kealy, Esquire, Stipendiary Magistrate of Auckland, to be the Judge of the Assessment Court for the Western Waiheke Road District.

W. A. BODKIN, Minister of Internal Affairs.

(I.A. 103/2/63)