Member of Licensing Committee Appointed

Department of Justice, Wellington, 1 May 1952.

IIIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Leslie Cochrane Logan, Esquire,

of Pukekawa, to be a Member of the Licensing Committee for the District of Raglan, vice R. J. Glasgow, resigned

T. CLIFTON WEBB, Minister of Justice.

Members of Assessment Court for Farm-land List for Town District of Tuakau Appointed

PURSUANT to section 10 of the Urban Farm Land Rating Act 1932, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased

Reginald William Bennett, Esquire, Farmer, of Glen Brook, to be a member of the Assessment Court for the Town District of

Tuakau, and also to appoint :-John Logan, Esquire, Farmer, of Buckland, on the recommendation of the Tuakau Town Board, to be a member of the said Assessment Court.

Dated at Wellington, this 5th day of May 1952.

W. A. BODKIN, Minister of Internal Affairs.

(I.A. 103/2/64)

Appointment of Honorary Officer

IN pursuance and exercise of the power and authority conferred upon me by section 29 of the Statutes Amendment Act 1946, I, William Stanley Goosman, Minister of Marine, do hereby appoint the person named in the following Schedule to be an Hororary Officer for the acclimatization district shown in such Schedule for the purposes of Part II of the Fisheries Act 1908, such person to hold office until 31 March 1953.

Dated at Wellington, this 5th day of May 1952.

SCHEDULE

HAWKE'S BAY ACCLIMATIZATION DISTRICT Charles Jarrold Hardy. W. S. GOOSMAN, Minister of Marine.

Appointment of Officer for the Purposes of the Food and Drugs Act 1947

PURSUANT to the Food and Drugs Act 1947, His Excellency the Governor-General has appointed

Frederick Robert Bugg

to be an officer for the purposes of the Food and Drugs Act 1947. Dated at Wellington, this 29th day of April 1952.

J. R. MARSHALL, Minister of Health.

(H. F. and D. 52/4)

Registrar of Marriages, &c., Appointed

Registrar-General's Office, Wellington, 5 May 1952.

T is hereby notified that the following appointments have been made:—

John Edward Mason

to be Registrar of Births and Deaths of Maoris at Moehau, on and from the 16th day of April 1952.

 ${\bf Charles}\,\,{\bf Collins}$

to be Acting Registrar of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the District of Murchison, on and from the 13th day of March 1952.

George Gilbert Phipps Kennedy

to be Registrar of Births and Deaths of Maoris at Te Tii, on and from the 1st day of February 1952.

John Rowen Crawford

to be Registrar of Marriages for the District of Otakı at Paraparaumu and Registrar of Births and Deaths at Paraparaumu, on and from the 1st day of May 1952.

Neil Christiansen

to be Acting Registrar of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the District of Karamea, on and from the 19th day of March 1952.

John Crosby

to be Acting Registrar of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the District of Kawhia and Acting Registrar of Births and Deaths of Maoris at Kawhia, on and from the 26th day of March 1952.

Stewart Hall Love

to be Registrar of Births and Deaths of Maoris at Maraeroa, on and from the 26th day of May 1952.

John Dunstan Maher

to be Acting Registrar of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the District of Raglan and Acting Registrar of Births and Deaths of Maoris at Raglan, on and from the 29th day of March 1952.

John Herbert Bryan

to be Acting Registrar of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the District of Tirau, on and from the 7th day of March 1952.

James Izatt Clarke

to be Acting Registrar of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the District of Cambridge and Acting Registrar of Births and Deaths of Maoris at Cambridge, on and from the 3rd day of March 1952.

Moira Dempsey (Miss)

to be Acting Registrar of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the District of Tokaanu, on and from the 20th day of March 1952

Hedley Bernard Gaylard

to be Acting Registrar of Marriages for the District of Ashhurst and Acting Registrar of Births and Deaths at Ashhurst, on and from the 10th day of April 1952.

P. H. WYLDE, Registrar-General.

Fellows of the Royal Society of New Zealand Appointed

T is hereby notified that, at the Annual Meeting of the Council of the Royal Society of New Zealand held on 14 May 1951,—

Professor Francis C. Chalklin, D.Sc., Ph.D. (London). Francis B. Shorland, M.Sc. (Hons. N.Z.), Ph.D., D.Sc. (L'pool), F.N.Z.I.C.

were duly elected Fellows of the Royal Society of New Zealand.

F. R. CALLAGHAN. Permanent Secretary, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research.

Administration of the Noxious Weeds Act 1950 in Castlepoint County (Notice No. 5243)

Department of Agriculture, Wellington, 30 April 1952.

THE following special order, made by the Castlepoint County Council on the 8th day of April 1952, is published in accordance with the provisions of the Noxious Weeds Act 1950.

SPECIAL ORDER

That, in pursuance and in exercise of the powers and authorities vested in it by the Counties Act 1920, the Noxious Weeds Act 1950, and all other Acts, regulations, and amendments relative thereto, the Castlepoint County Council doth hereby resolve by way of special order to assume responsibility for the administration of the Noxious Weeds Act 1950 in the County of Castlepoint as from the 1st day of April 1952.

K. J. HOLYOAKE, Minister of Agriculture.

(Ag. 70/3/218)

Weeds in the City of Christchurch (Notice No. Ag. 5244) Plants Declared Noxious

Department of Agriculture, Wellington, 1 May 1952.

THE following special order, made by the Christchurch City Council on the 21st day of April 1952, is published in accordance with the provisions of the Noxious Weeds Act 1950.

SPECIAL ORDER

That, in pursuance and exercise of the powers conferred on it by the Noxious Weeds Act 1950, the Christchurch City Council hereby resolves, by way of special order, that the plants named in the Schedule hereunder be declared noxious weeds within the City of Christchurch.

SCHEDULE

Blackberry (Rubus fruticosus and Rubus laciniatus). Bindweed (Convolvulus arvensis).

Boxthorn (Lycium ferocissimum syn. Lycium horridum). Californian thistle (Cirsium arvense).

Common broom (Cytisus scoparius).
Fennel (Foeniculum vulgare).
Gorse (Ulex, any species).
Greater bindweed or convolvulus (Calystegia sepium).
Hemlock (Conium maculatum).

Hoary cress (Cardaria draba syn. Lepidium draba). Ragwort (Senecio jacobaea).

Scotch thistle and star thistle (Cirsium lanceolatum, Centaurea calcitrapa).

Tutsan (Hypericum androsaemum).

K. J. HOLYOAKE, Minister of Agriculture.

(Ag. 70/10/123)