made :-

General List-

106

The Royal N.Z. Artillery-

Temp. Captain J. E. Stiffe resigns his commission. Dated 3 December 1951.

The Royal N.Z. Armoured Corps-

Lieutenant-Colonel R. P. R. McGlashan, O.B.E., is posted to the Retired List. Dated 21 November 1951.

The Royal N.Z. Infantry Corps-

Lieutenant B. A. Packer, from the Reserve of Officers, Supplementary List, to be Lieutenant. Dated 1 January 1952. 2nd Lieutenant I. J. S. Laidlaw resigns his commission. Dated 18 December 1951.

T. L. MACDONALD, Minister of Defence.

Promotions of Officers of the Emergency Force

Army Department, Wellington, 26 January 1952.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following promotions of officers of the Emergency Force :--

THE ROYAL N.Z. ARTILLERY

2nd Lieutenant (*temp.* Lieutenant, Acting Captain) T. A. N. Vine to be temp. Captain whilst employed as Quartermaster. Dated 13 November 1951.

2nd Lieutenant L. A. Mawhinney to be Lieutenant. Dated 13 November 1951.

THE ROYAL N.Z. ARMY MEDICAL CORPS

Lieutenant C. G. Powell, M.B., Ch.B., to be temp. Captain whilst employed as M.O. Dated 1 December 1951.

T. L. MACDONALD, Minister of Defence.

Members of South Taranaki Milk Board Appointed

Office of Minister of Marketing, Wellington, 23 January 1952.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased, in pur-suance of subsection (3) of section 2 of the Milk Amendment Act 1947, to appoint-

Guy William Thomas Corbett, Frank Crauford Dunlop, Frederick William Finer, Thomas Charles Hobbs, Edmund Phillip Houghton, Eric George Lambert, and Ernest Hawkes Linnell

to be members of the South Taranaki Milk Board, constituted by the South Taranaki Milk Board Constitution Order 1948, for a term of three years commencing on the 23rd day of January 1952.

K. J. HOLYOAKE, Minister of Marketing.

Coroner Appointed

Department of Justice, Wellington, 18 December 1951. HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint. appoint

Reginald Sutton Cooper, Esquire, of Great Barrier Island, to be a Coroner for New Zealand. T. CLIFTON WEBB, Minister of Justice.

Appointment of Member and Chairman of Land Valuation Committee

Department of Justice Wellington, 14 January 1952.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint Stanley Logan Paterson, Esquire, Stipendiary Magistrate,

to be a member and the Chairman of the Waikato No. 1 Land Valuation Committee vice John Hector Luxford, Esquire, retired. T. CLIFTON WEBB, Minister of Justice.

Appointment of Honorary Fishery Officers

IN pursuance and exercise of the power and authority conferred upon me by section 29 of the Statutes Amendment Act 1946, I, William Stanley Goosman, Minister of Marine, do hereby appoint the persons named hereunder to be Honorary Fishery Officers for the purposes of Part I of the Fisheries Act 1908, to hold office until the Plate deep of March 1972. the 31st day of March 1953 :-

Grev Aitken, of Frankton;

Edward Charles Taylor Broadley, of Foxton; and Henry Murray (senior), of Whangaruru.

Dated at Wellington, this 21st day of January 1952.

W. S. GOOSMAN, Minister of Marine.

Registrar of Marriages, &c., Appointed

Registrar-General's Office, Wellington, 28 January 1952.

T is hereby notified that the following appointments have been made

Isabella Annie Gilmour (Miss) to be Deputy Registrar of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for

the District of Duncdin and Deputy Registrar of Births and Deaths of Maoris at Dunedin on and from the 10th day of January 1952. Eileen Rosa Jesen (Miss)

to be Acting Registrar of Births and Deaths of Maoris at Maketu on and from the 5th day of December 1951.

Stanley Picton Davies

to be Acting Registrar of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the District of East Taieri on and from the 4th day of January 1952. Alexander Royal Spinley

to be Acting Registrar of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the District of Drury on and from the 4th day of January 1952. Wilfred Eric Tollan

to be Acting Registrar of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the District of Eltham on and from the 4th day of December 1951.

Claude William Henry Foster

to be Acting Registrar of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the District of Ormondville on and from the 21st day of December 1951. Jack Kenneth Thompson

to be Acting Registrar of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the District of Te Anga and Acting Registrar of Births and Deaths of Maoris at Te Anga on and from the 27th day of November 1951. Murray Robert Terry

to be Acting Registrar of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the District of Wyndham on and from the 7th day of January 1952. Sydney Matthew Wouldes

to be Acting Registrar of Births and Deaths for the District of Devonport on and from the 28th day of December 1951.

Francis Geoffrey Robb to be Acting Registrar of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the District of Popotuna on and from the 27th day of December 1951.

P. H. WYLDE, Registrar-General.

Administration of the Noxious Weeds Act 1950 in the Horowhenua County (Notice No. Ag. 5200)

Department of Agriculture, Wellington, 24 January 1952.

THE following resolution, passed by the Horowhenua County Council on the 9th day of January 1952, is published in accordance with the provisions of the Noxious Weeds Act 1950.

RESOLUTION

That, as from 1 April 1952, the Horowhenua County Council assumes responsibility within its district for the administration of the Noxious Weeds Act 1950.

K. J. HOLYOAKE, Minister of Agriculture.

(Ag. 70/3/215)

Plants Declared to be Noxious Weeds in Coromandel County (Notice No. Ag. 5201)

Department of Agriculture, Wellington, 24 January 1952.

THE following special order, made by the Coromandel County Council on the 12th day of December 1951, is published in accordance with the provisions of the Noxious Weeds Act 1950.

SPECIAL ORDER

In exercise of the powers conferred by section 3 of the Noxious Weeds Act 1950 the Coromandel County Council hereby resolves and declares by way of Special Order that the plants mentioned hereafter shall be deemed to be noxious weeds within the County of Coromandel.

Blackberry (Rubus fruticosus and Rubus laciniatus). Californian thistle, Canadian thistle, or creeping thistle (Cirsium arvense).

Bathurst bur (Xanthium spinosum).

Bathurst bur (Xanthrum spinosum). Common broom (Cytisus scoparius). Cut-leaved psoralea (Psoralea pinnata). Fennel (Foeniculum vulgare). Foxglove (Digitalis purpurea). Gorse (Ulex, any species). Hemlock (Conium maculatum).

Mist flower and Mexican devil (Eupatorium adenophorum). Ragwort (Senecio jacobaea). St. John's wort (Hypericum perforatum).

Sweetbrier (Rosa eğlanteria syn. Rosa rubiginosa).

K. J. HOLYOAKE, Minister of Agriculture. (Ag: 70/10/117)