The undermentioned Cadet Pilots are granted commissions for a period of eight years with the rank of Acting Pilot Officer (on prob.), to be followed by a period of four years in the Reserve of Air Force

> 457833 Ian Albert Hutchins. 621016 Barrie James Reid. 814792 Maynard Roger HAWKINS. 300775 Barrie Jansen Dudding. 76077 Edward Charles Wilkinson. 76073 James Hirst BAYLISS.

Dated 19 December 1951.

76080 Cadet Navigator Kenneth Leslie Thorn is granted a commission for a period of eight years with the rank of Acting Pilot Officer (on prob.), to be followed by a period of four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. Dated 19 December 1951.

The undermentioned Cadet Pilots are granted commissions for a period of six years with the rank of Acting Pilot Officer (on prob.), to be followed by a period of four years in the Reserve of Air Force

73249 Hugh Costall. 592604 Rex Stephenson Ford. 578398 Graeme Stuart Potts. 458456 Neil John Wood. 815351 Neil Frances Anderson. 621304 Leon Thomas McCready. 76076 Norwood Brian Ussher. 816239 Francis Manuel Maguire. 327103 Brian Stanley-Hunt. 76074 Clifford George REVELL. 300083 David Manson CROOKS. 527170 John Beavis RANDLE.

76075 Arthur Ronald Lawrence Russell.
Dated 19 December 1951.

The undermentioned Cadet Navigators are granted commissions for a period of six years with the rank of Acting Pilot Officer (on prob.), to be followed by a period of four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers :-

> 76078 Robert Birks PARKER. 76079 Norman Eric RICHARDSON.

Dated 19 December 1951.

WOMEN'S AUXILIARY AIR FORCE

REGULAR SECTION

Resignation

Flight Officer Thelma Mabel O'Neill (70352) resigns her commission. Dated 17 August 1952.

TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Transfers

Flight Lieutenant David Francis Thomas Sheehan, D.F.C. (412748), is transferred from the Reserve of Air Force Officers to the Territorial Air Force for a period of five years with his present rank and with seniority as from 15 May 1949, to be followed by a period of four years in the Reserve. Dated 12 August 1952.

Flight Lieutenant Leslie Oscar Hunter (131506) is transferred

from the Reserve of Air Force Officers to the Territorial Air Force for a period of five years with his present rank and with seniority as from 19 June 1950, to be followed by a period of four years in the

Reserve. Dated 15 July 1952.

Flying Officer David Alan Thom (130666) is transferred from the Reserve of Air Force Officers to the Territorial Air Force for a period of five years with his present rank and with seniority as from 1 July 1951, to be followed by a period of four years in the Reserve. Dated 18 August 1952.

T. L. MACDONALD, Minister of Defence,

Appointments, Transfers, and Resignation of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Air Department, Wellington, 12 September 1952.

HIS Excellency the Administrator of the Government has been pleased to approve the following arms. pleased to approve the following appointments, transfers and resignation of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:—

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointments

The undermentioned airmen are granted commissions for a period of five years with the rank of Pilot Officer (on prob.), to be followed by a period of four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers :-

70923 Flight Sergeant Navigator Ronald Charles Macfarlane. 71450 Sergeant Navigator Robert Neville MacDonell. 71466 Sergeant Navigator Ian Hugh Fraser. 75446 Sergeant Pilot John Lewis Nicholson Harris. Dated 18 June 1952.

75439 Sergeant Navigator Ivor Veitch MACKAY is granted a commission for a period of four years with the rank of Pilot Officer (on prob.), to be followed by a period of four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. Dated 18 June 1952.

The undermentioned airmen are granted commissions for a period of three years with the rank of Pilot Officer (on prob.), to be followed by a period of four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers :-

72507 Sergeant Navigator Peter Reece Evans.
73887 Sergeant Pilot John Francis Tanner.
73478 Sergeant Pilot Douglas Alfred Bray.

Dated 18 June 1952.

Resignation

Acting Pilot Officer (on prob.) Clifford George Revell, B.Sc. (76074), resigns his commission. Dated 20 June 1952.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Appointment

Equipment Division—

William Eric TURNHAM (74574) is granted a permanent commission with the rank of Flying Officer and with seniority as from 1 September 1951. Dated 1 September 1952.

Flight Lieutenant Derek Olsen Turner (133453) is transferred from the Reserve of Air Force Officers to the Active List and is granted a permanent commission with the rank of Flying Officer and with seniority as from 1 March 1951. Dated 1 September 1952.

TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointment

Pilot Officer (on prob.) Keith Miller HAY, M.A. (130115), is confirmed in his appointment and granted the temporary rank of Flying Officer. Dated 19 March 1952.

Transfers

The undermentioned officers are transferred from the Regular Air Force to the Territorial Air Force for a period of four years with their present rank and seniority, to be followed by a period of four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers:—

Pilot Officer (on prob.) Bruce Leonard Cathie (130702). Pilot Officer (on prob.) Stanley Russell QUENNELL (130797).

Dated 12 August 1952.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Transfers

The undermentioned officers are transferred from the Territorial Air Force to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four

Flight Lieutenant John Cowley Hazledine, M.B., Ch.B. (130135). Dated 31 July 1952.

Flight Lieutenant Maurice Raymond BLANK, D.F.C. (130092). Dated 31 August 1952.

Flight Lieutenant Thomas Charles Brian Cooper (130644). Dated 31 August 1952.

T. L. MACDONALD, Minister of Defence.

Visiting Justice to the Hautu and Rangipo Prisons Appointed

DURSUANT to section 17 of the Prisons Act 1908, His Excellency the Administrator of the Communication of the Commu the Administrator of the Government has been pleased to appoint

Eric Athol Gurney, Esquire, J.P.,

to be a Visiting Justice to the Hautu Prison at Tokaanu and the Rangipo Prison at National Park.
Dated at Wellington, this 16th day of September 1952.

T. CLIFTON WEBB, Minister of Justice.

Member of Licensing Committee Appointed

Department of Justice, Wellington, 12 September 1952.

IIS Excellency the Administrator of the Government has been pleased to appoint

Francis James Gracie, Esquire,

to be a member of the Licensing Committee in the District of Avon, vice W. C. Francis (deceased).

T. CLIFTON WEBB, Minister of Justice.

Trustee of the Wanganui Racecourse Reserve Appointed

PURSUANT to the Wanganui and Rangitikei Racecourses Act 1862, Province of Wellington, Session IX, No. 9, and the Acts Interpretation Act 1924, His Excellency the Administrator of the Government has been pleased to appoint

Douglas Goldie Young

to be a trustee of the Wanganui Racecourse Reserve, in place of William Andrew Veitch, resigned.

Dated at Wellington, this 15th day of September 1952. D. M. GREIG, Director-General of Lands.