Appointments and Promotions of Officers of the Emergency Force

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following appointments and promotions of officers of the Emergency Force:—

APPOINTMENTS

THE ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY CORPS

2nd Lieutenant S. B. Matthews (1st Battalion, The Auckland Regiment (Countess of Ranfurly's Own)). Dated 10 November

THE ROYAL N.Z. ARMY SERVICE CORPS

Major J. M. Mabbett (N.Z. Regular Force). Dated 5 December 1952

PROMOTIONS

THE ROYAL N.Z. ARTILLERY

Lieutenant M. F. Andrew to be temp. Captain whilst employed as Troop Commander. Dated 2 October 1952.

THE ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY CORPS

2nd Lieutenant W. R. A. Campbell to be temp. Lieutenant whilst employed as P.R.O. Dated 2 December 1952.

THE ROYAL N.Z. ARMY SERVICE CORPS

2nd Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant) A. S. Fotheringhame to be temp. Captain whilst employed as Workshops Platoon Commander. Dated 30 October 1952.

Lieutenant W. Davidson to be temp. Captain whilst employed as Administration Officer. Dated 27 October 1952.

Dated at Wellington, this 10th day of December 1952.

T. L. MACDONALD, Minister of Defence.

Staff of His Excellency the Governor-General

IIIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following appointments:—

STAFF OF HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL Honorary Aides-de-Camp

The undermentioned to be Honorary Aides-de-Camp to the Governor-General for the period 2 December 1952 to 1 December

Commander (S) Owen Rowland James Skyrme, Royal N.Z. Navy (Auckland). Commander Gillespie Hume Edwards, R.D., Royal N.Z. Naval

Reserve (Wellington).
Lieutenant-Commander John Neat Allan, V.R.D., Royal N.Z.
Naval Volunteer Reserve (Christchurch).
Lieutenant-Commander Joffre Paul Sinton Vallant, Royal N.Z.

Navy (Dunedin). Lieutenant-Colonel Kelvin Lloyd Brown, D.S.O., Royal N.Z.

Armoured Corps (Auckland).
Lieutenant-Colonel Bertrand Reidhaar Bullot, The N.Z.

Regiment (Wellington).
Lieutenant-Colonel Harold Albert Purcell, D.S.O., E.D.,

Royal N.Z. Armoured Corps (Christchurch).
Lieutenant-Colonel John Philip Cook, O.B.E., Royal N.Z.

Infantry (Dunedin).
Squadron Leader Grevis Goetz, O.B.E., Royal N.Z. Air Force (Auckland).

Wing Commander Robert Maxwell McKay, A.F.C., Royal N.Z. Air Force (Wellington).
Squadron Leader Raymond Jack Nelson Archibald, D.F.C.,

Territorial Air Force (Christchurch).
Wing Commander John Milne Checketts, D.S.O., D.F.C.,
Royal N.Z. Air Force (Dunedin).

Honorary Surgeon

The undermentioned to be Honorary Surgeon to the Governor-General for the period 2 December 1952 to 1 December 1953—

Colonel Graeme Gibson Talbot, O.B.E., M.B., Ch.B., F.R.A.C.S. M.R.C.O.G., Royal N.Z. Army Medical Corps (Auckland).

Honorary Physician

The undermentioned to be Honorary Physician to the Governor-General for the period 2 December 1952 to 1 December 1953-

Surgeon Commander Arnold Perry, O.B.E., V.R.D., M.B., Ch.B., F.R.C.S. (Edin.), Royal N.Z. Naval Volunteer Reserve (Dunedin).

Dated at Wellington, this 15th day of December 1952.

T. L. MACDONALD, Minister of Defence.

Appointment of Waterfront Industry Commission

PURSUANT to the Waterfront Industry Emergency Regulations 1946, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to re-appoint

Arthur Ernest Bockett, of Wellington,

to be the Commissioner of the Waterfront Industry Commission for a term of one year, commencing on the 14th day of December

Dated at Wellington, this 11th day of December 1952.

W. SULLIVAN, Minister of Labour.

Appointment of Waterfront Industry Tribunal

PURSUANT to the Waterfront Industry Emergency Regulations 1946, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to re-appoint

Kendrick Gee Archer

to be the sole Member of the Waterfront Industry Tribunal for a term of one year, commencing on the 14th day of December 1952.

Dated at Wellington, this 11th day of December 1952.

W. SULLIVAN, Minister of Labour.

Members of Licensing Committee Appointed

 ${f P}^{
m URSUANT}$ to section 49 of the Licensing Act 1908, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint—

Henry Thomas Perkins, and Alexander Edward McPhail

to be members of the Licensing Committee for the Licensing District of Christchurch, vice James Lorimer, deceased, and Walter Edwin Simes, deceased.

Dated at Wellington, this 8th day of December 1952.

T. CLIFTON WEBB, Minister of Justice.

Justice of the Peace Resigns

TIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to accept the resignation of the resignation of

Walter Alan Wainwright, Esquire,

of Auckland, of his appointment as a Justice of the Peace for New Zealand and its dependencies.

Dated at Wellington, this 8th day of December 1952.

T. CLIFTON WEBB, Minister of Justice.

Members of the Taranaki Maori Trust Board Appointed

Department of Maori Affairs, Wellington, 10 December 1952.

III IS Excellency the Governor-General in Council has, pursuant to section 49 of the Mace Parties of the M to section 49 of the Maori Purposes Act 1931 and the regulations made thereunder with respect to the Taranaki Maori Trust Board, appointed-

Te Whareraupo Te Kuratawhiti Tamou of Waitotara, Hana Tamaka Hawera, . . Teri Erueti Tekenui Pihama Tahurangi Tuhamua Pihopa Oeo, Oaonui. Pukearuhe, Urenui, New Plymouth, Raumati Pomare ... Pehimana Tamati ...

to be members of the Taranaki Maori Trust Board.

E. B. CORBETT, Minister of Maori Affairs.

(M.A. 26/5/2)

Members of Domain Boards Appointed

PURSUANT to section 49 of the Public Reserves, Domains, and National Parks Act 1928, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint :-

Gus Abbev Jones

to be a member of the Lake Alexandrina Domain Board in place of Herbert Boyer Timmings, deceased.

Cecil Joseph Fantham

to be a member of the Papanui Domain Board in place of James Andrew Anderson.

Peter Rodgers Reid

to be a member of the Limehills Domain Board in place of Joseph Reid, deceased.

Leslie Baxendine Molland

to be a member of the Kowai Pass Domain Board in place of James Stewart Taylor Tolerton, deceased.

Dated at Wellington, this 10th day of December 1952.

D. M. GREIG, Director-General of Lands. (L. and S. 1/907)

Fellows of the Royal Society of New Zealand Appointed

T is hereby notified that, at the annual meeting of the Council of the Royal Society of New Zealand held on 20 May 1952

Bell, Muriel E., M.D., Ch.B., F.R.S.M., F.N.Z.I.C., Fleming, Charles Alexander, B.A., M.Sc., Percival, Professor Edward, B.Sc. (Leeds)., Duff, Roger Shepherd, M.A.,

were duly elected Fellows of the Royal Society of New Zealand.

F. R. CALLAGHAN, Permanent Secretary, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research.