Revocation of Appointment of Officer for the Purposes of the Food and Drugs Act 1947

DURSUANT to the Food and Drugs Act 1947, His Excellency the Governor-General has revoked the appointment of Frederick Robert Bugg

as an officer for the purposes of the Food and Drugs Act 1947. Dated at Wellington, this 16th day of July 1953.

J. R. MARSHALL, Minister of Health. (H.F. and D. 53/2)

Members of Board of Health Appointed

PURSUANT to the Health Act 1920, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Muriel Emma Bell, M.D. (N.Z.), F.N.Z.I.C., James Leslie Burnett, M.B.E., Sir James Sands Elliott, M.D. (Edin.), F.R.A.C.S., Edwin Henry Staples Hamilton, Sir Charles Ernest Hercus, D.S.O., O.B.E., M.D., Ch.B., B.D.S., D.P.H. (N.Z.), F.R.A.C.S., F.R.A.C.P., and Norman Harold Moss

as members of the Board of Health for a term of three years from the 20th day of August 1953.

Dated at Wellington, this 23rd day of July 1953.

J. R. MARSHALL, Minister of Health.

(H.H. 53/6)

Members of Domain Boards Appointed

PURSUANT to Section 49 of the Public Reserves and Domains Act 1928, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Henderson Cowie, Albert McCord Jamieson, and Roy Gordon Murdoch

to be members of the Paihia Domain Board in place of Stanley Austin Carr, deceased, Leonard William Delph, and Jack Hector Gibson, resigned.

Jack Henry Bryan Phillips

to be a member of the Carter's Beach Domain Board in place of James William McGill, resigned.

Leonard James Crowe and David Stowell

to be members of the Arundel Domain Board in place of Alan Fletcher and William Jackson, resigned.

Albert William John Perry

to be a member of the Pounawea Domain Board in place of Arthur Henry Bates Brough, left the district.

Rex Joseph Stevens

to be a member of the Clyde Domain Board in place of Joseph Lindsay Davidson, deceased.

Dated at Wellington, this 23rd day of July 1953.

D. M. GREIG, Director-General of Lands.

(L. and S. H.O. 1/688)

Registrar of Marriages, etc., Appointed

PURSUANT to the Marriage Act 1908, the Births and Deaths Registration Act 1951, and the Maori Births and Deaths Registration Regulations 1935, it is hereby notified that the following appointments have been made:

Thomas Alexander Jacobson

to be Registrar of Marriages for the District of Pahiatua and Registrar of Births and Deaths and of Births and Deaths of Maoris at Pahiatua on and from the 1st day of August 1953.

Arthur George Osborn

to be Acting Registrar of Marriages for the District of Takaka and Acting Registrar of Births and Deaths and of Births and Deaths of Maoris at Takaka on and from the 10th day of July 1953.

Raymond John Moess

to be Registrar of Marriages for the District of Rongotea and Registrar of Births and Deaths at Rongotea on and from the 6th day of July 1953.

Marion June Jensen (Miss)

to be Acting Registrar of Marriages for the District of Rangiwhahia and Acting Registrar of Births and Deaths at Rangiwhahia on and from the 4th day of July 1953.

Hector William Urquhart Donald

to be Acting Registrar of Marriages for the District of Mangapehi, at Mangakino, and Acting Registrar of Births and Deaths at Mangakino on and from the 9th day of July

Ernest Arthur Gould

to be Acting Registrar of Marriages for the District of Rangitikei and Acting Registrar of Births and Deaths at Marton on and from the 27th day of July 1953.

Eric Hammond

to be Registrar of Marriages for the District of Richmond and Registrar of Births and Deaths at Richmond on and from the 20th day of July 1953.

Donald Hine

to be Registrar of Births and Deaths of Maoris at Whakarara on and from the 25th day of May 1953.

Dated at Wellington, this 27th day of July 1953.

S. T. BARNETT, Registrar-General.

Plants Declared Noxious Weeds in the Pohangina County (Notice No. Ag. 5472)

PURSUANT to the Noxious Weeds Act 1950, the Minister of Agriculture hereby publishes the following special order made by the Pohangina County Council on the 18th day of June 1953.

SPECIAL ORDER

That, in exercise of the powers conferred on it by section 3 of the Noxious Weeds Act 1950, the Pohangina County Council resolves by way of special order that the plants mentioned in the Schedule hereinafter set out be and are hereby declared noxious weeds within the district of the Pohangina County.

SCHEDULE

Barberry (Berberis vulgaris).
Blackberry (Rubus fruticosus and Rubus laciniatus).
Common broom (Cytisus scoparius).

Gorse (Ulex, any species).

Milk thistle or variegated thistle (Silybum marianum).

Ragwort (Senecio jacobaea).

Dated at Wellington, this 22nd day of July 1953. K. J. HOLYOAKE, Minister of Agriculture.

Nobel Peace Prize, 1954

THE following despatch, received from the Secretary of State Commonwealth Relations, is published for general information.

Dated at Wellington, this 21st day of July 1953.

W. A. BODKIN, Minister of Internal Affairs.

Commonwealth Relations Office, Downing Street, S.W. 1, 17 June, 1953.

NEW ZEALAND Circular Despatch B No. 11

(Ag. 70/10/76)

I have the honour to refer to my predecessor's despatch of the 20th June 1952, Circular B No. 10, and to transmit copies of a circular issued by the Nobel Committee of the Norwegian Parliament regarding nominations for the

Nobel Peace Prize for 1954.

It would be appreciated if the conditions of the Prize could be made known to those bodies and persons who are qualified to nominate candidates.

I have the honour to be, Sir,
Your most obedient, humble servant,
(Sgd.) SWINTON.

The Minister of External Affairs, New Zealand.

NOBEL PEACE PRIZE

All proposals of candidates for the Nobel Peace Prize, which is to be distributed December 10th 1954, must, in order to be taken into consideration, be laid before the Nobel Committee of the Norwegian Parliament by a duly qualified person before the first of February of the same year.

Any one of the following persons is held to be duly qualified: (a) Members and late members of the Nobel Committee of the Norwegian Parliament, as well as the advisers appointed at the Norwegian Nobel Institute; (b) Members of Parliament and Members of Government of the different States, as well as Members of the Interparliamentary Union; (c) Members of the International Arbitration Court at the Hague; (d) Members of the Council of the International Peace Bureau; (e) Members and Associates of the Institute, of International Law; (f) University professors of Political Science and of Law, of History, and of Philosophy; and (g) Persons who have received the Nobel Peace Prize.

The Nobel Peace Prize may also be accorded to institutions or associations.

tions or associations.

According to the Code of Statutes, § 8, the grounds upon which any proposal is made must be stated and handed in along with such papers and other documents as may therein be referred to.

According to § 3, every written work, to qualify for a prize, must have appeared in print.

For particulars, qualified persons are requested to apply to the Office of the Nobel Committee of the Norwegian Parliament, Drammensvei 19, Oslo.