# GENERAL RESERVE

Transfers

Flight Lieutenant Lawrence Lymburn Cowan (70271) is transferred from the Administrative and Supply Branch, Secretarial Division, Regular Air Force, to the Administrative and Supply Branch, Secretarial Division, General Reserve, for a period of four years. Dated 18 November 1951.

Flying Officer Arthur Ernest Mason (70311) is transferred from the Administrative and Supply Branch, Equipment Division, General Reserve, for a period of four years. Dated 26 January 1952.

Squadron Leader Joseph George Harkness, M.B., Ch.B., (72962) is transferred from the Medical Branch, Regular Air Force, to the Medical Branch, General Reserve, for a period of four years. Dated 24 March 1952.

The undermentioned officers are transferred from the Education Branch, Regular Air Force, to the Education Branch, General Reserve, for a period of four years with effect from the date shown against each name:

Flight Lieutenant William John Gilmour, B.A. (70325).

Flight Lieutenant William John GILMOUR, B.A. (70325). 20 January 1950. Flight Lieuteant John Peter RIDDELL (75417). 9 April 1952.

Dated at Wellington, this 15th day of September 1953. T. L. MACDONALD, Minister of Defence.

Members of Clerks of Works Registration Board Appointed

PURSUANT to section 3 of the Clerks of Works Act 1944, the Minister of Labour hereby appoints

James Alexander Suiter.

and on the recommendation of the New Zealand Institute of Architects

Hubert Conrad Morton,

and on the recommendation of the New Zealand Institute of Clerks of Works

Charles Hunter Downes, John Hallewell, and Sidney Robert Lewis

to be members of the Clerks of Works Registration Board for a term of one year ending on the 13th day of April 1954.

Dated at Wellington, this 17th day of September 1953.

W. SULLIVAN, Minister of Labour.

For the Minister of Justice.

## Member of Licensing Committee Appointed

PURSUANT to section 42 of the Licensing Act 1908, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

William Melville Will, Esquire, of Hastings, to be a member of the Licensing Committee for the Licensing District of Hastings, vice C. Griffiths, Esquire, deceased.

Dated at Wellington, this 12th day of September 1953. J. R. MARSHALL,

Members of Assessment Court for Farm-land List for Borough of Otahuhu Appointed

PURSUANT to section 10 of the Urban Farm Land Rating Act 1932, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

John Herbert Ferguson, Retired Farmer, of Papatoetoe, to be a member of the Assessment Court for the Borough of Otahuhu, in place of David Kay, deceased; and also to

Stacey Ernest Bennett, Land Agent, Auctioneer, and Registered Valuer, of Auckland,

on the recommendation of the Otahuhu Borough Council, to be a member of the said Court, in place of Jabez Bunting Wallis, deceased.

Dated at Wellington, this 17th day of September 1953. W. A. BODKIN, Minister of Internal Affairs. (I.A. 103/2/29)

### Members of the Ngaitahu Trust Board Appointed

PURSUANT to the provisions of section 4 of the Ngaitahu Trust Board Act 1946, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint the following persons to be members of the Ngaitahu Trust Board for the districts set out opposite their respective names:

Douglas Pohio Sinclair, Te Ika a Maui district. Raniera Ellison, Araiteuru district. Te Aritaua Pitama, Akaroa district. Robert Charles Teipana, Arowhenua district. Hoani Pitama, Maahanui district. Thomas Stewart Spencer, Murihiku district. Rangi Solomon, Kaikoura district.

Dated at Wellington, this 10th day of September 1953. E. B. CORBETT, Minister of Maori Affairs.

Taieri River Trust-Appointment of Commissioner

WHEREAS by a warrant dated the 5th day of August WHEREAS by a warrant dated the 5th day of August 1949, and published in Gazette No. 47 of the 11th day of the same month, Archibald Gavin Park, Esquire, District Commissioner of Works, Dunedin, was appointed a Commissioner of the Taieri River Trust in terms of Section 3 of the Taieri River Improvement Act 1920:

And whereas the said Archibald Gavin Park has now resigned and it is considered expedient to appoint another Commissioner in lieu of the said Archibald Gavin Park:

Now, therefore, the Minister of Works, pursuant to section 3 of the Taieri River Improvement Act 1920, hereby cancels the appointment of the said Archibald Gavin Park to be a Commissioner of the Taieri River Trust, and hereby appoints

Eric Copland Smart, Esquire, District Commissioner of Works, Ministry of Works, Dunedin,

to be Commissioner of the Taieri River Trust.

As witness my hand at Wellington, this 22nd day of September 1953.

W. S. GOOSMAN, Minister of Works.

(P.W. 96/743000)

#### Appointment of Honorary Ranger

PURSUANT to the provisions of the Harbours Act 1950, the Minister of Marine hereby appoints

Leslie Raymond Eide

to be an Honorary Ranger of Beaches for the purpose of the Harbours Act 1950.

Dated at Wellington, this 18th day of September 1953. W. S. GOOSMAN, Minister of Marine.

#### Appointment of Honorary Fishery Officers

PURSUANT to section 29 of the Statutes Amendment Act 1946, the Minister of Marine hereby appoints

William James Hill, of Karamea, and Douglas Garner Wright, of Te Kuiti,

to be Honorary Fishery Officers for the purposes of Part I of the Fisheries Act 1908, such persons to hold office until the 31st day of March 1956.

Dated at Wellington, this 15th day of September 1953. W. S. GOOSMAN, Minister of Marine.

## Commissioner of the Supreme Court Appointed

PURSUANT to section 47 of the Judicature Act 1908, the Right Honourable Sir Humphrey Francis O'Leary, K.C.M.G., Chief Justice of New Zealand, has this day appointed

Ormonde Sidney Butler, Esquire, of Griffith and Hillston, New South Wales, Australia, a Solicitor of the Supreme Court of New South Wales,

to be a Commissioner of the Supreme Court of New Zealand in New South Wales for the purpose of administering and taking all such oaths, affidavits, and affirmations as in the said section mentioned.

Dated at Wellington, this 14th day of September 1953. W. PARKER, Registrar, Supreme Court.

## Members of Domain Boards Appointed

PURSUANT to section 49 of the Public Reserves and Domains Act 1928, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

James Oliver Larsen

to be a member of the Pungarehu Domain Board in place of Patrick Brophy, deceased.

Charles Fieldwick and Robert John Allan

to be members of the Harwood Park Domain Board in place of Stanley Hume Deans and Sydney Ian Morton, resigned.

Alan Kilgour Reid

to be a member of the Berwick Domain Board in place of William Richard Dickson, resigned.

Aubrey Douglas Lee

to be a member of the Waikaia Domain Board in place of John Alexander Christie, resigned.

Dated at Wellington, this 17th day of September 1953. D. M. GREIG, Director-General of Lands.

(L. and S. H.O. 1/239)