# Date of Election of Members of Fire Boards by Insurance Companies

PURSUANT to the Fire Services Act 1949, it is hereby **P**<sup>URSUANT</sup> to the Fire Services Act 1949, it is hereby notified that an election by the fire-insurance companies carrying on business in New Zealand of members of the undermentioned fire boards will be held on Thursday, the 11th day of February 1954, in the manner prescribed by the said Act. The number of members to be elected in the case of the Auckland Metropolitan Fire Board, the Dunedin Metropolitan Fire Board, and the North Shore Fire Board shall be four. In the case of Christchurch, Hastings, Nelson, Wanganui, and Wellington Fire Boards the number shall be three and in all others two members.

Auckland Metropolitan Fire Board. Board. Balclutha Fire Board. Cambridge Fire Board. Carterton Fire Board. Christchurch Fire Board. Dannevirke Fire Board. Dargaville Fire Board. Dunedin Metropolitan Fire Board. Eltham Fire Board. Feilding Fire Board. Board. Eltham Fire Board. Feilding Fire Board. Foxton Fire Board. Gisborne Fire Board. Gisborne Fire Board. Hamilton Fire Board. Hawera Fire Board. Hawera Fire Board. Hokitika Fire Board. Hokitika Fire Board. Hokitika Fire Board. Kaitangata Fire Board. Kaitangata Fire Board. Lawrence Fire Board. Lower Hutt Fire Board. Lower Hutt Fire Board. Masterton Fire Board. Milton Fire Board. Morrinsville Fire Board. Napier Fire Board. Napier Fire Board. Nelson Fire Board. Dated at Wellington,

New Plymouth Fire Board. North Shore Fire Board. Oamaru Fire Board. Ohakune Fire Board. Opotiki Fire Board. Otaki Fire Board. Palmerston North Fire Board. Otaki Fire Board. Pahiatua Fire Board. Palmerston North Fire Board. Patea Fire Board. Petone Fire Board. Pukekohe Fire Board. Rotorua Fire Board. Stratford Fire Board. Taumarunui Fire Board. Taumarunui Fire Board. Taumarunui Fire Board. Te Aroha Fire Board. Te Aroha Fire Board. Upper Hutt Fire Board. Upper Hutt Fire Board. Waihi Fire Board. Waipukurau Fire Board. Waitara Fire Board. Watara Fire Board. Westport Fire Board. Whangarei Fire Board. Whangarei Fire Board.

Dated at Wellington, this 14th day of January 1954. W. A. BODKIN, Minister of Internal Affairs. (I.A. 76/4/1)

Notice of Intention to Take Additional Land in the City of Dunedin for a University College

NOTICE is hereby given that it is proposed under the provisions of the Public Works Act 1928 to take the additional land described in the Schedule hereto for a univer-sity college; and notice is hereby further given that the plan of the additional land so required to be taken is deposited in the post office at Dunedin North and is there open for inspec-tion, and that all persons affected by the taking of the said land should, if they have any well-grounded objections to the taking of such land, set forth the same in writing and send such writing within forty days from the first publication of this notice to the Minister of Works at Wellington.

#### SCHEDULE

APPROXIMATE area of the piece of additional land required to be taken: 0.09 perch. Being part Section 42. Situated in Block XXIX, Town of Dunedin (City of Dunedin). (Otago R.D.) (S.O. 11724.) In the Otago Land District; as the same is more particularly delineated on the plan marked P.W.D. 141247, deposited in the office of the Minister of Works at Wellington, and thereon coloured vellow. and thereon coloured yellow.

As witness my hand at Wellington, this 18th day of January 1954.

W. S. GOOSMAN, Minister of Works. (P.W. 31/1159/1; D.O. 16/67/L)

Exemption Orders Under the Motor Drivers Regulations 1940

PURSUANT to the Motor Drivers Regulations 1940, the Minister of Transport hereby orders and declares that the provisions of clause (1) of regulation 7 of the said regulations so far as they relate to the driving of heavy trade motors shall not apply to the persons hereinafter mentioned, but in lieu thereof the following provision shall apply: A motor driver's licence issued under the Motor Drivers Regulations 1940 to the persons described in column 1 of the Schedule hereunder may authorize them to drive a heavy trade motor in the course of their employment for the employers described in Column 2 of the said Schedule, but shall not authorize them, while they are under the age of eighteen years, to drive a heavy trade motor for any other purpose.

### SCHEDULE

Column 1 (Drivers)

Column 2 (Employers)

Ronald Barrie Wilson, New Plymouth Michael Saville Anthony Isaacs, Hastings Ian Ernest Swainson, Hatuma J. McCormick. Dated at Wellington, this 7th day of January 1954.

W. S. GOOSMAN, Minister of Transport.

New Year Honours List

 $T^{\rm HE}$  Governor-General has been commanded by The Queen to announce that Her Majesty has been pleased, on the occasion of the New Year, to confer the following honours:

#### CIVIL DIVISION

Knight Commander of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George (K.C.M.G.)-

The Honourable Harold Eric Barrowclough, C.B., D.S.O., M.C., E.D., Chief Justice of New Zealand.

Knight Bachelor-

Mr John Moody Albert Ilott, of Wellington.

- Companion of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George (C.M.G.)-

  - Mr George Edwin Lisle Alderton, High Commissioner for New Zealand in Australia.
    Mr Guy Richardson Powles, High Commissioner of Western Samoa.

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.)-

- Mr Thomas Abram Barrow, of Howick. Mr George Lyttelton Laurenson, of Wellington. The Right Reverend Wiremu Netana Panapa, of Kohu-patiki, Hawke's Bay. Professor William Riddet, of Palmerston North.
- Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (0.B.E.)---(0.B.E.)— Dr William Arthur Anderson, of Queenstown. Miss Marjorie Fulton Barnett, of Wellington. Mr John Blacklock Carruthers, of Hamua, Eketahuna. Mr Harold Fisher Guy, of Kaikohe. Mr Walter Alexander Lee, of Otorohanga. Mr Wallace George Lowe, of Hastings. Mr Norman Harold Moss, of Stratford. The Honourable William James Rogers, of Wanganui. Mr John Brown Sim, of Pukekohe. Mr William Alfred Stevenson, of Howick.
- Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.)-
  - Mrs Carrie Sarah McDiarmid Adnams, of Beachhaven, Auckland.

  - Auckland. Mr George Frederick Allen, of Sumner, Christchurch. Mr Walter Edward Barber, of Motuiti, Foxton. Miss Catherine Jane Campbell, of Timaru, Mr John Corder, of Wakapuaka, Nelson. Miss Lily Ann Donohue, of Christchurch. Miss Helen May Hunter, of Waipukurau. Mrs Ellen Isabella Maider, of Dunedin. The Reverend Wharetini Rangi, of Ruatoki North. Mr Walter George Rutherford, of Palmerston North. Mr Donald William Rutledge, of Auckland. Mrs Norma Leonie Shelton, of Tolaga Bay. Mr Kenneth George Leslie Smith, of Hamilton (formerly of Dunedin). Mr Walter Frederick Sturman, of Invercargill. Mrs Mairatea Tahiwi, of Wellington. Sister Leyden Josephine Tingey, of Dunedin. Mr Herbert Frederick Wood, of Wellington.
- British Empire Medal (B.E.M.)-

Miss Alice Hollis, of Wellington. Mr Charles Stanley Yates, of Auckland.

## MILITARY DIVISION

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.)—

- Brigadier James Russell Page, D.S.O., Adjutant-General and Second Military Member of the Army Board, of Wellington.
- Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.)-

Chaplain Henry Gordon Taylor, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Carterton.

of Carterton. Lieutenant-Colonel Edgar William Aked, M.C., New Zealand Territorial Force, of Tauranga. Wing Commander Stanley George Quill, D.F.C., Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Christchurch.