Setting Apart Maori Land as a Maori Reservation

C. W. M. NORRIE, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 22nd day of September 1954

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL PURSUANT to section 439 of the Maori Affairs Act 1953, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby sets apart the Maori freehold land described in the Schedule hereto as a Maori reservation for the purpose of a burial ground for the common use of the owners.

SCHEDULE

NORTH AUCKLAND LAND DISTRICT

Block and Survey Area District
IV, Maungaru A. R. P. ... 0 2 0 Land Mareikura G 2H T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council. (M.A. 21/1/45)

Officers Authorized to Take Statutory Declarations

C. W. M. NORRIE, Governor-General

DURSUANT to section 301 of the Justices of the Peace Act 1927, His Excellency the Governor-General hereby authorizes the persons named in the Schedule hereto, being the holders of the offices specified after their names, to take and receive statutory declarations under that section.

SCHEDULE

SCHEDULE

Clifford Reid Williams, Postmaster, Aramoho.
Arthur Wright Evans, Postmaster, Cheviot.
Gordon Houston Pike, Manager, Money Order and Savings Bank
Branch, Post and Telegraph Department, Christchurch.
Allan Edward Insley, Postmaster and Telephonist, Cowes.
Lawrence Andrew Burke, Postmaster, Eketahuna.
Eric Ernest Curtis, Deputy Director-General, Post and Telegraph Department, General Post Office, Wellington.
Royal John Arthur McConville, Chief Postmaster, Greymouth.
Roy Martin, Postmaster, Greytown.
Leslie Redvers Riddell, Postmaster, Hastings.
Norman Lindsay Anderson, Postmaster, Kaeo.
John Creamer Plowright, Postmaster, Kaikohe.
William Lindsay Simpson, Postmaster and Telephonist,
Manutahi.

Manutahi.

Manutahi.
Allen Henry Stevens, Accountant, Chief Post Office, Masterton.
William Alfred Davies, Postmaster, Mosgiel.
Charles Sydney Ready, Postmaster, Motu.
Estella Koa Joy Flanagan, Postmistress, Motupiko.
Henry William Becker, Postmaster, Mount Maunganui.
Charles William Saunders, Postmaster, Mount Roskill.
Francis Leo Bonifacio, Postmaster, New Brighton.
William Ernest Mudge, Postmaster, Otautau.
Edward Alexander Richmond, Postmaster, Oxford.
James Guffie, Postmaster, Palmerston.
Eileen Margaret Gregory, Postmistress and Telephonist,
Pokaka.

Eileen Margaret Gregory, Postmistress and Telephonist, Pokaka.

James Jeremiah O'Sullivan, Postmaster, Pukekohe.

Walter Smith, Postmaster, Rotorua.

Denis Patrick Roughan, Postmaster, Te Aro.
Robert Osburne Symons, Chief Postmaster, Timaru.

Douglas Anderson, Postmaster, Waiuku.

Harold James Moss, Manager, Money Order and Savings Bank

Branch, Post and Telegraph Department, Wellington.

Thomas Raymond Hutton, Postmaster, Whangamomona.

Andrew Saba, Chief Postmaster, Whangarei.

Fred Gaukrodger Duncan, Postmaster, Kawerau.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General this 28th day of September 1954.

T. CLIFTON WEBB, Minister of Justice.

Officer Authorized to Take Statutory Declarations

C. W. M. NORRIE, Governor-General

PURSUANT to section 301 of the Justices of the Peace Act 1927, His Excellency the Governor-General hereby authorizes the person named in the Schedule hereto, being the holder of the office specified after his name, to take and receive statutory declarations under that section.

SCHEDULE

Wing Commander Robert Maxwell McKay, A.F.C., Commanding Officer, R.N.Z.A.F. Station, Hobsonville.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General this 30th day of September 1954.

T. CLIFTON WEBB, Minister of Justice.

Appointments, Promotions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army

PURSUANT to section 16 of the New Zealand Army Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following appointments, promotions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army:

THE ROYAL N.Z. ARTILLERY

Territorial Force

The notice published in the New Zealand Gazette No. 71, dated 15 November 1951, relative to 2nd Lieutenant (temp. Captain) S. T. Nolan, is hereby cancelled and the following

"2nd Lieutenant (temp. Captain) S. T. Nolan is posted to the Reserve of Officers, Supplementary List, with the rank of Captain. Dated 20 October 1945."

1st Field Regiment, R.N.Z.A.

Lieutenant R. G. Pollard, from the Reserve of Officers, General List, The Royal N.Z. Artillery, to be Lieutenant, with seniority from 30 November 1953. Dated 13 September 1954.

2nd Field Regiment, R.N.Z.A.

The notice published in the New Zealand Gazette No. 30, dated 9 May 1946, relative to temp. Captain P. G. Pasley, is hereby cancelled and the following substituted:

"Temp. Captain P. G. Pasley is posted to the Reserve of Officers, Supplementary List, with the rank of Major. Dated 6 April 1946."

14th Composite Anti-Aircraft Regiment, R.N.Z.A.

Lieutenant R. O. Bevin to be temp. Captain. Dated I September 1954.

THE ROYAL N.Z. ARMOURED CORPS

Regular Force

Lieutenant Peter Harvey Bell, from the Retired List, to be Lieutenant, with seniority from 6 September 1949. Dated 6 September 1954.

Territorial Force

2nd Armoured Regiment, R.N.Z.A.C.

Major R. B. F. Eastgate, from the Reserve of Officers, Regimental List, 3rd Armoured Regiment, R.N.Z.A.C., to be Major, with seniority from 19 January 1948. Dated 9 August

THE ROYAL N.Z. CORPS OF SIGNALS

Regular Force

31094 W.O. II Ronald Rutledge to be Lieutenant (on prob.) and is appointed 2 I.C., S.D. Sig. Tp. Dated 27 September 1954.

Territorial Force

1st Divisional Signals Regiment, R.N.Z. Sigs.

The notice published in the New Zealand Gazette No. 37, dated 17 June 1954, relative to Major J. D. Snow, is hereby cancelled and the following substituted:

"Major J. D. Snow is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, The Royal N.Z. Corps of Signals, with the rank of Major. Dated 30 April 1954."

Captain D. J. H. Meredith, M.B., Ch.B., from the Reserve of Officers, Regimental List, 1st General Hospital, R.N.Z.A.M.C., to be Captain, with seniority from 4 October 1948, and is appointed R.M.O. Dated 1 August 1954.

THE ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY CORPS

Regular Force

N.Z. Regiment

Lieutenant and Quartermaster (temp. Captain and Quartermaster) N. M. Laing to be Captain and Quartermaster. Dated 1 September 1954.

Territorial Force

The Northland Regiment

2nd Lieutenant L. H. Couper, 1st Battalion, is transferred to the Otago and Southland Regiment. Dated 11 May 1954.

The Otago and Southland Regiment

2nd Lieutenant L. H. Couper, from the Northland Regiment, to be 2nd Lieutenant, with seniority from 28 August 1953, and is posted to the 1st Battalion. Dated 11 May 1954.

THE ROYAL N.Z. ARMY SERVICE CORPS

Regular Force

Lieutenant D. S. R. Austin to be Captain. Dated 3 September 1954.

Territorial Force

1st Company, R.N.Z.A.S.C.

Captain B. R. Fenton is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, The Royal N.Z. Army Service Corps, with the rank of Captain. Dated 6 September 1954.