PURSUANT to regulation 5 of the Motor Drivers Regulations 1940, the Minister of Transport hereby approves of the persons named in Column 2 of the Schedule hereunder being testing officers under the said regulations for the authority specified in Column 1 of the said Schedule.

COUPDIII T

SCHEDULE		
Column 1	Column 2	
Transport Department Transport Department Transport Department	Alastair Pacey Dugdale. Algar Seymour Gualter. Henry Oran Wiley.	
Dated at Wellington this 17th day of December 1954.		
T. L. MACDONALD, for the Minister of Transport.		

PURSUANT to regulation 5 of the Motor Drivers Regulations 1940, the Minister of Transport hereby approves of the persons named in Column 2 of the Schedule hereunder being Testing Officers under the said regulations for the authority specified in Column 1 of the said Schedule.

SCHEDULE

Column 1	Column 2
Transport Department	Rex George.
Transport Department	
Transport Department	Clifford Irving Chettleburgh.
Transport Department	Gordon Graham Hood.
Dated at Wellington this	17th day of December 1954.
K. J. HOLYOAF	E, for the Minister of Transport

Approval of Splintex Safety Glass for Windscreens

PURSUANT to regulation 10 (6) of the Traffic Regulations 1936, the Minister of Transport hereby approves in terms of clause 5 (A) of regulation 10 of the Traffic Regulations 1936, of Splintex Safety Glass for the making of

Dated at Wellington this 14th day of December 1954.

T. L. MACDONALD, for the Minister of Transport.

Revoking Portion of a Warrant Declaring Area to be a Closely Populated Locality, and Declaring Area to be a Closely Populated Locality for the Purposes of the Transport Act 1949. Section 36

PURSUANT to section 36 of the Transport Act 1949, the Minister of Transport hereby revokes that portion of the Warrant dated the 28th day of October 1952* which applies to part of the road described in the Schedule hereto, and hereby declares the area described in the said Schedule to be a closely populated locality to the intent that a person driving any motor vehicle on any road therein shall be subject to the maximum speed limit of thirty miles an hour fixed by the said section.

SCHEDULE

SITUATED within Kairanga and Oroua Counties-

All that area at Bunnythorpe consisting of the Greatford-Ashhurst Main Highway No. 831 (that portion commencing at a point 4 chains measured in an easterly direction from its junction with Stoney Creek Road, proceeding thence in a north-westerly direction and terminating at a point 5 chains measured generally in a north-westerly direction from the Mangaone Stream Bridge).

Dated at Wellington this 17th day of December 1954.

T. L. MACDONALD, for the Minister of Transport. (TT. 9/15/57; 9/15/283)

* Gazette, 6 November 1952, Vol. III, page 1823.

Revoking Portion of a Warrant Excluding Roads From Limitation as to Speed, and Declaring Area to be a Closely Populated Locality for the Purposes of the Transport Act 1949, Section 36

PURSUANT to section 36 of the Transport Act 1949, the PURSUANT to section 36 of the Transport Act 1949, the Minister of Transport hereby revokes that portion of the Warrant dated the 7th day of May 1937* which applies to the road described in the First Schedule hereto, and hereby declares the area described in the Second Schedule hereto to be a closely populated locality for the purposes of the said section to the intent that a person driving any motor vehicle on any road therein shall be subject to the maximum speed limit of thirty miles an hour fixed by the said section.

FIRST SCHEDULE

SITUATED within Kawhia Town District-

Kawhia-Wharepuhunga via Kawa Main Highway No. 21 (all that portion from the north-eastern boundary of Kawhia Town District to a point 40 chains from the said boundary, measured along the road).

SECOND SCHEDULE

SITUATED within Kawhia County

All those roads at Kawhia, including that portion of the Kawhia Access State Highway No. 43 commencing at its junction with Kaora Street and terminating at a point 24 chains measured generally in a north-easterly direction from the junction of the said State highway with Powewe Street

Dated at Wellington this 17th day of December 1954.

T. L. MACDONALD, for the Minister of Transport. (TT. 9/15/234)

* Gazette, 13 May 1937, Vol. II, page 1140.

New Year Honours List

THE Governor-General has been commanded by the Queen to announce that Her Majesty has been pleased, on the occasion of the New Year, to confer the following honours:

CIVIL DIVISION

Knight Commander of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George (K.C.M.G.)—

Mr Leslie Knox Munro, Ambassador of New Zealand in the United States of America.

ght Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (K.B.E.)—

Major-General William Henry Cunningham, C.B.E., D.S.O., of Wellington.

Knight Bachelor

The Honourable Mr Justice George Panton Finlay, of Auckland.

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.)

Mr Ernest Hedley Roy Green, of Wellington. Mr Robert Alexander Crookston Laidlaw, M.B.E., of Auckland.

Mr Stanley Logan Paterson, of Hamilton.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.)—

Mr William David Campbell, of Timaru.
Mr Mason Te Rama Apakura Durie, of Feilding.
Mr Frank William Gilligan, of Wanganui.
Mr Charles Kirkpatrick Grierson, of Auckland.
Miss Marie Emerentia Little, of Christchurch.
Mr John Murray, J.P., of Wellington.
Mr George John Park, of Auckland.
Dr Arthur Gentry Pitts, of Waimate.
Mr Henry Charles Bayly Withell, of Ashburton.

Honorary Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.)—

The Right Reverend Joseph Darnand, of Western Samoa.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire Mrs Susan Amy Barnicoat, of Wellington.
Mr John Bruorton, of Christchurch.
Mrs Jenny Henderson Campbell, of Auckland.
Mr Avalin Sutherland Carran, J.P., of Warkworth.
Mr John Ira Fraser, of Dunedin.
Mr Sidney George, of Auckland.
Mr Albert Percy Greenfield, J.P., of Dunedin.
Mr Edgar Harding, of Woodville.
Mr James David Howitt, of Wellington.
Mr Frederick Hainsworth Hudson, J.P., of Levin.
Mrs Maud Marian Kelly, of Nelson.
Mr Thomas Daniel Lennie, of Christchurch.
Mrs Ema Te Toroa Tangiariki Otene, of Hastings.
Mr Arthur Henry Sivewright, of Havelock North.
Mr Henry Joseph Stace, of Blenheim.
Mr William Stapleton, of Invercargill.
Mr Henry Sweney, J.P., of Christchurch.
Mrs Mabel Sinclair Walden, of Riverton.
Mrs Constance Lilian Weston, of New Plymouth.
Mr Ernest Summers Wilson, of Dunedin. (M.B.E.)-

MILITARY DIVISION

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.)

Captain Frank Edward Taylor, D.S.C., V.R.D., Royal New Zealand Naval Volunteer Reserve, of Wellington.