Appointments, Promotions, Transfers, Extensions of Commissions, Terminations of Commissions, Resignations of Commissions, and Retirement of Officer of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, promotions, transfers, extensions of commissions, terminations of commissions, resignations of commissions, and retirement of officer of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointments

The undermentioned cadet officers are granted short-service commissions for the period shown after each name, with the rank of Acting Pilot Officer (on prob.), to be followed by a period of four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers:

Bryan Robert Antill (817986), four years.

Trevor Thomas Bland (133912), four years.

John Robin Brimblecombe (595632), four years.

Donald Trevor Brown (339153), four years.

Lindsay Mowbray Caudwell (924911), four years.

Jeffrey Westmacott Fallwasser (594621), four years.

Jeffrey Westmacott Fallwasser (594621), four years.

Graeme Arthur Horne (77756), four years.

Murray James McPhall (888664), four years.

John Sheridan O'Dowd (77324), four years.

Philip John Rickard (818134), four years.

Peter Sydney Rule (551601), four years.

Derek Bromley Scott (897414), four years.

Maarten Willem Krepel Van De Stolpe (77751), eight years. years.

Douglas Stephen Moulin (623922), six years.

David John Norman (646118), four years.

Stuart William Quayle (784155), four years.

Johannes Cornelis Margaretha Maria Verleun (77755),

Sight years eight years.

Dated 15 December 1954.

The undermentioned cadet officers are granted temporary commissions for the duration of basic flying training, with the rank of Acting Pilot Officer (on prob.):

Michael Anthony Leefe (339929).
Robert William Marris (783678).
Malcolm Donal Niccol (710459).
John Watling Williams (327493).
Patrick Oliver Shelton Agar (691057).
Robert Mostyn Sinclar (551842).
Peter Dillon Westropp (713229).

Dated 15 December 1954.

Cadet Pilot Peter James Gillespie Mardon (568401) is granted a temporary commission for the duration of basic flying training with the rank of Acting Pilot Officer (on prob.), to be followed by a period of four years in the Territorial Air Force, Dated 15 December 1954.

Gary Rae Forster (332630) is granted a short-service commission in the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, for a period of four years with the rank of Acting Pilot Officer (on prob.), to be followed by a period of four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. Dated 5 January 1955.

Extension of Commission

Flight Lieutenant Norman Johnathon Ingram, D.F.C., D.F.M. (73500), is granted an extension of his commission from 7 March 1954 to 15 January 1955 inclusive.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Appointment

Secretarial Division

Squadron Leader Terence James Butler, A.R.A.N.Z., A.C.S.N.Z., A.C.A.I. (70272), is granted a permanent commission in present branch, rank, and seniority. Dated 1 January 1055 ary 1955.

Extension of Commission

Flight Lieutenant Elvin Errol Peters (131741) is granted an extension of his present commission for a period of two years. Dated 12 November 1954.

MEDICAL BRANCH

Appointments

Vivian D'Arcy BLACKBURN, M.B., Ch.B. (N.Z.), D.P.H. (Eng.)

Vivian D'Arcy Blackburn, M.B., Ch.B.(N.Z.), D.P.H.(Eng.) (77808), is granted a short-service commission in the Medical Branch, Regular Air Force, for a period of two years with the rank of Squadron Leader and with seniority as from 10 January 1949, to be followed by a period of four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. Dated 10 January 1955.

Kelvin Reid Bremner, M.B., Ch.B., B.Sc. (77802), is granted a short-service commission in the Medical Branch, Regular Air Force, for a period of four and a half years with the rank of Flying Officer and with seniority as from 29 December 1952, to be followed by a period of twelve years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. Dated 29 December 1954.

TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Promotions

Ernest Bongard Kirk (130080). Peter Ernest Weston (130079).

Dated 1 January 1955.

Extensions of Commissions

The undermentioned officers are granted extensions of their present commissions for the periods shown after each name:

Flight Lieutenant Ernest Bongard KIRK (130080), one

Flight Lieutenant Peter Ernest WESTON (130079), one

year. Flying Officer Richard Basil Roberton (133409), six months.

Dated 1 January 1955.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Appointment

Special Duties Division

Peter John Gerard Hollier (710723) is granted a commission in the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division), Territorial Air Force, for a period of five years with the rank of Pilot Officer (on prob.) and with seniority as from date of appointment, to be followed by a period of four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. Dated 15 December 1954.

Promotion

Special Duties Division

Pilot Officer Maurice Raymond VINTINER (133629) is granted the temporary rank of Flying Officer. Dated 15 March 1954.

AIR TRAINING CORPS

Appointments

David Gordon STRACHAN is granted a commission with the rank of Pilot Officer (on prob.). Dated 12 October 1954.
Rev. Hugh Kennedy GRAHAM is granted a commission with the rank of Pilot Officer (on prob.). Dated 5 November 1954.
William RITCHIE is granted a commission with the rank of Pilot Officer (on prob.). Dated 17 December 1954.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Promotions

Flying Officer Albert Frederick SWAN (131788) is granted the temporary rank of Flight Lieutenant. Dated 1 January

Flying Officer Eric Wright Tetley (133777) is granted the temporary rank of Flight Lieutenant. Dated 9 January 1955.

Transfers

Flight Lieutenant Norman Johnathan Ingram, D.F.C., D.F.M. (73500), is transferred from the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years. Dated 16 January 1955.

Flight Lieutenant John Victor Lill (70310) is transferred from the Administrative and Supply Branch (Equipment Division), Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years. Dated 3 January 1955.

Flying Officer Aidan Patrick Thomas Healy (130683) is transferred from the Technical Branch, Territorial Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years. Dated 1 January 1955.

Terminations of Commissions

The commissions of the undermentioned officers are terminated with effect from the date shown after each name:

Flight Lieutenants— Patrick Thomas Curran (131858), 1 August 1954. Ian Wellsted Russell (132406), 25 August 1954.

Flying Officers

Trevor Keith Culley (133176), 18 September 1954. Edward Leonard Stanley Holbrook (131855), 1 August

James Greenwood Ashen (133367) (formerly known as James Greenwood), 5 October 1954. Henry Haakon Hansen (132116), 28 August 1954.

Norman Leonard Foster (130667), 11 May 1954.

Resignations

The undermentioned officers resign their commissions with effect from the date shown after each name.

Flight Lieutenants—
John James Dennis Black (131818), 17 July 1954,
Godfrey William Harvey (131487), 19 May 1954.
Bryce Drummond Jones, D.F.C. (131694), 26 June 1954.
George Clifton Lewis (131920), 2 August 1954.
William Renwick Cook (131550), 30 May 1954.
Rev. Roland Charles Hart (2021), 15 December 1954,