DURSUANT to the Reserves and Domains Act 1953, the Minister of Lands hereby declares the reserve described in the Schedule hereto to be a public domain subject to the provisions of Part III of the said Act, to be known as the Ohau Domain, and further appoints the Horowhenua County Council to be the Ohau Domain Board having control of the

SCHEDULE

WELLINGTON LAND DISTRICT

Section 1, Block IV, Waitohu Survey District: A acres and 38 perches, more or less. (S.O. Plan 23206.)

Dated at Wellington this 17th day of November 1954.

E. B. CORBETT, Minister of Lands.

(L. and S. H.O. 1/1370; D.O. 8/1203)

 $Ambassador \ Extraordinary \ and \ Plenipotentiary \ of \ the \ United \\ States \ of \ America \ to \ New \ Zealand$

IIS Excellency the Governor-General directs it to be notified that notified that

the Honourable Robert C. Hendrickson,

Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the United States of America to New Zealand, presented his Letter of Credence at Government House, Auckland, on Wednesday, 16 February 1955.

Dated at Wellington this 3rd day of March 1955.

R. M. ALGIE, for the Minister of External Affiairs.

Judge of the Supreme Court Appointed

PURSUANT to the Judicature Act 1908, His Excellency the Governor-General, in the name and on behalf of Her Majesty, has been pleased to appoint

the Honourable William Perry Shorland,

being now a temporary Judge of the Supreme Court of New Zealand, to be a Judge of the said Court, to hold office during good behaviour.

Dated at Wellington this 21st day of February 1955.

J. R. MARSHALL, Minister of Justice.

Temporary Judge of the Supreme Court Appointed

PURSUANT to the Judicature Act 1908, His Excellency
the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and
consent of the Executive Council, and in the name and on
behalf of Her Majesty, has been pleased to appoint
Trevor Ernest Henry, Esquire, Barrister, Auckland,

to be a Judge of the Supreme Court of New Zealand for the period ending with the 11th day of February 1956.

Dated at Wellington this 21st day of February 1955.

J. R. MARSHALL, Minister of Justice.

Justices of the Peace Appointed

PURSUANT to the Justices of the Peace Act 1927, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint the undermentioned persons to be Justices of the Peace for New Zealand and its dependencies:

Haugh, James William, Maungawera, Co. Vincent. Scaife, Willis Alan, Wanaka, Co. Lake. Wilson, Clifford Sheppard, Wanaka, Co. Lake.

Dated at Wellington this 2nd day of March 1955.

J. R. MARSHALL, Minister of Justice.

Justice of the Peace Appointed

PURSUANT to the Justices of the Peace Act 1927, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Elsie Mary Beaglehole

of 6 Messines Road, Wellington, to be a Justice of the Peace for New Zealand and its dependencies.

Dated at Wellington this 24th day of February 1955.

J. R. MARSHALL, Minister of Justice.

Visiting Justice to Archata Reformatory Appointed

PURSUANT to the Penal Institutions Act 1954, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint Elsie Mary Beaglehole, J.P.,

of 6 Messines Road, Wellington, to be a Visiting Justice for the prison known as Arohata Reformatory, Tawa Flat.

Dated at Wellington this 24th day of February 1955.

J. R. MARSHALL, Minister of Justice.

Appointment of Members of the Rules Committee Under the Judicature Amendment Act 1930

PURSUANT to section 2 of the Judicature Amendment Act 1930, the Right Honourable the Chief Justice has appointed

The Honourable Mr Justice Finlay,
The Honourable Mr Justice Gresson,
The Honourable Mr Justice Hutchison,
The Honourable Mr Justice Hutchison,
The Honourable Mr Justice McGregor,
Alan Murray Cousins, Esquire, LL.M., of Wellington, Barrister and Solicitor,
Wilfred Erne Leicester, Esquire, LL.B., of Wellington,
Barrister and Solicitor, and
Frederick Campbell Spratt, Esquire, LL.B., of Wellington,
Barrister and Solicitor,

to be members of the Rules Committee, each to hold office until the 31st day of December 1957.

Dated at Wellington this 22nd day of February 1955.

J. R. MARSHALL, Minister of Justice.

Appointment of Members to the Sirex Advisory Committee

PURSUANT to regulation 5 (1) (d) of the Sirex Advisory Committee Regulations 1950, the Minister of Forests hereby appoints

John Louis Harrison-Smith and Francis Edward Hutchinson

to be members of the Sirex Advisory Committee constituted by the said regulations.

Dated at Wellington this 1st day of March 1955.

S. W. SMITH, Minister of Forests.

Members of Motor Spirits Licensing Authority Appointed

PURSUANT to the Motor Spirit Distribution Act 1953, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Sydney Cuthbert Johnston, of Auckland, and Stephen Roberts, of Wellington,

to be members of the Motor Spirits Licensing Authority and to appoint the said

Sydney Cuthbert Johnston

to be Chairman of the said Authority, each such appointment to take effect from the 10th day of March 1955.

Dated at Wellington this 10th day of March 1955.

DEAN J. EYRE, Minister of Industries and Commerce.

Appointment of Transmitting and Receiving Officers for the Service of Notices by Telegraph

DURSUANT to section 183 of the Post and Telegraph Act 1928, the Minister of Telegraphs hereby declares that the officers whose names are set out in the Schedule herebare authorized to sign certificates of the service of telegraphic copies of notices for the purposes of sections 179 to 184 of that Act, and hereby appoints those officers to be transmitting officers and receiving officers, at the addresses specified after their names in the Schedule hereto, for the purposes of those sections, and of the regulations for the time being in force under that Act, relating to the service of notices by telegraph.*

SCHEDULE

NameAddress

Arthur James Bannister Robert Angus Berrett James Charles Beach Bradley William David Jesse Hay Vernon Arthur Fred Matthews Willie James Millner Albert Henry Morgan Norton Alexander Shanks

Douglas Maurice Soppet Leslie Gilbert Watson

George David White

Postmaster, Te Kuiti. Postmaster, Pahiatua. Chief Postmaster, Westport. Postmaster, Carterton. Chief Postmaster, Thames. Postmaster, Te Aroha. Chief Postmaster, Nelson. Senior Supervisor, Telegraph Branch, Timaru.

Postmaster, Waipawa. Postmaster, Dannevirke. Postmaster, Cambridge.

Dated at Wellington this 2nd day of March 1955.

T. P. SHAND, Minister of Telegraphs.

*Gazette, 21 May 1914, Vol. I, page 2105.