Constituting the Riversdale Rabbit District (Notice No. Ag. 5853)

C. W. M. NORRIE, Governor-General

ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government Buildings at Wellington this 21st day of March 1955 Present:

THE RIGHT HON. S. G. HOLLAND PRESIDING IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to the Rabbit Nuisance Act 1928 and to section 29 of the Rabbit Nuisance Amendment Act 1947, section 29 of the Rabbit Nuisance Amendment Act 1947, His Excellency the Governor-General, at the request of the Minister of Agriculture made on the recommendation of the Rabbit Destruction Council, and acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby constitutes and declares the area of land, the boundaries of which are described in the Schedule hereto, being an area to which sub-section (1) of section 30 of the Rabbit Nuisance Act 1928 applies, a rabbit district, and appoints that the name of the said rabbit district shall be the Riversdale Rabbit District, and orders that the basis on which the Rabbit Board to be established for the said district shall first levy its general rate shall be the acreage of land occupied by the ratepayer.

SCHEDULE

PROPOSED BOUNDARIES OF THE RIVERSDALE RABBIT DISTRICT

PROPOSED BOUNDARIES OF THE RIVERSDALE RABBIT DISTRICT ALL that area in the County of Southland, Southland Land District, containing by estimation 59,100 acres, more or less, inclusive of roads, railways, and streams, and bounded as follows: Commencing at a point on the right bank of the Mataura River, in line with the southern boundary of the Keowen and Bridge Road, forming the southern boundary of Section 4 of 406a, Block XVII, Hokonui Survey District; thence south-easterly generally along the right bank of the Mataura River to its junction with the Waimea Stream; thence north-westerly generally along the left bank of the Waimea Stream to the Dipton-Balfour Road; thence north-easterly generally along the Balfour to Ardlussa Road and the Keowen and Bridge Road, to the point of commencement. commencement

T. J. SHERRARD. Clerk of the Executive Council. (Ag. 64/1/266)

Abolishing Southbrook Secondary Urban Fire District

C. W. M. NORRIE, Governor-General

ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government Buildings at Wellington this 21st day of March 1955

Present:

THE RIGHT HON. S. G. HOLLAND PRESIDING IN COUNCIL

WHEREAS, pursuant to section 21 of the Fire Services W Act 1949, the Rangiora County Council has made application for the abolition of the Southbrook Secondary Urban Fire District:

Now, therefore, pursuant to the Fire Services Act 1949, Nis Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby orders and declares that as on and from the 1st day of April 1955 the Southbrook Secondary Urban Fire District shall be abolished.

T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council. (I.A. 76/81/140)

Constituting Kaikoura and Opunake Secondary Urban Fire Districts as Urban Fire Districts

C. W. M. NORRIE, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government Buildings at Wellington this 21st day of March 1955

Present:

THE RIGHT HON. S. G. HOLLAND PRESIDING IN COUNCIL

WHEREAS the borough of Opunake and the urban area W of Kaikoura, situated in the County of Kaikoura, are secondary urban fire districts under the Fire Services Act 1949:

1949: And whereas, pursuant to section 18 of the said Act, the Opunake Borough Council and the Kaikoura County Council, requested that the said secondary urban fire districts be constituted urban fire districts: And whereas, pursuant to the said section 18, the Fire Service Council has certified that the appropriate standards for an urban fire district have been complied with in respect of each of the said districts: And whereas, pursuant to the said section 18, the said requests have been referred to the Local Government Com-mission.

mission:

And whereas, pursuant to the provisions of the Local Government Commission Act 1953, the Local Government Commission has recommended that action should be taken under section 18 of the Fire Services Act 1949 to constitute the said districts urban fire districts: Now, therefore, pursuant to the Fire Services Act 1949, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby declares the borough of Opunake and the urban area of Kaikoura to be urban fire districts, by the names of the Opunake Urban Fire District and the Kaikoura Urban Fire District respectively. respectively.

T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council. (I.A. 76/81/18; 76/81/62)

Constituting Certain Secondary Urban Fire Districts

C. W. M. NORRIE, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government Buildings at Wellington this 15th day of March 1955

Present: THE RIGHT HON. S. G. HOLLAND PRESIDING IN COUNCIL

WHEREAS, pursuant to section 18 of the Fire Services Act 1949, the local authority mentioned in Part I of the First Schedule hereto requested that its district be constituted a secondary urban fire district:

And whereas, pursuant to the said section 18, the local authorities mentioned in Part II of the said First Schedule requested that certain areas within their districts as set out in Part II of the Second Schedule hereto be constituted secondary urban fire districts:

And whereas, pursuant to the said section 18, the Fire Service Council has certified that the appropriate standards for secondary urban fire districts have been complied with in the case of the district mentioned in Part I of the Second Schedule and in the case of the areas set out in Part II of the said Second Schedule. the said Second Schedule:

And whereas, pursuant to the said section 18, the requests have been referred to the Local Government Commission:

And whereas, pursuant to the provisions of the Local Government Commission Act 1953, the Local Government Commission has recommended that action should be taken under the Fire Services Act 1949 to constitute the areas mentioned in Parts I and II of the said Second Schedule as secondary urban fire districts:

Now, therefore, pursuant to the Fire Services Act 1949, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby declares: 1. That the areas mentioned in Parts I and II of the said

Second Schedule hereto are secondary urban fire districts.

2. That the secondary urban fire district comprising the town district mentioned in Part I of the said Second Schedule shall bear the name of that town district.

3. That the secondary urban fire districts comprising the urban areas mentioned in Part II of the said Second Schedule shall in each case bear the name of the urban area comprised therein.

FIRST SCHEDULE

PART I

Lumsden Town Board.

PART II

Dannevirke County Council. Kaitieke County Council. Kiwitea County Council. Bodney County Council. Buddherd Council Southland County Council. Taieri County Council.

SECOND SCHEDULE

PART I

Town District of Lumsden.

PART II

Urban area of Norsewood, Dannevirke County. Urban area of Waimarino, Kaitieke County.	
Urban area of Kimbolton, Kiwitea County.	
Urban area of Rangiwahia, Kiwitea County.	
Urban area of Wellsford, Rodney County.	
Urban area of Balfour, Southland County.	
Urban area of Waikaia, Southland County.	
Urban area of Waikaka, Southland County.	
Urban area of Middlemarch, Taieri County.	

T. J. SHERRARD. Clerk of the Executive Council. (I.A. 76/81/103, 146, 164, 168, 211, 217, 218, 219, 240, 243)