Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.):

Mr Henry Albert Anderson, of Auckland.
Mr Charles Frederick Bennett, of Auckland.
Mrs Elsie Sarah Masters Boyle, of Wellington.
Mrs Mabel Alice Buckley, of Auckland.
Mr Charles Collins, of Wellington.
Mrs Catherine Wishart Doctor, of Waikanae.
Mrs Olive Marion Fairbairn, of Dunedin.
Mr John Farrell, of Auckland.
Mr Sidney Edward Langstone, of Auckland.
Mrs Gladys Irene McDonald, of Dunedin.
Mrs Jane McDougal, of Wanganui.
Miss Jessie Iris Martin, of Hamilton.
Miss Nellie Eileen O'Callaghan, A.R.R.C., of Auckland.
Mr Ernest John Osborne, of Auckland.
The Rev. William John Robertson, of Invercargill.
Miss Elsie Smith, of Koroniti, Wanganui.
Mr Roy Hunter Stevenson, of Dunedin. Mr Henry Albert Anderson, of Auckland.

Mr Roy Hunter Stevenson, of Dunedin. Mr Roderick Syme, of Hawera. Mr Herbert Edward Walters, of Kerikeri.

Mr Alfred Graeme Cooke Yarborough, of Kohukohu.

MILITARY DIVISION

Companion of the Most Honourable Order of the Bath (C.B.):
Commodore Sir Charles Edward Madden, Bart., Royal Navy of England.

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.):

Group-Captain Francis Ross Dix, O.B.E., Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wigram.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire $(O.\dot{B}.E.)$:

Lieutenant-Colonel John Bryden Harrison, New Zealand Regiment (Regular Force), of Wellington. Lieutenant-Colonel Gordon Anderson Lindell, D.S.O., E.D., Royal New Zealand Engineers (Territorial Force), of Wellington.

Wing Commander Percival Patrick O'Brien, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Taieri.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.):

Senior Commissioned Master-at-Arms Jack Alan Cameron, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland.
Captain (Temporary Major) Eric Roland Firth, B.E.M., New Zealand Regiment (Regular Force), of Waiouru.
Major Godfrey Henry Stace, E.D., Royal New Zealand Armoured Corps (Territorial Force), of Blenheim.
Warrant Officer (Class II) Alfred Benjamin Parkes, Royal New Zealand Armoured Corps (Territorial Force), of Otorohanga. Otorohanga.

Flight-Lieutenant Aubrey Leonard Herbert Forster, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of R.N.Z.A.F. Station, Wood-

Flight-Lieutenant Eric Wilson, M.C., Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Auckland.
Warrant Officer Cyril Benjamin Hill, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Blenheim.

Air Force Cross (A.F.C.):

Flying-Officer Gordon Harry Saywell Tosland, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Whenuapai.

British Empire Medal (B.E.M.):

Chief Petty Officer Telegraphist Kenneth Peter Illsley, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland. Chief Petty Officer Writer Brian Calvert Turnbull, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland. Chief Petty Officer Stoker Mechanic Roy William Broderick Waide, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland. Petty Officer John Burnham Martin, Royal New Zealand

Petty Officer John Burnham Martin, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland.

Staff Sergeant (Temporary Warrant Officer, Class II)
Frederick Brown, Royal New Zealand Infantry (Territorial Force), of Whangarei.

Flight Sergeant Pare Tewai, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Auckland.

Sergeant Neville Haig McDonald, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Hobsonville.

Commendation for Valuable Services in the Air:

Warrant Officer Anthony Francis Whistler Mason, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Hobsonville.

D. E. FOUHY, Official Secretary.

Appointment to the Staff of His Excellency the Governor-General

TIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to make the following appointment in the contract of the make the following appointment to his Staff:

To be Military Secretary and Comptroller of the Household

Lieutenant-Colonel John Bryden Harrison, O.B.E., New Zealand Regiment, vice Major Michael Augustus Tulk Trasenster, C.V.O., 4th/7th Royal Dragoon Guards.

By Command,

D. E. FOUHY, Official Secretary.

Government House, Wellington, 1 July 1955.

intments, Promotions, Transfers, Resignations, Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army Appointments,

PURSUANT to section 16 of the New Zealand Army Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following appointments, promotions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army:

HEADQUARTERS, 2ND INFANTRY BRIGADE

Captain B. Campbell, The Wellington Regiment (City of Wellington's Own), is appointed D.A.A. and Q.M.G., Head-quarters, 2nd Infantry Brigade, and is seconded. Dated 30

Lieutenant B. R. Hine, The Hawke's Bay Regiment, relinquishes the appointment of I.O., Headquarters, 2nd Infantry Brigade, and ceases to be seconded. Dated 15 May 1955.

THE ROYAL N.Z. ARTILLERY

Regular Force

Captain (temp. Major) R. H. F. Holloway to be Major. Dated 29 June 1955.

Captain H. S. Cocks was granted the acting rank of Major for the period 28 April 1955 to 26 May 1955, while serving as C.O., 2 A.A. Regiment, Fiji Military Forces.

Territorial Force

1st Field Regiment, R.N.Z.A.

Captain J. W. Jordan, E.D., to be temp. Major. Dated 1 April 1955.
Lieutenant A. O. Barrowclough to be temp. Captain. Dated

1 April 1955.

5th Light Regiment, R.N.Z.A.

Francis Noel Griffin to be 2nd Lieutenant. Dated 1 April

10th Coast Regiment, R.N.Z.A.

Captain (temp. Major) J. P. Arthurs, relinquishes the appointment of Assistant Director of Survey, ceases to be seconded to Army Headquarters, and is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, The Royal N.Z. Artillery, with the rank of Major. Dated 8 June 1955.

13th Composite Anti-Aircraft Regiment, R.N.Z.A.

2nd Lieutenant R. Vernon to be Lieutenant. Dated 3 May 1955.

THE ROYAL N.Z. ARMOURED CORPS

Territorial Force

1st Armoured Regiment (Waikato), R.N.Z.A.C.

Captain (temp. Major) C. O. McGruther is transferred to the Hauraki Regiment. Dated 8 September 1954.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

Regular Force

Lieutenant (Acting Captain) D. C. Nichols to be temp. Captain. Dated 7 December 1954.

THE ROYAL N.Z. CORPS OF SIGNALS

Territorial Force

1st Divisional Signals Regiment, R.N.Z. Sigs.

Bernard Leslie Redshaw to be 2nd Lieutenant. Dated 18 February 1955.

THE ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY CORPS

Regular Force

N.Z. Regiment

Major R. M. D. Willcocks is posted to the Retired List with the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel. Dated 25 March 1955.
Captain (temp. Major) L. R. Musgrave, M.B.E., to be Major. Dated 21 May 1955.
Captain (temp. Major) S. R. Jensen to be Major. Dated 27 May 1955.
Captain (temp. Major) G. S. Rocces to be Major. Dated 30.

Captain (temp. Major) G. S. Rogers to be Major. Dated 30 June 1955.

Territorial Force

The Hauraki Regiment

Captain (temp. Major) C. O. McGruther, from the 1st Armoured Regiment (Waikato), R.N.Z.A.C., to be Captain (temp. Major), with seniority as Captain, 7 November 1947, and as temp. Major, 1 April 1952, and is posted to the 1st Battalion. Dated 8 September 1954.

Captain (temp. Major) D. O. Stewart, 1st Battalion, is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, The Royal N.Z. Infantry Corps, with the rank of Major. Dated 18 March 1955.

The Wellington Regiment (City of Wellington's Own)

Captain B. Campbell from the Reserve of Officers, Supplementary List, to be Captain, with seniority from 1 April 1953, is posted to the 1st Battalion, and is seconded to Headquarters, 2nd Infantry Brigade. Dated 30 April 1955.

2nd Lieutenant W. A. McKee, from the Canterbury Regiment, to be 2nd Lieutenant, with seniority from 11 October 1953, and is posted to the 1st Battalion, Dated 1 May 1955.