Horowhenua College Cadets

Captain C. C. Bowater, from the Taihape District High School Cadets, to be Captain, with seniority from 1 July 1951, Dated 23 May 1955.

Kaitaia College Cadets

2nd Lieutenant A. E. Johnson to be Lieutenant. Dated 1 April 1953.

King's High School Cadets

2nd Lieutenant W. E. Jeffery, having qualified for transfer to Category "A", is attached for training to the Otago and Southland Regiment. Dated 26 May 1954.

Linwood High School Cadets

Lieutenant K. R. Miller to be Captain. Dated 1 May 1955.

Rotorua High School Cadets

Captain Henry James Heron, from the Retired List, to be Captain, with seniority from 20 February 1954. Dated 2 March 1955.

Taihape District High School Cadets

Captain C. C. Bowater is transferred to the Horowhenua College Cadets. Dated 23 May 1955.

RESERVE OF OFFICERS

Regimental List

The Royal N.Z. Army Service Corps

Major R. C. Aley, E.D., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, The Royal N.Z. Army Service Corps, with the rank of Major. Dated 25 May 1955.

Lieutenant D. M. MacDonald is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, The Royal N.Z. Army Service Corps, with the rank of Lieutenant. Dated 1 May 1955.

OFFICER STRUCK OFF THE STRENGTH OF THE EMERGENCY FORCE Captain D. J. Callander, N.Z.A.E.C., dated 25 June 1955, and is reposted to the N.Z. Regular Force in his Regular Force rank of Lieutenant. Dated 26 June 1955.

Dated at Wellington this 7th day of July 1955.

E. H. HALSTEAD, for the Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Confirmation of Appointment, Promotions, Extension of Commission, Tranfers, Resignation, and Ter-mination of Commissions of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, confirmation of appointment, promotions, extension of commission, transfers, resignation, and termination of commissions of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointments

The undermentioned airmen are granted short-service commissions in the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, for the period shown after each name with the rank of Pilot Officer and with seniority as from date of appointment, to be followed by a period of four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers: Officers:

Sergeant Navigator Ian Arthur Johnson (73490), four

vears.

Sergeant Signaller Harold Guy Barlow (76419), four years. Sergeant Signaller John Ernest Lucas (71081), eight years. Sergeant Signaller Ivan Noel Moran, A.F.M. (71809), four

Dated 2 June 1955.

Master Engineer Donald McFarlane Stark (70432) is granted a short-service commission in the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, for a period of four years with the rank of Flying Officer and with seniority as from date of appointment, to be followed by a period of four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. Dated 2 June 1955.

Confirmation of Appointment and Promotion

Pilot Officer David John Byers, B.Sc. (819427), is confirmed in his appointment and promoted to the rank of Flying Officer. Dated 27 April 1955.

TECHNICAL BRANCH

Appointments

Engineer Division

The undermentioned Warrant Officers are granted permanent commissions in the Technical Branch (Engineer Division), Regular Air Force, with the rank of Flying Officer and with seniority as from date of appointment:

Cedric Rex Carter, M.B.E. (70473), Vivian Leonard Victor Crawshay, M.B.E. (70392). Charles Venning DE MUTH (70557). Andrew Phillip Henry Lee, M.B.E. (70376). Alan Edward Newton (70405).

Dated 2 June 1955.

Frank Arnold Stephens, M.Sc. (78129), is granted a permanent commission in the Technical Branch (Engineer Division), Regular Air Force, with the rank of Flying Officer and with seniority as from date of appointment. Dated 2 June 1955.

$Termination\ of\ Commission$

The honorary commission of Flight Lieutenant Charles Geoffrey Miller (74544) is terminated. Dated 5 November 1952.

Appointment

Signals Division

Flight Sergeant Alec Fraser Johnston (71298) is granted a permanent commission in the Technical Branch (Signals Division) with the rank of Pilot Officer and with seniority as from date of appointment. Dated 2 June 1955.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Appointments

Secretarial Division

The undermentioned airmen are appointed to permanent commissions in the Administrative and Supply Branch (Secretarial Division) with the rank of Pilot Officer and with seniority as from date of appointment:

Flight Sergeant Ivan Ross Hamilton (71047). Sergeant Graham Bernard MEAD (71141). L.A.C. Peter David BARKER (73211).

Dated 2 June 1955.

TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Promotion

Pilot Officer Arthur Graeme Gordon (130819) is granted the rank of Flying Officer. Dated 22 May 1954.

Extension of Commission

Flying Officer Richard Basil ROBERTON (133409) is granted an extension of his present commission for a period to expire on 31 January 1956, to be followed by a period of four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. Dated 1 July 1955.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Transfers

Flight Lieutenant Douglas Westland Garland (131455) is transferred from the General Duties Branch, Territorial Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years. Dated 1 June 1955.

Flying Officer Eric Stanley Hubbert (131918) is transferred from the General Duties Branch, Territorial Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years. Dated 14 June 1955.

The undermentioned officers of the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division), Territorial Air Force, are transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years with effect from the date shown after each name: each name:

Flight Lieutenant (temp.) John Roger Boscawen (130345).

31 January 1955. Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Alan Stuart Wilson (130415). 7 March 1955. 7 March 1955. Pilot Officer Edwin Arthur Krk (133833). 25 January

1955.

Pilot Officer Geoffrey Everard Mansfield (134064). 16 May

Resignation of Commission

Flight Lieutenant Raymond Blair Somerville (70269) resigns his commission. Dated 10 June 1955.

Dated at Wellington this 4th day of July 1955.

E. H. HALSTEAD, for the Minister of Defence.

Members of the Police Council Appointed

PURSUANT to section 25A of the Police Force Act 1947, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

William Hector Carson, Stipendiary Magistrate,

to be Chairman, and

Neill Thomas Gillespie Barrister and Solicitor, and Sir Vincent Robert Sissons Meredith, Barrister and Solicitor,

to be members of the Police Council for a term of three years from the 29th day of June 1955.

Dated at Wellington this 29th day of June 1955.

S. G. HOLLAND, Minister of Police.