Appointments, Transfers, Cancellations, and Termination of Commission of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

**DURSUANT** to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, transfers, cancellations, and termination of commission of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

## REGILLAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

## Cancellations of Commissions

The commissions of the undermentioned Acting Pilot Officers are cancelled with effect from the dates shown: Douglas Stephen Moulin (623922). 26 July 1955. Ronald Eric Keyte (76046). 26 August 1955.

TECHNICAL BRANCH

#### Amendment

The notice published in the N.Z. Gazette No. 48, dated 28 July 1955, page 1179, refers to "Squadron Leader Donald Charles McGLASHEN". This should read "Squadron Leader Donald Charles McGLASHAN".

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

### Appointment

Special Duties Division

Boris CARONE (78139) is granted a short-service commission in the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division), Regular Air Force, for a period of four years, with the rank of Flying Officer and with seniority as from date of appointment, to be followed by a period of four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. Dated 29 August 1955.

AIR TRAINING CORPS

## Appointment

James Augustine KNOWLES is granted a commission with the rank of Flying Officer and with seniority as from 13 April 1955. Dated 13 July 1955.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

## Appointment

Alistair Francis Hargreeves BAILEY (132348) is granted a commission in the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division), Reserve of Air Force Officers, for a period of four years, with the rank of Pilot Officer and with seniority as from date of appointment. Dated 2 August 1955.

#### Transfers

Pilot Officer Stanley George ANNAND, A.R.A.N.Z., A.C.I.S., A.N.Z.I.M. (132329) is transferred from the General Duties Branch to the Administrative and Supply Branch (Secretarial Division) with his present rank and seniority. Dated 28 July 1955.

The undermentioned Acting Pilot Officers are transferred from the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of eight years, with effect from 1 September 1955:

Michael Anthony LEEFE (339929). Malcolm Donal NICCOL (710459).

### Termination of Commission

The commission of Flying Officer James Augustine KNOWLES (134054) is terminated, with effect from 21 June 1955.

Dated at Wellington this 22nd day of September 1955. E. H. HALSTEAD, for Minister of Defence.

# Member of Alexandra Rabbit Board Appointed (Notice No. Ag. 5968)

PURSUANT to section 56 of the Rabbit Nuisance Act 1928, His Excellence the Octave C His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

James Owen Finn

to be a member of the Alexandra Rabbit Board as from the 16th day of September 1955, vice John Arthur Hills, resigned. Dated at Wellington this 23rd day of September 1955.

K. J. HOLYOAKE, Minister of Agriculture.

(Ag. 64/1/192)

Member of Lyttelton Port Conciliation Committee Appointed

PURSUANT to the Waterfront Industry Act 1953, the Minister of Labour hereby appoints

Sidney Charles Robert Wasley (nominated by the Lyttelton Waterfront Workers' Union)

to be a member of the Lyttelton Port Conciliation Committee for a term expiring on the 31st day of May 1956, vice Harold Steventon.

Dated at Wellington this 21st day of September 1955. W. SULLIVAN, Minister of Labour. Members of the Council of Legal Education Appointed

**P**URSUANT to section 2 of the New Zealand University Amendment Act 1930, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

The Right Honourable Sir Harold Eric Barrowclough, C.B., D.S.O., M.C., E.D., K.C.M.G., LL.B., Chief Justice of New Zealand, and

The Honourable Kenneth McFarlane Gresson, LL.B., a Judge of the Supreme Court of New Zealand,

representing the Chief Justice of New Zealand;

Alec Leslie Haslam, Esquire, LL.M., and Alan Murray Cousins, Esquire, LL.M.,

representing the Council of the New Zealand Law Society; Professor Arthur Geoffrey Davis, LL.D.(Lond.), LL.B., and Aubrey Counsell Stephens, Esquire, LL.M.,

representing the Senate of the University of New Zealand, as members of the Council of Legal Education.

Dated at Wellington this 20th day of September 1955.

R. M. ALGIE, Minister of Education.

Removing Maori Wardens from Office Under the Maori Social and Economic Advancement Act 1945

**P**URSUANT to subsection (2) of Section 11 of the Maori Social and Economic Advancement Act 1945, the Minister of Maori Affairs hereby declares that the following Maori Wardens appointed under the said Act, having resigned, are hereby removed from office.

-		Gazette Reference to		
$\mathbf{N}\mathbf{a}\mathbf{m}\mathbf{e}$	Tribal District	Appointment		
Dick Ruwhiu	Waitemata	No. 38, 10 May 1951, page 652.		
Puri Potatau	Waitemata	No. 38, 10 May 1951, page 652.		
James Pihema	Waitemata	No. 58, 22 October 1953, page 1691.		
Pat te Hira	Waitemata	No. 55, 25 August 1955, page 1340.		
Jack Paerata	Hatea-a-Rangi	No. 42, 19 June 1952, page 1051.		
Paora Teka	Takitumu	No. 61, 28 September 1950, page 1790.		
Hiwa Williams	Hatea-a-Rangi	No. 57, 30 September 1954, page 1524.		
Jim Aupouri	Horouta No. 1	No. 9, 4 February 1954, page 181.		

Dated at Wellington this 21st day of September 1955. E. B. CORBETT, Minister of Maori Affairs. (M.A. 35/1/10)

Appointing Maori Wardens Under the Maori Social and Economic Advancement Act 1945

**P**URSUANT to section 11 of the Maori Social and Economic Advancement Act 1945, the Minister of Maori Affairs hereby appoints the persons named in the First Column of the Schedule hereto to be Maori Wardens for the tribal dis-tricts shown in the Second Column of the said Schedule.

SCHEDULE				
First Column	Se	cond Column		
Hura (Rocky) Hikairo		Ranginui.		
Charles Gerald Bennett		Ranginui.		
Rotorua Katene		Arawa No. 2.		
Reiwhati Kerewaro		Kaokaoroa.		
		Horouta No. 2.		
Ahita Williams		Hatea-a-rangi.		
Dave Ngarangioue		Takitumu.		
Hurimaroa Te Huna		Whanganui South.		
Basil Murray		Whanganui South.		
Reneti Tapa		Whanganui South.		
Karena Tawhitopou		Whanganui South.		
Piha Ratahi	]	Ratana Pa.		
Tiaki Edwards	]	Ratana Pa.		
George Whakarau		Tuwharetoa No. 4.		
Robert Tipene	]	Murihiku.		
Dated at Wellington this 21st day of September 1955.				
E. B. CORBETT, Minister of Maori Affairs.				

(M.A. 35/1/10)

Declaring a Reserve to be the Peria Hills Domain and Appointing Domain Board

**PURSUANT** to the Reserves and Domains Act 1953, the Minister of Lands hereby declares the reserve described in the Schedule hereto to be a public domain, subject to the provisions of Part III of the said Act, to be known as the Peria Hills Domain, and further, appoints the Matamata County Council to be the Peria Hills Domain Board having control of the said domain.