Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire  $(M.B.\dot{E}.)$ -

(M.B.E.)—

Mr John David Allingham, of Dunedin.
Mr Archibald Banks, of National Park.
Mrs Maud Ruby Basham, of Wellington.
Miss Janet Clark Buchanan, of Hawera.
Mrs Beatrice Alice Ann Downes, of Te Awamutu.
Mr Oswald Lovell Ferens, E.D., of Dunedin.
Miss Elinor Styles Harvey, of Martinborough.
Mr Patrick Francis Higgins, of Napier.
Mrs Lucy Atareti Jacob, of Levin.
Mr James Mercer, of Christchurch.
Mr William Parsonage, of Huntly.
Mr Alfred Henry Pettitt, of Dunedin.
Mr Charles Bradlaugh Ross, of Hokitika.
Mrs Dorothy Snell, of Whangarei.
Mrs Ray Watts, of Christchurch.
Mr Edmund David White, of Putaruru.
Mrs Catherine Maxwell Williams, of Auckland.

## MILITARY DIVISION

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.)—

Brigadier Monty Claude Fairbrother, D.S.O., O.B.E., E.D., Royal New Zealand Infantry Corps (Territorial Force), of Wellington.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.)—

Chaplain Gordon Melville McKenzie, Royal New Zealand Naval Volunteer Reserve, of Wellington. Lieutenant-Colonel Duncan MacIntyre, D.S.O., Royal New Zealand Armoured Corps (Territorial Force), of Poran-

Wing Commander Bruce Roden Furkert, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wellington.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.)—

Lieutenant Commander Thomas Alexander Simpson, Royal New Zealand Navy, of H.M.N.Z.S. Bellona, United Kingdom.

Major Leslie Arthur Pearce, The New Zealand Regiment (Regular Force), of Auckland.
Captain Hamish Coates Neale, Royal New Zealand Army Medical Corps (Territorial Force), of Levin.
Captain (Temporary Major) Stanley Melvin Pritchard, Royal New Zealand Infantry (Territorial Force), of Christchurch.

Elight Lightenant Noel Herbert Scott Royal New Zealand

Flight Lieutenant Noel Herbert Scott, Royal New Zealand Air Force (Air Training Corps), of Ashburton. Warrant Officer Stephen Raymond Hooker, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Hamilton. Warrant Officer Herman Andrew Payne, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wigram.

British Empire Medal (B.E.M.)—

Chief Shipwright Artificer John Norman Jones, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland.

Chief Petty Officer John Willis Barnes, Royal New Zealand Navy, of H.M.N.Z.S. Bellona, United Kingdom. Chief Petty Officer John Curtis Harman, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland.

Chief Yeoman of Signals Henry Richard Moon, Royal New Zealand Navy, of Auckland.

Staff Sergeant Peter King Christian, Royal New Zealand Armoured Corps (Regular Force), of Hastings.

Sergeant James Dixon, Royal New Zealand Army Service Corps (Regular Force), of Auckland.

Flight Sergeant Eric William Metcalf, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Fiji.

Sergeant John William Noble, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Whenuapai.

Commendation for Valuable Services in the Air-

Flight Lieutenant Walter Graham Hughes, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Fiji.

D. E. FOUHY, Official Secretary.

Appointments, Extension of Commission, Transfers. Terminations of Commission, Transfers, and Terminations of Commissions of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, extension of commission, transfers, and terminations of commissions of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

# REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Transfer

Flight Lieutenant John Watson RITCHIE, A.R.A.N.Z. (70081), is transferred from the Administrative and Supply Branch (Secretarial Division) to the General Duties Branch with his present rank and seniority, with effect from 1 November 1955.

Terminations of Commissions

The commissions of the undermentioned Acting Pilot Officers are terminated with effect from 16 December 1955:

David Peter DWYER (823080). Rex Charles Mangin (775051).

## ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH Transfer and Appointment

Equipment Division

Acting Pilot Officer John Thomas Parmee (76789) is transferred from the General Duties Branch to the Administrative and Supply Branch (Equipment Division), and is granted a short-service commission for a period of five years, to be followed by a period of four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers, with effect from 22 April 1955. On transfer he is granted the rank of Pilot Officer with seniority as from 7 December 1955.

## Transfer

Squadron Leader Kevin Edward Fennessy (70261) is transferred from the Secretarial Division to the Equipment Division with his present rank and seniority, with effect from 1 January

### **EDUCATION BRANCH**

### Appointment

Flight Lieutenant Peter Franklin ROBERTSON, B.Sc. (74166), is granted a permanent commission with his present rank and seniority, with effect from 6 December 1955.

#### AIR TRAINING CORPS

# Appointment

James Kenneth Nichol., B.A., is granted a commission with the rank of Pilot Officer with effect from 28 February 1955.

#### TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

# Extension of Commission

Squadron Leader (temp.) Allan Archibald Watson, D.F.C., B.Com., A.R.A.N.Z., A.I.I.A.(N.Z.) (131766), is granted an extension of his present commission for a period of two years with effect from 1 February 1956.

Flight Lieutenant (temp.) Joseph Albert Manson (130388) is transferred from the Reserve of Air Force Officers to the Territorial Air Force for a period of five years with his present rank and seniority, to be followed by a period of four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers, with effect from 26 September 1955.

# RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

## **Transfers**

Squadron Leader (temp.) Walter Ralph Dyer, B.Sc. (130924), is transferred from the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division), Territorial Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from 6 December 1955.

The undermentioned Flight Lieutenants are transferred from the General Duties Branch, Territorial Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years with effect from the dates shown:

Peter Chalmers McKinlay (133828). 12 November 1955. George Currie Couper (130133). 30 November 1955.

The undermentioned Flight Lieutenants are transferred from the General Duties Branch to the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division) with effect from the dates

Alan McGregor Peart, D.F.C., B.E., A.M.N.Z.I.E. (132746). 23 November 1955. Alfred Walter Saunders (131790). 24 November 1955.

Flight Lieutenant Henry Darcy Coppersmith (70135) is transferred from the General Duties Branch to the Administrative and Supply Branch (Equipment Division) with effect from 17 November 1955.

Dated at Wellington this 16th day of December 1955.

T. L. MACDONALD, Minister of Defence.

Officer of the New Zealand Police Force Appointed

DURSUANT to section 5 of the Police Force Act 1947, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Sub-Inspector Orme Snow Wilson Power to be an Inspector in the New Zealand Police Force as from the 21st day of July 1955.

Dated at Wellington this 20th day of December 1955.

S. G. HOLLAND, Minister of Police.