Appointment and Promotions of Officers of the New Zealand Army

PURSUANT to section 16 of the New Zealand Army Act 1950, His Excellency the Administrator of the Government has been pleased to approve of the following appointment and promotions of officers of the Emergency Force:

APPOINTMENT

THE ROYAL N.Z. ARMY SERVICE CORPS

Major S. R. Lewis (N.Z. Regular Force) is appointed to the Emergency Force. Dated 14 January 1956.

PROMOTIONS

THE ROYAL N.Z. CORPS OF SIGNALS

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) P. A. Tacon to be Captain. Dated 2 February 1956.

THE ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY CORPS

Lieutenant G. MacK. McKay to be temp. Captain while employed as Liaison Officer, H.Q., 1 Comwel. Div. Dated 17 December 1955.

Dated at Wellington this 12th day of April 1956.

T. L. MACDONALD, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Extensions of Commissions, and Dates for Retirement, Reductions of Term of Service, Promotions, and Transfers of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Administrator of the Government has been pleased to approve the following appointments, extensions of commissions, and dates for retirement, reductions of term of service, promotions, and transfers of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH .

Promotions

Wing Commander Percival Patrick O'BRIEN, o.B.E., B.COM., j.s.s.c. (70044), to be temporary Group Captain, with effect from 16 April 1956.

The undermentioned Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers with

effect from the dates shown:

Alan James Potts (75326), 17 December 1955. Valdimir Ian Mortensen (301716). 22 December 1955. Jack Desmond Magon (71481), 15 February 1956. Frederick Barry Flavall (77322). 27 February 1956.

Reductions of Term of Service

The term of service of Flying Officer Robert De Renzy Harman (74964) is to terminate on 31 March 1958 instead of 1 May 1960.

The term of service of Flying Officer John Mitchell Foster (75230) is to terminate on 31 March 1958 instead of 28 August 1958.

TECHNICAL BRANCH

Extension of Age for Retirement

Engineer Division

The age for retirement of Squadron Leader Cecil David Melville Kingsford, O.B.E., A.R.AE.S. (70203), is extended for a period of two years, with effect from 9 March 1956.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Promotion

Secretarial Division

Flight Lieutenant Aubrey Leonard Herbert Forster, M.B.E. (70110), to be temporary Squadron Leader, with effect from 14 March 1956.

Appointments

Special Duties Division

Kevin William Free, M.E., M.Sc. (326503), is granted a short-service commission in the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division), Regular Air Force, for a period of five years to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed to the rank of Flying Officer with seniority from 28 February 1954. Dated

Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed to the rank of Flying Officer with seniority from 28 February 1954. Dated 28 February 1956.
William Frederick Dawson, M.E. (816514), is granted a short-service commission in the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division), Regular Air Force, for a period of five years, to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed to the rank of Flying Officer with seniority from 8 March 1956.

Extension of Commission

Flight Lieutenant Laurence Binet Brown, M.A., DIP.ED., PH.D. (74221), is granted an extension of his present commission for a period of one year, with effect from 28 March

Extension of Age for Retirement

The age for retirement of Flight Lieutenant Eric WILSON, M.C., M.B.E. (73665), is extended for a further period of one year, with effect from 1 April 1956.

WOMEN'S ROYAL NEW ZEALAND AIR FORCE

REGULAR SECTION

Extension of Commission

Section Officer Isabel Skelton (76144) is granted an extension of her present commission for a period of two years, with effect from 13 January 1956.

Amendment

The notice published in *Gazette*, 15 March 1956, No. 15, page 344, in so far as it relates to Section Officer Doreen Evelyn PRICE is amended to read "for a period of one year and two months" instead of "for a period of two years".

TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Transfer

Pilot Officer Graham Douglas Chainey (815293) is transferred from the Reserve of Air Force Officers to the Territorial Air Force for a period ending 5 January 1960 in his present rank and branch, and with seniority from 23 March 1956, to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. Dated 23 March 1956.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Promotion

Flying Officer Robert Haste STONYER (74969) to be temporary Flight Lieutenant with effect from 1 March 1956.

Transfers

Transfers

Flight Lieutenant Albert Gordon Shearer (72498) is transferred from the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers, for a period of four years, with effect from 29 March 1956.

Flying Officer Raymond Baker (133126) is transferred from the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division), Territorial Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period ending 13 September 1958, with effect from 16 March 1956.

The undermentioned Pilot Officers are transferred from the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of eight years, with effect from 5 January 1956:

Graham Douglas Chainey (815293)

Graham Douglas Chainey (815293). Robert William Marris (783678). Arthur John Petrie (774262). Ronald Chester Reeve (77791).

Dated at Wellington this 18th day of April 1956.

T. L. MACDONALD, Minister of Defence.

Port Conciliation Committee for Port of Tauranga Appointed

PURSUANT to the Waterfront Industry Act 1953, the Minister of Labour hereby appoints the following persons to be the Port Conciliation Committee for the Port of Tauranga for a term of one year expiring on 31st day of March 1957:

Bertie Purnell Andrews, Chairman; and Sjoerd Lambertus Caspari and Robert Alan Johnson (nominated by the New Zealand Port Employers' Association, Incorporated); and Peter Ririnui and Charles Williams (nominated by the Tauranga Harbour Waterfront Workers' Industrial Union of Workers)

of Workers).

Dated at Wellington this 27th day of April 1956.

W. SULLIVAN, Minister of Labour.

Port Conciliation Committee for Port of Greymouth Appointed

PURSUANT to the Waterfront Industry Act 1953, the Minister of Labour hereby appoints the following persons to be the Port Conciliation Committee for the Port of Greymouth for a term of one year expiring on the 31st day of March 1957:

Donald David Alexander McPherson, Chairman; and Clifford Edmond Heaphy, Douglas Jasper Rutter, and Thomas Danvers McNee (nominated by the New Zealand Port Employers' Association Inc.), and Robert Blair Turnbull (nominated by the General Manager of Railways); and John Stephen Doyle, Albert Panther, Alan Purton, and John Quinn (nominated by the Greymouth Waterfront Workers' Industrial Union of Workers).

Dated at Wellington this 27th day of April 1956.

W. SULLIVAN, Minister of Labour,