Directing Sale of Railway Land at Mandeville North Under the Public Works Act 1928

#### H. E. BARROWCLOUGH, Administrator of the Government

ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 30th day of May 1956

Present.

HIS EXCELLENCY THE ADMINISTRATOR OF THE GOVERNMENT IN COUNCIL

DURSUANT to the Public Works Act 1928, His Excellency PORSUMNI to the Public Works Act 1928, His Excellency the Administrator of the Government, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby directs the sale of the land described in the Schedule hereto, such land being no longer required for the public work for which it was taken.

SCHEDULE

APPROXIMATE areas of the pieces of land directed to be sold: Being A. R. P.

- 0 18.8 Railway land, formerly part Reserve 1302; col-oured blue.
  - Situated in Block XIII, Rangiora Survey

All in Eyre County. (S.O. 8853.) In the Canterbury Land District; as the same are more particularly delineated on the plan marked L.O. 14004 deposited in the office of the New Zealand Railways Com-mission at Wellington, and thereon coloured as above mentioned.

T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council. (L.O. 22031/84)

Directing Sale of Railway Land at Browns Under the Public Works Act 1928

H. E. BARROWCLOUGH, Administrator of the Government ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government House at Wellington this 30th day of May 1956

Present: HIS EXCELLENCY THE ADMINISTRATOR OF THE GOVERNMENT IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to the Public Works Act 1928, His Excellency the Administrator of the Government, acting by and with advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby directs the sale of the land described in the First and Second Schedules hereto, such land being no longer required for the public work for which it was taken.

### FIRST SCHEDULE

APPROXIMATE area of the piece of land directed to be sold: 1 acre 1 rood 31 9 perches. Railway land being Section 532, Block VII, Forest Hill Hundred, Southland County. (S.O. 6297.) In the Southland Land District; as the same is more par-ticularly delineated on the plan marked L.O. 14094 deposited in the office of the New Zealand Railways Commission at Wellington, and thereon coloured orange.

# SECOND SCHEDULE

ALL that parcel of land containing 25 perches, more or less, being part Section 265, Block VII, Forest Hill Hundred, and being all the land comprised and described in certificate of title, Volume 42, folio 54, Southland Registry.

T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council. (L.O. 22218/86)

Birthday Honours List

THE Administrator of the Government has announced that the Queen has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the celebration of Her Majesty's Birthday, to confer the following honours:

CIVIL DIVISION

Knight Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (K.B.E.)—

Mr Bernard Carl Ashwin, C.M.G., of Lower Hutt.

### Knight Bachelor-

Mr Robert Lachlan Macalister, Mayor of the City of Wellington.

Companion of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George (C.M.G.)—

Dr Clarence Edward Beeby, of Wellington. Dr Edward George Sayers, of Auckland.

- Commander of the Empire (C.B.E.)the Most Excellent Order of the British
  - Mr Arnold Fielder Downer, of Wellington.

  - Mr Arnold Fleider Downer, of weinigton. Dr James Peter Speid Jamieson, of Nelson. The Honourable Makea Nui Teremoana Ariki, M.L.C., of Rarotonga, Cook Islands. Professor Emeritus Arnold Wall, of Sumner, Christchurch.
- Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire
  - (O.B.E.)-

  - Mr Ernest Cook Bathurst, of Ashburton. Miss Winifred Delugar, of Auckland. Mr Douglas Ralph Auckland Eden, of Apia, Western Samoa.

  - Samoa. Mr William Grieve, of Invercargill. Mr Albert Victor Hartley, of Invercargill. Dr Albert John Orchard, of Christchurch. Mr Basil Otto Peterson, of Wellington. Mr Hugh Thomas Speight, of Dunedin. Mr Clement George Trotter, of Hawera.
- Companion of the Imperial Service Order (I.S.O.)-
  - Mr Francis Bernard Dwyer, of Wellington. Mr George Ernest Francis Wood, o.B.E., of Wellington.
- Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.)—
- Mr Harold Iver Austad, of Wellington.

- Mr Harold Iver Austad, of Wellington. Miss Marian Eva Baxter, of Christchurch. Mr Henry Reginald Billing, of New Plymouth. Mrs Cora Louisa Burrell, of Christchurch. Mr Arthur Hellyer Collins, of Wanganui. Mr Arthur Hellyer Collins, of Wangarei. Mr Peter Graham, of Franz Joseph Glacier. Mr Peter Graham, of Franz Joseph Glacier. Mr Sydney Jefcoate Harbutt, of Auckland. Miss Vera Annie Hayward, of Dunedin. Mr Robert Telford Kinaston, of Roxburgh. Mr Charles Gordon Macauley, of Mossburn. Miss Margaret Emma Magill, of Eastbourne. Sister Mary St. Athanasius, of Greenmeadows, Hawke's Bay. Miss Mary Reidy, of Kawhia. Mr Robert John Smith, of Pahiatua. Mr Arthur William Taff, of Napier. Mr James Frederick Thompson, of Greytown. Mr Charles Morgan Williams, of Kaiapoi.

British Empire Medal (B.E.M.)-

- Station Officer Theodore Royden Heighway, of Onehunga, Auckland. Constable Thomas James Cotter, New Zealand Police Force,
- of Putaruru.
- The Queen's Fire Service Medal for Distinguished Service---Chief Fire Officer Albert William Taylor, of Blenheim. Chief Fire Officer John Wilson Kane, of Gisborne.
- The Queen's Commendation for Valuable Service in the Air-Mr Michael Eglesfield Daniell, of Masterton R.D.

Mr Paul Beauchamp Legg, of Masterton.

## MILITARY DIVISION

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.)-

- Captain John George Nicholson Hilliard, D.S.C., V.R.D., Royal New Zealand Naval Volunteer Reserve, of Auckland.
- Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.)-
  - Lieutenant-Colonel Paul Wilfred Robertshaw, M.C E.D.,
  - Lieutenant-Colonel Paul Wilfred Robertsnaw, M.C., E.D., Royal New Zealand Infantry Corps (Territorial Force), of Porangahau.
    Lieutenant-Colonel Harold Geoffrey Wooller, Royal New Zealand Armoured Corps (Regular Force), of Papakura.
    Wing Commander William Dale Abernethy, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of London.
- Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.É.)-

  - (M.B.E.)—
    First Officer Lorelle Henderson Corbin, Women's Royal New Zealand Naval Service, of Wellington.
    Major Robert Maynard Gurr, The New Zealand Regiment (Regular Force), of Waiouru.
    Major Robert Bruce Reed, E.D., Royal New Zealand Infantry Corps (Territorial Force), of Auckland.
    Major John William Rolleston, Royal New Zealand Armoured Corps (Territorial Force), of Timaru.
    Captain Frederic Rex Bartley, Royal New Zealand Artillery (Regular Force), of Wellington.
    Flight Lieutenant Peter Harry Lumley, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Hobsonville, Auckland.
    Warrant Officer John Niven, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wigram, Christchurch.

Air Force Cross (A.F.C.)-

Flying Officer Ian Albert Hutchins, Royal New Zealand Air Force, of Wigram, Christchurch.

2