Officers Authorised to Take Statutory Declarations

C. W. M. NORRIE, Governor-General

PURSUANT to section 301 of the Justices of the Peace Act 1927, His Excellency the Governor-General hereby authorises the persons named in the Schedule hereto, being the holders of the offices specified after their names, to take and receive statutory declarations under that section.

SCHEDULE '

SCHEDULE

Raymond Edward Alexander, Senior Clerk, Geophysics Division, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research, Wellington.

Arthur Eric Boult, Senior Clerk, Geological Survey, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research, Wellington.

Kenneth Edward Haswell, Administrative Officer, Dominion Physical Laboratory, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research, Lower Hutt.

Eric James Hines, Senior Clerk, Soil Bureau, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research, Wellington.

Alfred John McMillan, Clerk in Charge, Rotorua Office, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research, Rotorua. John Rex Palmer, Administrative Officer, Plant Diseases Division, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research, Auckland. sion, Dep Auckland.

Auckland.
Thomas Shaw, Clerk in Charge, Nelson Sub-office, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research, Nelson.
Allan William Skam, Administrative Officer, Auckland Industrial Development Laboratories, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research, Auckland.
George Wilkinson, Chief Clerk, Head Office, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research, Wellington.
Trevor Robert Stuart Bowie, Administrative Officer, Grasslands Division, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research, Palmerston North.
Cecil Berriman Robson, Chief Administrative Officer, Head

Cecil Berriman Robson, Chief Administrative Officer, Head Office, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research, Wellington.

s witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, this 17th day of July 1956.

J. R. MARSHALL, Minister of Justice.

Appointments, Promotions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army

PURSUANT to section 16 of the New Zealand Army Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following appointments, promotions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army:

THE ROYAL N.Z. ARTILLERY

Regular Force

Captain C. B. Connery is granted an extension of his short-service engagement for a further period of two years as from 19 June 1956.

Captain J. B. Will is granted an extension of his short-service engagement from 16 February 1956 until 19 December 1957

Captain J. B. Will to be temp. Major. Dated 20 June 1956.

Territorial Force

Headquarters, R.A., N.Z. Division

Major R. E. Mason, M.C., from the 5th Light Regiment, R.N.Z.A., to be Major, with seniority from 10 May 1953, and appointed Counter Bombardment Officer. Dated 24 May

Captain (temp. Major) J. B. Gascoigne, E.D., relinquishes the appointment of Counter Bombardment Officer and is transferred to the 6th Light Anti-aircraft Regiment, R.N.Z.A. Dated 23 May 1956.

Captain (temp. Major) A. G. Northover, from the 5th Light Regiment, R.N.Z.A., to be Captain (temp. Major), with seniority as Captain, 9 May 1950, and as temp. Major, 7 December 1954. Dated 15 May 1956.

1st Field Regiment, R.N.Z.A.

Captain W. C. Haythorn-Thwaite ceases to be attached to Headquarters, Northern Military District, as Public Relations Officer, and is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, The Royal N.Z. Artillery, in the rank of Captain. Dated 11 April 1956.

Lieutenant D. L. Tompkins to be temp. Captain. Dated 1 April 1956.

2nd Field Regiment, R.N.Z.A.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) W. H. Hartree is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, The Royal N.Z. Artillery, in the rank of Captain. Dated 10 May 1956.

2nd Lieutenant F. B. Sanders, from the 5th Light Regiment, R.N.Z.A., to be 2nd Lieutenant, with seniority from 28 August 1954. Dated 15 May 1956.

5th Light Regiment, R.N.Z.A.

Major R. E. Mason, M.c., is transferred to Headquarters, R.A., N.Z. Division. Dated 24 May 1956.
Captain (temp. Major) A. G. Northover is transferred to Headquarters, R.A., N.Z. Division. Dated 15 May 1956.
2nd Lieutenant R. H. Askew is transferred to the 4th Transport Company, R.N.Z.A.S.C. Dated 11 May 1956.
2nd Lieutenant F. B. Sanders is transferred to the 2nd Field Regiment, R.N.Z.A. Dated 15 May 1956.

6th Light Anti-aircraft Regiment, R.N.Z.A.

Captain (temp. Major) J. B. Gascoigne, E.D., from Head-quarters, R.A., N.Z. Division, to be Captain (temp. Major), with seniority as Captain, 1 January 1950, and as temp. Major 1 March 1953. Dated 23 May 1956.

10th Coast Regiment, R.N.Z.A.

Captain A. A. Teague, E.D., to be Major. Dated 1 April 1956.

11th Coast Regiment, R.N.Z.A.

Lieutenant H. D. Matson to be temp. Captain. Dated 1

Lieutenant M. J. W. Davis to be temp. Captain. Dated 1 April 1956.

THE ROYAL N.Z. ARMOURED CORPS

Regular Force

2nd Lieutenant A. L. Jones to be Lieutenant. Dated 1 June 1956.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

Regular Force

Captain C. A. Kibblewhite, B.E.(CIV.), to be acting Major. Dated 21 May 1956.

Lieutenant and Quartermaster R. W. Bowman to be temp. Captain and Quartermaster. Dated 1 June 1956.

Lieutenant C. M. Douglas to be temp. Captain. Dated 15

May 1956.
With reference to the notice published in the Gazette, 14
June 1956, No. 34, page 786, relating to Lieutenant (temp.
Captain) and Quartermaster T. N. K. Neate, for "Dated 14
April 1956", substitute "Dated 14 May 1956".

Territorial Force

1st Field Engineer Regiment, R.N.Z.E.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) P. D. L. Holmes to be Captain. Dated 3 February 1956.

4th Field Park Squadron, R.N.Z.E.

Raoul Norman Franklin to be 2nd Lieutenant. Dated 1

April 1956.

Derek Kingsley Brady to be 2nd Lieutenant. Dated 1 April 1956.

THE ROYAL N.Z. CORPS OF SIGNALS

Territorial Force

1st Divisional Signal Regiment, R.N.Z. Sigs.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) J. G. Holmes relinquishes the temp. rank of Captain, and is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, Regimental List, 1st Divisional Signal Regiment, R.N.Z. Sigs., in the rank of Lieutenant, with seniority from 1 May 1949. Dated 6 December 1955.

Lieutenant L. A. Pearson to be temp. Captain. Dated 24

May 1956.

THE ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY CORPS

Regular Force

N.Z. Regiment

Captain (temp. Major) J. A. McPherson to be Major. Dated 17 May 1956.
Captain and Quartermaster L. Rawley to be Major and Quartermaster. Dated 5 June 1956.
Lieutenant (acting Captain) P. D. Young, E.D., to be Captain. Dated 7 June 1956.
Lieutenant D. N. Miller, M.M., is posted to the Retired List. Dated 1 July 1956.

Territorial Force

The Northland Regiment

Junior Te Ratu Karepa Mataira to be 2nd Lieutenant, and is posted to the 1st Battalion. Dated 17 February 1956.

The Hauraki Regiment

Captain A. A. Brockie, M.B., CH.B.(ABERD.), R.N.Z.A.M.C., is appointed R.M.O., 1st Battalion, The Hauraki Regiment, in his present rank and seniority. Dated 10 March 1956.

Captain J. McC. Graham, 1st Battalion, is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, The Royal N.Z. Artillery, in the rank of Captain. Dated 15 May 1956.

The Wellington West Coast and Taranaki Regiment

Captain H. B. Fraser-Tytler, M.B.E., from the Reserve of Officers, General List, The Royal N.Z. Infantry Corps, to be Captain, and is posted to the 1st Battalion. Dated 4 February 1956.