Appointments, Promotions, Extensions of Commissions, and Date of Retirement, Transfers, and Resignation of Commission of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, promotions, extensions of commissions, and date of retirement, transfers, and resignation of commission of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Extension of Date of Retirement

The age for retirement of Air Vice-Marshal Cyril Eyton KAY, C.B.E., D.F.C., F.R.MET.S., i.d.c., p.s.a. (70004), is extended for a period of two years, with effect from 25 June 1956.

Extensions of Commissions

Flight Lieutenant James Desmond Washington (70161) is granted an extension of his commission for the period 1 April 1956 to 14 June 1956.

The under-mentioned Flight Lieutenants are granted extensions of their present commissions for a period of one year,

with effect from the dates shown:

Arthur Tompkins (130255). 11 August 1956. Rex Frederick Cording (72509). 26 August 1956.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Promotions

Equipment Division

Flight Lieutenant Gilbert Kenneth Young (70305) to be Squadron Leader, with effect from 1 August 1956.
Flight Lieutenant Erling Hastings Orbell (75605) to be temporary Squadron Leader, with effect from 1 August 1956.

Resignation of Commission

Flight Lieutenant (temp.) David Osborn Wells (74405) resigns his commission, with effect from 10 July 1956.

EDUCATION BRANCH

A ppointment

Graeme Yuill GEMMELL (711326) is granted a short-service commission in the Education Branch, Regular Air Force, for a period of five years with the rank of Flying Officer and with seniority from date of appointment, to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. Dated 16 July 1956.

TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

A ppointment

Equipment Division

AC1 John Harvey Marshall (714405) is granted a commission in the Administrative and Supply Branch (Equipment Division), Territorial Air Force, for a period of five years, with the rank of Acting Pilot Officer and with seniority from date of appointment, to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. Dated 1 June 1956.

Promotion

Special Duties Division

Pilot Officer Peter John Gerard Hollier (710723) to be Flying Officer, with effect from 15 June 1956.

EDUCATION BRANCH

Appointment

AC1 Peter Clement Heaslip (342313) is granted a commission in the Education Branch, Territorial Air Force, for a period of five years with the rank of Acting Pilot Officer and with seniority from date of appointment, to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. Dated 1 June 1956.

AIR TRAINING CORPS

Promotion

Flight Lieutenant John Lawrence Dawson Woolloxall, M.Sc., to be temporary Squadron Leader, with effect from 17 July 1956.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Promotions

The under-mentioned Pilot Officers to be temporary Flying Officers, with effect from the dates shown:

Owen Beadle (969709). 24 March 1956.
John Ernest Hamilton Haldane (709653). 25 August 1956.
James Robert Hutchison (797031). 22 July 1955.
Francis Arthur Macaulay (896129). 25 August 1956.
Ross Harrison McWilliams (711958). 25 August 1956.
Roger Innes Murray (708349). 21 October 1955.

Transfers

Flight Lieutenant James Desmond WASHINGTON (70161) is

Flight Lieutenant James Desmond Washington (70161) is transferred from the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from 15 June 1956.

Flight Lieutenant Maurice Mackie White, M.Sc., (72252), is transferred from the Technical Branch (Signals Division) to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from 1 July 1956.

Flying Officer (temp.) Roger Innes Murray (708349) is transferred from the General Duties Branch, Territorial Air Force, to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of four years, with effect from 20 July 1956.

Detect at Wellington this 8th day of August 1956

Dated at Wellington this 8th day of August 1956.

T. L. MACDONALD, Minister of Defence.

Declaration That a Reserve be the Mullet Point Domain and Appointment of Domain Board

PURSUANT to the Reserves and Domains Act 1953, the Minister of Lands hereby declares the reserve for recreation described in the Schedule hereto to be a public domain, subject to the provisions of Part III of the said Act, to be known as the Mullet Point Domain, and further, appoints the Rodney County Council to be the Mullet Point Domain Board to have control of the said domain.

SCHEDULE

NORTH AUCKLAND LAND DISTRICT-MULLET POINT DOMAIN ALLOTMENTS 299, 300, and 307, Parish of Mahurangi, situated in Block XII, Mahurangi Survey District: Total area, 9 acres 1 rood 25.4 perches, more or less. (S.O. Plan 38583.)

Dated at Wellington this 9th day of August 1956.

E. B. CORBETT, Minister of Lands.

(L. and S. H.O. 1/1405; D.O. 8/1415)

Board Appointed to Have Control of Rangiaohia Domain

DURSUANT to the Reserves and Domains Act 1953, the Minister of Lands hereby appoints

Samuel Edwin Bryant,
Archibald James Carseldine,
William Donald Ellis,
Lawrence Raymond Johnson,
George Crawford Mandeno,
William Gordon Parker, and
Edward Allington Spiers

to be the Rangiaohia Domain Board to have control of the reserve described in the Schedule hereto, subject to the provisions of the said Act, as a public domain.

SCHEDULE

SOUTH AUCKLAND LAND DISTRICT-RANGIAOHIA DOMAIN Lot 1, D.P. 35050, being part Allotment 194, Parish of Puniu, situated in Block VII, Puniu Survey District: Area, 7 acres 1 rood 16.5 perches, more or less. All certificate of title, Volume 904, folio 121.

Dated at Wellington this 14th day of August 1956.

E. B. CORBETT, Minister of Lands.

(L. and S. H.O. 1/1225; D.O. 8/930)

Board Appointed to Have Control of Winchester Domain

PURSUANT to the Reserves and Domains Act 1953, the Minister of Lands hereby appoints

William Allan Archibald, Jack Thomas Frederick Baker, John Thomas Brown, Peter Douglas Gifford,
Walter John Jackson,
Donald Malcolm McKenzie, and
Gilbert George South

to be the Winchester Domain Board to have control of the reserve described in the Schedule hereto, subject to the provisions of the said Act, as a public domain.

SCHEDULE

CANTERBURY LAND DISTRICT—WINCHESTER DOMAIN RESERVES 2402 and 2449, situated in Block XIV, Geraldine Survey District: Area, 42 acres 1 rood, more or less. (S.D. Block Sheet.)

Dated at Wellington this 9th day of August 1956.

E. B. CORBETT, Minister of Lands.

(L. and S. H.O. 1/90; D.O. 8/3/101)