Reapportioning Representation on the Dannevirke Electric Power Board

# C. W. M. NORRIE, Governor-General

#### ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government Buildings at Wellington this 17th day of September 1956

#### Present:

THE RIGHT HON. S. G. HOLLAND PRESIDING IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to the Electric Power Boards Act 1925, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby revokes the Order in Council dated the 5th day of September 1921, and published in the *Gazette* on the 8th day of the same month, apportioning representation on the Dannevirke Electric Power Board, and in lieu thereof hereby determines as follows:

- 1. The number of representatives of each constituent district of the Dannevirke Electric Power District on the said Board shall be the number specified in the Schedule hereto opposite the name of that constituent district.
- 2. The constituent districts which are bracketed together in the first column of the Schedule hereto shall be a combined district for the purposes of the said Act.
- 3. The local authority of the constituent district distinguished in the first column of the Schedule hereto by the letter "(P)" shall be the principal local authority of such combined district.
- 4. The first election of the representatives of the said combined district shall be held on the date of the next general election of members of local authorities.

#### **SCHEDULE**

Constituent Districts			Number	r of Members
Part Dannevirke County Part Waipawa County	(P) }			4
Dannevirke Borough Woodville County		*****	*****	3
Woodville Borough			*****	1

T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council. (S.H.D. 10/29/1)

Vesting Certain Government Tourist Hotels in the Tourist Hotel Corporation

### C. W. M. NORRIE, Governor-General

## ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government Buildings at Wellington this 24th day of September 1956

THE RIGHT HON. S. G. HOLLAND PRESIDING IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to section 11 of the Tourist Hotel Corporation Act 1955, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby declares that on and from the 1st day of October 1956 the control of the hotels, administered by the Department of Tourist and Health Resorts and specified in the Schedule hereto, shall be vested in the Tourist Hotel Corporation of New Zealand for the purposes of the said Act.

# SCHEDULE

Hotel Waitomo.
Hotel Wairakei.
Hotel Tokaanu.
Chateau Tongariro.
Lake House, Waikaremoana.
The Hermitage, Mount Cook.
Pukaki Hotel, Lake Pukaki.
Milford Hotel Milford Hotel Γe Anau Hotel.

T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Directing Sale of Railway Land at Tawa Flat Under the Public Works Act 1928

# C. W. M. NORRIE, Governor-General

### ORDER IN COUNCIL

At the Government Buildings at Wellington this 17th day of September 1956

## Present:

THE RIGHT HON. S. G. HOLLAND PRESIDING IN COUNCIL

Pursuant to the Public Works Act 1928, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby directs the sale of the land described in the Schedule hereto, such land being no longer required for the public work for which it was taken.

#### **SCHEDULE**

APPROXIMATE area of the piece of land directed to be sold:
3 acres 2 roods 5 perches.
Railway land, being part Section 37, Porirua District.
Situated in Block VII, Belmont Survey District, Makara County. (S.O. 23522.)

In the Wellington Land District; as the same is more particularly delineated on the plan marked L.O. 14077 deposited in the office of the New Zealand Railways Commission at Wellington, and thereon coloured blue.

T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council. (L.O. 12551/308)

Polling Places for the Riccarton Electoral District Appointed

# C. W. M. NORRIE, Governor-General

PURSUANT to the Electoral Act 1927, I, Lieutenant-General Sir Charles Willoughby Moke Norrie, the Governor-General of New Zealand, hereby abolish all existing polling places in the Electoral District of Riccarton and hereby appoint the places mentioned in the Schedule hereto to be the polling places in the said electoral district.

#### **SCHEDULE**

Riccarton Electoral District-

SCHEDULE

Addington, Clarence Road and Leamington Street Corner,
Pt. Elizabeth Company's Office.
Addington, 136 Jerrold Street, Marquee.
Addington, Lincoln Road, Public Library (principal).
Addington, Lincoln Road, Show Grounds.
Addington, Selwyn Street, Fancier's Hall.
Halswell, corner Hoon Hay Road and Maryhill Avenue,
Marquee.
Hillmorten, Wright's Road, No. 67, Garage.
Hornby, Hei Hei Road, Public School.
Hornby, Orange Hall.
Islington, Public Hall.
Middleton, Blenheim Road, Office J. W. Rodger Ltd.
Riccarton, Centennial Avenue, St. Hilda's Mission Hall.
Riccarton, Centennial Avenue, St. Hilda's Mission Hall.
Riccarton, Matipo Street, Wharenui Public School.
Riccarton, Picton Avenue, No. 46, Garage.
Riccarton, Riccarton Road and Mandeville Street Corner,
St. James's School Room.
Riccarton, Riccarton Road, No. 291, Garage.
Sockburn, Main South Road, outside Wigram Aerodrome,
Marquee.
Sockburn, Paparua County Council Offices.
Spreydon, Barrington Street and Edinburgh Street Corner,
Salvation Army Hall.
Spreydon, Barrington Street, St. Nicholas' Hall.
Spreydon, Barrington Street, St. Nicholas' Hall.
Spreydon, Barrington Street, St. Nicholas' Hall.
Spreydon, Domain Terrace, Coronation Hall.
Spreydon, Lincoln Road, Spreydon Public School.
Spreydon, Lyttelton Street, West Spreydon Public School.
Spreydon, Lyttelton Street, West Spreydon Public School.
Spreydon, Simeon Street, No. 121, Garage.

Room.
Spreydon, Lyttelton Street, West Spreydon Public School.
Spreydon, Simeon Street, No. 121, Garage.
Upper Riccarton, Hansons Lane and Suva Street Corner,
Garage.
Upper Riccarton, Main South Road, Upper Riccarton
Public School.
Upper Riccarton, Yaldhurst Road, No. 155, Garage.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General this 26th day of September 1956.

J. R. MARSHALL, Minister in Charge of Electoral Department.

Appointments, Promotions, Transfers, Resignations, Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army

Pursuant to section 16 of the New Zealand Army Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following appointments, promotions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand

HEADQUARTERS, 1ST INFANTRY BRIGADE

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) J. M. Chamberlain, R.N.Z.A.S.C., from the 1st Transport Company, R.N.Z.A.S.C., to be Lieutenant (temp. Captain), with seniority as Lieutenant from 1 April 1953, and as temp. Captain from 31 July 1956, and is appointed B.R.A.S.C.O., Headquarters, 1st Infantry Brigade. Dated 31 July 1956.

# THE ROYAL N.Z. ARTILLERY

Regular Force

Major R. H. Dyson, E.D., is seconded to the Fiji Military Forces for court-martial duties. Dated 31 August 1956.
Captain and Quartermaster A. J. Baigent, M.B.E., is seconded to the Fiji Military Forces for court-martial duties. Dated 31 August 1956.
Captain F. F. Whiting, having completed his short-service engagement, is reposted to the Territorial Force (9th Coast Regiment, R.N.Z.A.). Dated 13 July 1956.