Appointments, Promotions, Extensions of Commissions and Date of Retirement, Terminations of Commissions, and Resignations of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air

Pursuant to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, promotions, extensions of commissions and date of retirement, terminations of commissions, and resignations of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Promotions

The under-mentioned Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenants, with effect from 1 October 1956:

Patrick Joseph McCarthy (130865). Robert Neville MacDonell (71450). Ronald Charles Macfarlane (70923). Patrick Neville (77606). Brian Stanley-Hunt (327103).

Flying Officer John Corfe Evison (77332) to be Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 5 October 1956.

The under-mentioned Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenants, with effect from 7 November 1956:

James Hirst Bayliss (76073).

James Hirst Bayliss (76073).

Barrie Jansen Dudding (300775).

David Russell Auckland Eden (708383).

Maynard Roger Hawkins (814792).

Graeme Stuart Potts (578398).

Barrie James Reid (621016).

Neil John Wood (458456).

Pilot Officer John Stewart Boys (784905) to be Flying Officer, with effect from 14 October 1956.

TECHNICAL BRANCH

Promotions

Signals Division

The under-mentioned Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers, with effect from 12 October 1956:

Donald Osborne (71146). Peter Stanley Stevens (72242). Wilfred Watson (74517).

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Promotion

Secretarial Division

Flying Officer Clayton Dickson Williams (133090) to be Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 1 October 1956.

Extension of Commission

Squadron Leader Maurice Beehan Furlong (70254) is granted an extension of his present commission for the period 1 October 1957 to 31 December 1957.

Promotions

Equipment Division

The under-mentioned Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenants, with effect from the dates shown:

Gerald Guy Anderton (74551), 1 October 1956. Ian Arthur Kay (76926), 12 November 1956.

WOMEN'S ROYAL NEW ZEALAND AIR FORCE

REGULAR SECTION

Promotion

Section Officer Margery Gillian Honan (75135) to be Flight Officer, with effect from 12 November 1956.

Extension of Date of Retirement

The age for retirement of Flight Officer May Catherine Middleton, M.B.E. (70344), is extended for a further period of one year, with effect from 1 January 1957.

Resignations

The under-mentioned Section Officers resign their commissions, with effect from the dates shown:

Diana Frances Mary Drake (77774), 18 October 1956. Dawn Harriet Fleming (74039), 20 October 1956.

TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Extension of Commission

Squadron Leader (temp.) Eric Desmond McCabe (130910) is granted an extension of his present commission for a period of five years, with effect from 1 December 1956.

AIR TRAINING CORPS

Promotion

Pilot Officer the Rev. Hugh Kennedy Graham to be Flying Officer, with effect from 5 November 1956.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

A ppointments

Appointments

Leonard Sidney Donnelley (130221) is granted a commission in the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division), Reserve of Air Force Officers, for a period of four years. He is appointed to the rank of Squadron Leader, with effect from 5 November 1956.

Vernon Bruce Cook, M.B., Ch.B., F.F.A.R.C.S. (134156), is granted a commission in the Medical Branch, Reserve of Air Force Officers, for a period of four years. He is appointed to the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 18 October 1956.

Promotions

Flying Officer Frederick Norman Tritt, M.A. (134143), to be temporary Flight Lieutenant, while attached to the Air Training Corps, with effect from 12 December 1955.

Flying Officer James Vincent Hodge, M.B., CH.B., M.R.A.C.P. (133871), to be temporary Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 6 May 1956.

6 May 1956.

Extension of Commission Flight Lieutenant Ivor George Field (133663) is granted an extension of his present commission for a period of four years, with effect from 19 October 1956.

Terminations of Commissions

The commissions of the under-mentioned Flight Lieutenants are terminated, with effect from the dates shown:

Charles Norman Gall, D.F.C. (130739), 12 April 1956. John McConachie Goddard (70085), 15 April 1956. Ronald Francis Madigan (133709), 21 September 1956. Lloyd Thomson Hunter (133843), 1 October 1956. James Finlay Cruickshank (133761), 8 November 1956.

The commission of Flying Officer Utiku Albert Potaka (70183) is terminated, with effect from 12 October 1956.

The commissions of the under-mentioned temporary Flying Officers are terminated, with effect from the dates shown:

George Stewart Purvis, M.B., CH.B. (133842), 5 October 1956. Ronald Ernest Tingey, M.B., CH.B. (133847), 18 November 1956.

Dated at Wellington this 27th day of November 1956.

DEAN J. EYRE, for the Minister of Defence.

Appointment of the Whangarei County Council to Control and Manage a Reserve

PURSUANT to the Reserves and Domains Act 1953, the Minister of Lands hereby appoints

The Whangarei County Council

to control and manage the reserve described in the Schedule hereto, subject to the provisions of the said Act, as a scenic reserve.

SCHEDULE

NORTH AUCKLAND LAND DISTRICT—WAIPU CAVES SCENIC RESERVE

ALL the land shown on D.P. 24375, being Allotment 462 and parts Allotment 194, Parish of Waipu, situated in Block XII, Ruakaka Survey District: Area, 13 acres and 11 perches, more or less. All certificate of title, Volume 638, folio 178.

Dated at Wellington this 30th day of November 1956.

E. B. CORBETT, Minister of Lands.

(L. and S. H.O. 4/660; D.O. 13/86)

Appointment of the Whangaroa County Council to Control and Manage a Reserve

PURSUANT to the Reserves and Domains Act 1953, the Minister of Lands hereby appoints

The Whangaroa County Council

to control and manage the reserve described in the Schedule hereto, subject to the provisions of the said Act, as a scenic reserve.

SCHEDULE

NORTH AUCKLAND LAND DISTRICT—RANFURLY BAY SCENIC RESERVE

Section 1, Block III, Whangaroa Survey District: Area, 706 acres, more or less. (S.O. Plan 20335.)

Dated at Wellington this 28th day of November 1956.

E. B. CORBETT, Minister of Lands.

(L. and S. H.O. 244; D.O. 13/61)