Declaring Area to be a Closely Populated Locality for the Purposes of the Transport Act 1949, Section 36

PURSUANT to section 36 of the Transport Act 1949, the Minister of Transport hereby declares the area described in the Schedule hereto to be a closely populated locality for the purposes of the said section to the intent that a person driving any motor vehicle on any road therein at any time during the period commencing on the 18th day of December of each year and ending on the seventh day following Easter Monday in the next ensuing year shall be subject to the maximum speed limit of thirty miles an hour fixed by the said section.

#### **SCHEDULE**

SITUATED within Whangarei County: All that area at Oakura consisting of that portion of Oakura Road from a point 9 chains south-west of where the said road joins the foreshore at the southern end of Oakura Bay to a point 36 chains measured along the said road in a northerly direction.

Dated at Wellington this 17th day of December 1956.

W. S. GOOSMAN, Minister of Transport.

(T.T. 9/15/125)

Approval of Testing Officer Under the Motor Drivers Regulations 1940

Pursuant to regulation 5 of the Motor Drivers Regulations 1940, the Minister of Transport hereby approves of the person named in column 2 of the Schedule hereunder being a testing officer under the said regulations for the authority specified in column 1 of the said Schedule.

## **SCHEDULE**

Column 1

Column 2

Transport Department

..... David Leonard Lewis.

Dated at Wellington this 21st day of December 1956.

W. S. GOOSMAN, Minister of Transport.

Reciprocal Enforcement of Maintenance Orders in Kenya

It is notified for general information that maintenance orders made in New Zealand, the Cook Islands (including Niue), and the Trust Territory of Western Samoa may now be enforced

the Trust Territory of Western Samoa may now be emoreced in Kenya.

A legal notice in the Kenya Proclamations, Rules and Regulations 1956, dated 6 September 1956, proclaimed that the provisions of the Maintenance Orders Enforcement Ordinance (Cap. 16 of the Laws of Kenya, Revised Edition, 1948) were extended to maintenance orders made by courts having jurisdiction in the Dominion of New Zealand, the Cook Islands (including Niue), and the Trust Territory of Western Samoa.

Dated at Wellington this 24th day of December 1956.

J. R. MARSHALL, Minister of Justice.

Special Order Made by Taupiri Drainage and River Board Altering the Boundaries of a Subdivision and Adjusting Representation

PURSUANT to section 2 of the Land Drainage Amendment Act 1920, the Minister of Internal Affairs hereby publishes the following Special Order made by the Taupiri Drainage and River Board.

Dated at Wellington this 18th day of December 1956.

S. W. SMITH, Minister of Internal Affairs.

(I.A. 103/220)

# SPECIAL ORDER

SPECIAL ORDER

The Taupiri Drainage and River Board hereby resolves by way of Special Order to subdivide the Komakorau Subdivision of the Boards District by a line commencing at the point where the boundary of the Ten Foot Subdivision intersects the centre line of the Komakorau Stream, thence generally in a south-easterly direction along the centre line of the said Komakorau Stream to its confluence with the Central Drain; thence generally in a north-easterly and south-easterly direction by the Central Drain to a point opposite the north-west corner of Lot 8, Deposited Plan 6644, in Block VII, Komakorau Survey District, thence generally in a south-easterly direction by a right line to the south-east corner of Lot 13, Block VII, Komakorau Survey District; thence generally in a south-easterly direction by a right line to a point on the west boundary of Lot 1, Block XII, Komakorau Survey District (95 chains distant along that boundary from Piako Road); thence in a south-easterly direction along the summit line to the boundary of the Tauhei Subdivision at an angle peg in an unformed road in part Lot 3, Deposited Plan 36284, Block XII, Komakorau Survey District. The area to the north of the above-defined line to be called "the Komakorau

East Subdivision" and the area to the south of the above-defined line to be called "the Komakorau West Subdivision". The number of trustees to be elected by each new subdivision to be one.

I hereby certify that the above resolution was passed at a special meeting of the Taupiri Drainage and River Board on 11 October 1956, that public notification was given by advertisement published on 22 October and 7 November 1956, and that the resolution was confirmed at a meeting of the Board held on 15 November 1956.

R. Braithwaite, Secretary, Taupiri Drainage and River Board.

Timber Preservation Regulations 1955 (Notice No. 5)— Resignation and Appointment of Member of Timber Preservation Authority

Pursuant to the Timber Preservation Regulations 1955, the Minister of Industries and Commerce gives notice that he has accepted the resignation from the Timber Preservation Authority of Kenneth Clifford Alwyn Carter, of Auckland, and hereby appoints Harold Robert Holt, of Napier (nominated by Dominion Sawmillers' Federation Incorporated) to fill the vacancy so created.

Dated at Wellington this 14th day of December 1956.

ERIC H. HALSTEAD, Minister of Industries and Commerce.

### New Year Honours List

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has announced that the Queen has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the New Year, to confer the following honours:

### CIVIL DIVISION

Knight Bachelor-

The Henourable Joseph Stanton, of Auckland. Mr Leonard Morton Wright, Mayor of the City of Dunedin.

Companion of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George (C.M.G.)—

Mr Herbert Edgar Evans, Q.C., of Wellington. Mr Alister Donald McIntosh, of Wellington.

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.)—

Mr John Andrew, of Hyde (Central Otago).
The Honourable William Edward Barnard, of Otumoetai,
Tauranga.

Mr Herbert Victor Searle, of Nelson.
The Honourable Tupua Tamasese, of Apia, Western Samoa.
The Honourable Malietoa Tanumafili, of Apia, Western Samoa.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.)—

Mr Frederick Norman Ambler, of Auckland.
Miss Elizabeth Scally Brown, of Wellington.
Mr John Gilkison, of Queenstown.
Mr Thomas Douglas Baird Hay, of Auckland.
The Reverend Canon Poihipi Mokena Kohere, of Tititiki, East Coast.

Mr William Calder Mackay, M.C., of Auckland.

Mr Lachlan Maclean, of Hastings.

The Reverend Thomas Arthur Pybus, of Ravensbourne,

Dunedin.

Mr Henry Hamilton Wauchop, sen., of Christchurch.

Mr Donald Frederick Sandys Wunsch, of New Plymouth.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.)—

(M.B.E.)—
Miss Vida Mary Barron, of Dunedin.
Mr William Bell, of Invercargill.
Mr Robert Bruce, of Akaroa.
Mr Llewellyn John Collins, of Waimate.
Mr Raymond James George Collins, of Christchurch.
Mrs Rangitiaria Dennan, of Whakarewarewa, Rotorua.
Miss Annie Dundon, of Picton.
Mr Hanson Home Fraser, of Timaru.
Mr Sydney Freeman, of Wellington.
Mrs Norah Gibbons, of Wellington.
Mrs Catherine Goodsir, of Taumarunui.
Mr William Charles Kennedy, of Te Aroha.
Mr Leonard Albert McIntosh, of Kaitaia.
Mr Jack Meltzer, of Wellington.
Mr William Herbert Sandford, of Raetihi.
Mr William Thomas Strand, of Lower Hutt.

Honorary Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire

Mr Hugh Cowper Tennent, of Honolulu.

British Empire Medal (B.E.M.)-

Constable Edward Buckley, New Zealand Police Force, of

Waiuku.
Constable William George Wood, New Zealand Police
Force, of Winton.